Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Young People’s Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Old Fuller Cemetery Church, Ider, Alabama

Saturday, August 30, 2003

The Young People’s Sacred Harp Singing Convention met on Saturday before the fifth Sunday in August at Old Fuller Cemetery Church in Ider, Alabama. The singing was called together for the day and welcome was made by Shane Wootten leading 82t. Sam Sommers offered the morning prayer.

Officers for the day were: Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Sarah Jenkins; Finance—Blake Sizemore and Riley Lee; Arranging—Laura Clawson.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 317; Jackson Harcrow 35; Sarah Jenkins 186; Laura Clawson 95; Betty Wright 515; Margaret Thacker 303; Robert Walker 143; Mattie Townsel 37b; Sarah Beasley Smith 108t; Norma Green 84; Gaston White 236; Dennis George 280; Loretta Smith 47t; Loyd Ivey 59; Loyd Ivey and Coy Ivey 420; Lou Kujawinski 232; Randall Smith 76b; Gary Smith 569b; Ed Thacker 104.


Shane Wootten brought the class back together leading 101t. Leaders: Daphene Causey 327; Bridgett Hill 64; Seth Holloway 388; David Lee 282; Penny Kujawinski 474; Cindy Tanner 198; Louis Hughes 112; Elene Stovall 182; Jeff Sheppard 564; Mark Brown 142; Henry Johnson 111t; Elric Elias 99; Eloise Wootten 318; Bobby Watkins 47t; Clarke Lee 287.


Sarah Jenkins called the class together leading 155. Leaders: Sandy Ivey 201; DeVann Jackson 159; Jerry Enright 300; Jesse Roberts 172; LaRue Allen 436; Marty Wootten 546; Reba Windom 192; Karen Freund 56b; Sam Sommers 412; Scott Ivey and Hobert Ivey 425; Alexa Gilmore 39t; Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 145 (t? b?); Chris Carnell 165; Allison Schofield 542; Riley Lee 222; Aaron Wootten 270; Donna Wootten 274 (t? b?); Ashley Roberts 532; Mary Elizabeth Lee 430; Jenny Mann 148; Katie Mahoney 81 (t? b?); Blake Sizemore and Jackson Harcrow 87; Matt Wojcik 456; Kelsey Wessels 89; Lela Crowder 440; Jenna Strizak 383; Jessica Roberts Altman 168; Rodney Ivey 215; Susan Harcrow 426 (t? b?); Bud Oliver 42.


Shane Wootten called the afternoon session together leading 345 (t? b?). Leaders: Ricky Harcrow 384; Allison Schofield and Kelsey Wessels 277; Jenna Strizak and Katie Mahoney 319; Ashley Roberts, Jessica Altman, and Chris Carnell 273; Matt Wojcik and Rosie Wojcik 214; Karen Freund and Laura Clawson 442; Mary Elizabeth Lee and Lela Crowder 224; Donna Wootten and Sarah Jenkins 217; Aaron Wootten and Marty Wootten 421; Elric Elias and Alexa Gilmore 324; Bobby Watkins and Mercy Watkins 225t; Jackson Harcrow, Blake Sizemore, and Riley Lee 43; Billy Williams 54; Jerry Enright and Bud Oliver 39b; Sam Sommers 386; Penny Kujawinski and Lou Kujawinski 473.

The chairman called for announcements. At this time there was no invitation to host this convention for the year 2004. It was decided at a later time that the singing will be held at Old Fuller Cemetery Church at Ider, Alabama.

Shane Wootten and Jackson Harcrow led 146 for the closing song, and Clarke Lee dismissed the convention with prayer.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Sarah Jenkins.