Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Near Heflin, Alabama

August 17, 2003

The one hundred-fourteenth session of the Cleburne County Convention met at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday in August. Chairman Eunice Webb called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 59. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer. Eunice Webb led 75; Mary Smith 119; Hester Edwards and Pearl Guier 32t, 40, 274t, and 73b (for Alice Edwards and Lois Bowman).

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Eunice Webb; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Hester Edwards; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards and Pearl Guier; Memorial Committee—Mary L. Smith.

Eunice Webb led 30b. Mary L. Smith led the “Introductory Lesson” from a 1936 Edition of “The Sacred Harp” which was given to the Cleburne County Convention by the family and friends of J.W. Laminack in his memory to be used only for the expressed purpose of the singing the “Introductory Lesson.” The songs selected for the lesson were: 138t, 52t, 30t.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 31t, 101t, 222; Lonnie Rogers 186, 410t, 389; Teenie Moody 411, 38t, 49t; Milton Oliver 321, 314; Ruth Daniels 335, 378t.


Eunice Webb brought the class back to order leading 354b. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 435, 544, 148 (for Mozelle Sheppard and I.V. McWhorter); Betty Wright 569b, 348b, 49b; Howard McGuire 45t, 392, 192; Karen Reaves 445, 457; John Plunkett 27, 131b, 131t; Virginia Dyer 318, 212 (for Louise Allen), 532; Bobby Jackson 341, 340, 499.

Mary Smith conducted the memorial lesson asking that we not only remember those who have passed away in the last year, but all those who have died in the past years. Shelbie Sheppard led 142 and 36b for the following deceased: Ruth Brown, Everette Denney, Kenneth DeLong, Vivian Rogers, George Rogers, Lamar Smith, Alpha Black, and Buelah Reese.

Josephine Denney led 143 and 145b for the sick and shut-ins: Lois Bowman, I.V. McWhorter, Alice Edwards, Mozelle Sheppard, Harvey Austin, Reba Norton, Jap Walton, Joyce Walton, John Hocutt, Lefron Hinton, Dick Mauldin, Alma Owen, and Myrtle Smith. Mary Smith closed the memorial with prayer.


B.M. Smith brought the afternoon session to order leading 208. Leaders: Michael Turner 358, 294; Henry Johnson 81t, 81b; Charlene Wallace 99, 139, 155 (for Evelyn Harris); Bud Oliver 343b, 345 (t? b?), 76b; Sandra Wilkinson 170, 388, 405; Jimmie Denney 135, 145 (t? b?); Karleen Williams 136, 63; Felton Denney 385t, 387; Stanley Edwards 296, 282; Carlene Griffin and Kirsten Griffin 401, 117, 225t (for Gladys McGraw); Richard Mauldin 66, 34b, 146; B.J. Harris 303, 503; Corene Laminack 46, 68b; Nellie Mae White 106, 100; Lou Cotney 172; Lou Cotney and Bud Oliver 196; Lewis Norton 33b, 37t, 418

A business session was held to discuss the location of the Convention for next year. It was unanimously voted that the home of the Cleburne County Convention would be Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, and would remain at this location unless called for by a member of another church in Cleburne County. No other church asked for the singing, so the 115th session will meet at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist church in 2004. End of business session.

Announcements were made. Eunice Webb and B.M. Smith led 69t as the closing song, and those who wished took the parting hand. Elder Lewis Norton offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Eunice Webb; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Hester Edwards.