Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Richmond, Virginia

November 9-10, 2002

Saturday, November 9

The eleventh annual James River Convention was held on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November. Both sessions were held at the Varina Masonic Lodge.

The class was called to order by Chairman Jim North leading song on page 147t. Craig Baughan offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Sandra Hack Polaski 148; Laura Densmore 155; Leslie Alperin 178; Bev Oneida 49b; Nancy Newell 163b.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Sandra Hack Polaski; Vice Chairman—Gail Doss; Treasurer—Lois Todd; Secretary—Mary Wright.

Leaders: Sandra Hack Polaski 497; Lois Todd 159; Blake Morris 228; Mary Wright 480; D.J. Hatfield 456; Kat Kinkade 528; Lynda Hambourger 142; Stephen McMaster 300; Henry Bizzell 34b; Joan Aldridge 475; Bonnie Tober 276; Mary DeNys 504; Lois Todd 445; Judy North 452.


The class was called together by Blake Morris leading song on page 73b. Leaders: Hal Kunkel 505; Gail Doss 254; Doron Henkin 260; Mary Wright 510; Kelly Macklin 408; Blake Morris 179; John delRe 70t; Craig Baughan 324; Pat Temple 335; Fred Beardsley 474; Lynda Hambourger 112; Laura Densmore 76b; Leslie Alperin 209; Bev Oneida 362; Nancy Newell 40; D.J. Hatfield 212; Kat Kinkade 163 (t? b?); Hal Kunkel 512; Henry Bizzell 127; Joan Aldridge 150; Bonnie Tober 479; Mary DeNys 547; Doron Henkin 95. Craig Baughan offered the blessing for the noon meal followed by song on page 49t.


John delRe called the afternoon session together with song on page 32t. Leaders: Liz Todd 77b; Don Polaski 352; Laura Densmore 542; Nancy Newell 156; Brian Sears 86; Mary DeNys 566; Leslie Alperin 186; Gail Doss 222; Frank Evans 36t; Kelly Macklin 196; Fred Beardsley 546; Ina Henkin 71; Blake Morris 378 (t? b?); Judy North 515; Bev Oneida 454; Lynda Hambourger 426b; D.J. Hatfield 330t; Pat Temple 203; Kat Kinkade 201; Hal Kunkel 176b; John delRe 426 (t? b?); Mary Wright 42; Sandra Hack Polaski 198.


The session resumed with Leslie Alperin leading song on page 146. Leaders: Doron Henkin 236; Craig Baughan 144; Joan Aldridge 189; Brian Sears 315; Kelly Macklin 446; Henry Bizzell 354 (t? b?); Bonnie Tober 200; Frank Evans 75; Ina Henkin 398; Stephen McMaster 503; Lynda Hambourger 89; Mary DeNys 569b; Leslie Alperin 268; Don Polaski 299; Gail Doss 191; Nancy Newell 344; Pat Temple 168; Frank Evans 47t; Brian Sears 48 (t? b?); Fred Beardsley 532; Craig Baughan 347; Bev Oneida 440.

After announcements, Sandra Hack Polaski led song on page 56 (t? b?). Craig Baughan dismissed the class with prayer.

A late afternoon session organized by Blake Morris featured new music and music from sources other than “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition”. Following a dinner prepared by George Tutweiler, the Northside Consort presented a program of baroque music.

Sunday, November 10

The Sunday session was called to order by Sandra Hack Polaski who greeted the convention and led song on page 52t. The opening prayer was offered by Craig Baughan.

Leaders: Mary DeNys 34b; Laura Densmore 29t; John delRe 272; Kelly Macklin 275b; Joan Aldridge 270; Henry Bizzell 452; Doron Henkin 157; Blake Morris 35; Ina Henkin 162; Bev Oneida 180; Guy Bankes 486; Judy North 441; Hal Kunkel 232; Mary Wright 61; Frank Evans 181; D.J. Hatfield 436; Stephen McMaster 410t; Pat Temple 27; Sandra Hack Polaski 362; Mary DeNys 56b; Laura Densmore 39t.


Blake Morris brought the class together leading song on page 84.

Leaders: John delRe 129; Kat Kinkade 481; Joan Aldridge 273; Kelly Macklin 404; Henry Bizzell 334; Doron Henkin 245; Bev Oneida 155; Ina Henkin 38b; Guy Bankes 107; Hal Kunkel 142; Frank Evans 271 (t? b?); D.J. Hatfield 348t; Stephen McMaster 146; Laura Densmore 83 (t? b?); John delRe 348b; Kat Kinkade 368; Kelly Macklin 464; Doron Henkin 501; Joan Aldridge 384; Henry Bizzell 159; Ina Henkin 306; Don Polaski 304; Gail Doss 269; Bev Oneida 313b; Guy Bankes 120. Don Polaski offered the lunch blessing.


The afternoon session was brought together by Blake Morris leading song on page 82t. Leaders: Hal Kunkel 327; Frank Evans 229; Mary DeNys 72b; Peter Pate 217; Kacy Pate 312b; Blake Morris 442; Brian Sears 267; Judy North 143; Craig Baughan 178; Mary Wright 406; Sandra Hack Polaski 318; D.J. Hatfield 215; Pat Temple 209; Stephen McMaster 45 (t? b?); Kat Kinkade 67.

Henry Bizzell conducted the memorial lesson and offered a prayer for the deceased: Jane Baughan, Dorian Brown, and William Haas—Virginia; and Donald Woodard—Florida. Joan Aldridge led song on page 445 as the memorial hymn.

The sick and shut-ins remembered were Art Broadus, Susan Kelly, Donna Abrahams, Marilyn Darch, Michael Kaye, and Dorothy Hatfield. Joan Aldridge led song on page 475 in their honor.

Leaders: Don Polaski 270; Gail Doss 400; Bev Oneida 448 (t? b?); Guy Bankes 444; Hal Kunkel 556.

Announcements were made, and reports from various committees were given.

Bec Oneida and Mary DeNys, Resolutions Committee, thanked all of those without whom the convention would not have been a success:

  • Pitching—Blake Morris, Doron Henkin, and John Fedderson;
  • Kitchen—George Tutweiler and Pat Temple;
  • Arranging Committee—Pat Temple and Stephen McMaster;
  • Chaplains—Craig Baughan and Don Polaski;
  • Flyers and forms—Judy North;
  • Housing—Gail Doss;
  • Members of the Northside Consort, Blake Morris, director.

The committee also thanked God for the good weather, fine fellowship, and glorious music.

Treasurer Lois Todd reported that enough money had been received to cover expenses. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Sandra Polaski 68b, Peter Pate 302; Craig Baughan 42; Kacy Pate 440; Frank Evans 284; Brian Sears 504; Fred Beardsley 546; Henry Bizzell 347; Mary Wright 277; Blake Morris 297.

Sandra Hack Polaski led song on page 62, and Don Polaski led the closing prayer.

The James River Convention will meet next year on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November, November 8-9, 2003.

Chairman—Sandra Hack Polaski; Vice Chairman—Gail Doss; Secretary—Mary Wright.