Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mr. and Mrs. Frank Rogers Memorial

Ephesus, Georgia

March 2, 2003

The annual Sacred Harp Memorial Singing for Mr. and Mrs. Frank Rogers was held at Ephesus School on the first Sunday in March. Denney Rogers called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 75; Lonnie Rogers led 101t. Louis Hughes offered the morning prayer.

Mayor Denney Rogers gave a welcome to everyone and made comments about the city of Ephesus and the school.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairmen—Denney Rogers and B.M. Smith; Secretary—Karleen Williams; Arranging Committee—Mary L. Smith; Memorial Committee—Sherry Lovvorn.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 448 (t? b?), 284; Pearl Guier 59; Josephine Denney 30t; Betty Wright 515; Bobby Jackson 568; Jimmie Denney 186; Daphene Causey 222; B.J. Harris 503; Eunice Webb 426b; Myron House 421; Aaron Wootten 282; LaRue Allen 215; Felton Denney 489; Milton Oliver 314; Paige Harrod 112; Karen Clark 569t; Shelbie Sheppard 365; Shane Wootten 99; Teenie Moody 171.


G.W. Rogers, Jr. called the class to order leading 45t. Leaders: Joel Jenkins 35; Dennis George 542; Karen Rollins, Karleen Williams, Sherry Lovvorn, Paige Harrod, and Denney Rogers (children of Lonnie and Vivian Rogers) 143; Henry Johnson 462; Lela Crowder 53; David Ivey 271 (t? b?); Sarah Jenkins 430; Terry Wootten 374; S.T. Reed 493; John Plunkett 90; Rodney Ivey 271 (t? b?); Bud Oliver 279; Louis Hughes 135; Nate Green and Norma Green 121, 138b; Jeff Sheppard and Lonnie Rogers 318; Don Clark 229; the Rogers grandchildren (Susan Rice, Randa Harris, Laura Robinson, Katie Rice, and Kayla McWhorter) 59; Jeannette DePoy 457; Janice Paulk 478; Phil Summerlin 64; Earlis McGraw 225t; Jack Nelson 294; Tommy McGraw 33b.


B.M. Smith called the afternoon session to order leading 270. Leaders: Evelyn Harris 39b; Louise Holland 168; Jack Paulk 68 (t? b?); Laura Ackerman 316; Glenda Watkins 124.

Pearl Guier conducted the memorial lesson. B.M. Smith led 354 (t? b?) in memory of Vivian Denney Rogers. Jeff Sheppard led 541 for the following deceased: George Rogers, Sr., Kenneth DeLong, Revy Williamson, Elsie Cook, Lillian Yates, Wilma Harrod, Everette Denney, Cramer Rogers, Mildred McWhorter, Jim Dancer, Nell Temple, Leola Smith, John Henry Busby, David Wilkerson, and Fred Butler.

Rodney Ivey led 67 for the sick and shut-ins: Jap Walton, Joyce Walton, I.V. McWhorter, Mozelle Sheppard, Alice Edwards, Ruth Brown, Donnie McGraw, Eldora Moody, and Lou Cotney. Billy Joe Harris closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 326; Sarah Jenkins 299; Shane Wootten 300; LaRue Allen 344; John Plunkett 287; David Ivey 472; Karen Clark 276; Dennis George 319; Bud Oliver 274 (t? b?); Louis Hughes 76b; Terry Wootten 345b; Betty Wright 347; S.T. Reed 275t; Phil Summerlin 460; Joel Jenkins 480; Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard 556; Lela Crowder 42; Milton Oliver 403; Janice Paulk 446; Eunice Webb 475; Teenie Moody 142; Daphene Causey 434; Barry Rollins 358.

Announcements were made, and the congregation was thanked for a collection of $95.00. B.M. Smith, Denney Rogers, Lonnie Rogers, and Karleen Williams led 62 as the closing song. Felton Denney led the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairmen—Denney Rogers and B.M. Smith; Secretary—Karleen Williams.