Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, April 12, 2003

The annual Sacred Harp singing at State Line Church, Cleburne County, Alabama (just off U.S. Highway 78 at the Alabama/Georgia state line) was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. B.M. Smith called the class to order leading 82t and 448b. Elder Clarke Lee offered the morning prayer.

A business was held with the following officers elected: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith; Memorial Committee—Helen Bryson; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 81t, 271t; Lela Crowder 374; Mary Lambert Smith 171; Helen Bryson 287; Andy Morse 481; Bobby Jackson 480; Jimmie Denney 46; David McGukin 326; Don Bowen 354t; Cathy White 384; Harvey Austin 335; Sandra Wilkinson 300; Andrew Snyder 547; Liz Bryan 475; Louis Hughes, Jr. 112; Wilton Donaldson and Ivalene Donaldson 499.


Rodney Ivey brought the class to order leading 142. Leaders: Teenie Moody 270; Milton Oliver 224; Lou Cotney 218; Felton Denney 385b; Kathy Lee 299; Scott DePoy 222; Eunice Webb 392; John Bealle 436; Floy Wilder 422; Nate Green and Norma Green 107; Mel Kersey 565; John Plunkett 33t; Eloise Clark 44; Riley Lee 40.


B.M. Smith brought the class to order leading 212. Leaders: Dennis George 498; Mary Elizabeth Lee 144; Louis Hughes 492; Elene Stovall 182; Jeff Sheppard 430.

Helen Bryson conducted the memorial lesson. B.M. Smith led 179 for the sick and shut-ins: Mozelle Sheppard, Evelyn Harris, Loy Garrison, Dorothy Garrison, Pat Meek, I.V. McWhorter, Bill Green, Beufa Green, Genny Whitworth, Gerald Hand, Karen Rollins, Jap Walton, Joyce Walton, Karen Williams, Ruth Brown, Gladys McGraw, and Donnie McGraw.

Jeff Sheppard led for the deceased. He led 176t for Clarence Lambert and 177 for: Kenneth DeLong, Leola Smith, Virginia Jones Glasgow, Everette Denney, Vivian Rogers, Julia Burns, Jean Frost, Flora Skinner, and Revy Williamson. Clarke Lee closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 155; David Ivey 572; LaRue Allen 198; Jenny Jensen 448t; David Lee 229; Henry Johnson 418; Michelle Cull 344; Dewayne Wootten 176b; Clarke Lee 29t; Jenny Willard 530; Eric Morgan 203; Bud Oliver 278t; Brenda Waters 68b; Stan Jensen 34t; Richard DeLong 205; Rene Greene 76b; Steve Jardine 163b; Henry Schuman 217; Shelbie Sheppard, Rene Greene, and Pam Nunn 269; Keith Willard 80t; Charles Woods 210; Charlene Wallace 314; Pam Nunn 200; Rodney Ivey and B.M. Smith 317; David Lee and Kathy Lee 274t; Eric Morgan 328; Keith Willard and Jenny Willard 32t; Steve Jardine 307 (?); Stan Jensen and Jenny Jensen 503; Clarke Lee and Mary Elizabeth Lee 542.

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith and Rodney Ivey led 146 as the closing song. David Lee offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith.