Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Gum Pond, Alabama

Saturday, July 26, 2003

The one hundred-fifteenth session of the Cotaco Convention was called to order by Chairman Jonathon Thompson leading 45t. The morning prayer was offered by Elder Daniel Hopper. Leaders and selections were as follows: Brandon Thompson 274t, 335; Arvid Holmes 460; Robert Walker 480, 143; Eunice Kimbrell 134; Marlin Beasley 373, 166; Herby Bailey 47t, 369; Ivalene Donaldson 343; Hershell King 204, 426t; Amber Springfield 76b, 270; Velton Chafin 521, 494; Wilton Donaldson 30t, 32t; Danny Creel 35, 123t; Sarah Smith 290, 288; Delone Cobbs 235, 168.


The class was called to order by Jonathon Thompson leading 448t. Leaders and selections: Lomax Ballinger 144, 145b; Elsie Moon 283, 104; Pininia Kane 61, 82 (t? b?); Travis Keeton 566, 400; Gary Smith 503, 565; Ed Thacker 29t; Rachel Allred 39t; Caleb Allred 274t, 87; Margaret Thacker 49t, 49b (in honor of the Harcrow family during their grief of the loss of Ricky’s mother); Larry Ballinger 50b; Jennifer Allred 189, 442. Prayer was offered by Hershell King before lunch.


After enjoying a bountiful lunch and sweet fellowship, the class was reassembled by Jonathon Thompson leading 163t and 171.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Brandon Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Brandon Thompson.

Chairman Jonathon Thompson opened the floor and gave opportunity for anyone desiring to host the next session of the convention to make their request known. None were received, so the 116th session of the convention will remain with Gum Pond Church for July 2004. The business session was closed.

Leaders and selections: Billy Williams 161, 182; Richard Ivey 24 (t? b?), 208; Allison Ivey 89, 475; Carol Newman 137, 358; Carmon Brothers 480, 340; Ann Ballard 225t, 384; Glenda Hopper 425, 345t; Susan Holmes 47b, 441; Dan Hopper 140, 451; J.L. Hopper 122, 403; Will Allred 354 (t? b?); Judy Caudle 390 (by request of the Allred family and to remember Kenneth Fannin, who is in the hospital), 329; Danny Creel 222; Dan Hopper 94 (by request of Elsie Moon); Amber Springfield 276; Caleb Allred 401.

Jonathon Thompson led 62 as the closing song, and Elder J.L. Hopper dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Brandon Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle.