Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Henagar-Union Convention

Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama

July 6-7, 2002

Saturday, July 6

The eighty-sixth session of the Henagar-Union Convention was called to order with Vice Chairman Shane Wootten leading songs on pages 82t and 101t. The morning prayer was led by Pastor Tony Ivey.

Leaders: Vice Chairman Rodney Ivey 142; Secretary Norma Green 283; Jackie Tanner 48t; Tony Ivey 47t; Betty Wright 323b; Sam Schofield 406; Sandie Scott 38b; Bill Beverly 515; Nancy Yeager 178; B.M. Smith 441; Ivalene Donaldson and Wilton Donaldson 30t; Gary Rogan 384; Teenie Moody 270; Keith Willard 101b; Nate Green and Norma Green 100; Michelle Rogan 215; Earl Ballinger 430; Shelbie Sheppard 440.


Chairman David Ivey brought the class back together leading song on page 371. Leaders: Phil Summerlin 29t; Vivian Rogan 84; Tommy George 388; Allison Dodson 89; Thomas Willard 36b; Neila Nicholson 312b; Zach Rogan 280; Jenny Willard 426 (t? b?); Velton Chafin 144; Amanda Owen 318; Josh Rogan 224; Syble Adams 99; Louis Hughes 496; Mary Ruth Stiefel 322; John Plunkett 113; Liz Owen 328; Milton Oliver 321; LaRue Allen 198.


The singing resumed with Wayne Wootten leading song on page 108t. Leaders: Tommy McGraw 475; Judy Caudle 302; Jeff Sheppard 448t; Catherine Rogan 171; Bill Hollingsworth 236; Martha Beverly 56b; Jeb Owen 421; Pam Nunn 528; Frank Hataway 348b; Charlene Wallace 481; Tom Owen 354t; Becky Browne 276. The lunch blessing was offered by Elder Philip Gilmore.


Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten called the class together for the afternoon session leading song on page 208. Leaders: Darlene Dalton 454; Aaron Wootten 282; Mike Jones 285t; Charlie Derleth 137, 68b; Karen Freund 365; David Yeager 148; Karen Ivey 532 (for Edith Tate); DeVan Jackson 159; Cheryl Foreman 300; Bob Meek 474; Linda Sides 192; Philip Gilmore 39t; Sarah Harcrow Jenkins 35; David Sault 569b; Cassie Franklin and Harrison Creel 378b; Stuart Ivey and Richard Ivey 182; Terry Wootten 542 (for his mother, Myrtle Wootten, and Zelma Harcrow); Laura Clawson 186.


Bud Oliver and Jerry Enright called the class together leading song on page 42. Leaders: Lela Crowder 546; Gary Gronau 436; John Hollingsworth 460; Reba Windom 196; Bob Bonnell 229; Elene Stovall and Betty Shepherd 216; Bill Ellason 268; Susan Harcrow 316 (for her husband, Ricky Harcrow); Charles Franklin 274t; Loyd Ivey, Bud Oliver, and Marian Biddle 482; Henry Johnson 205; Dennis George 455; Shane Wootten and Coy Ivey 486t (WB) (by request).

The following election results were announced: Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Norma Latham Green.

Following announcements, Shane Wootten and Rodney Ivey led song on page 146. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Louis Hughes.

Sunday, July 7

The Sunday session was called to order with Chairman David Ivey leading songs on pages 61 and 131b. Prayer was led by Pastor Tony Ivey.

Leaders: Vice Chairman Shane Wootten 73t; Secretary Norma Green 63; Rodney Ivey 81t; Marlon Wootten, Andrew Wootten, and Anna Wootten 445; Laura Clawson 367; S.T. Reed 505; Joan Aldridge 373; Betty Wright 390; Lamar Smith and Randall Smith 36b, 76b; Boyd Scott 358; Bill Ellason 78; Nate Green and Norma Green 394; David Light 110; Milton Oliver 224; Linda Sides 274t; Henry Johnson 341; Bill Hollingsworth 250; Neila Nicholson 317; Frank Hataway 452.


Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten brought the class together leading song on page 56t. Leaders: Charles Franklin 74b; Gravis Ballinger 475; Joel Jenkins 186; Lynne deBenedette 340; Lela Crowder 106; Steve Killingsworth 47b; Bob Meek 454; Becky Browne and Chris Lowery 200; Hershell King 35; Jerry Enright 77t; Stuart Ivey 189; Linda Thomas 350; John Hollingsworth 155; Gary Gronau 163t; Linton Ballinger 457; Loretta Smith 37b.


The class resumed singing with David Ivey leading song on page 334. Leaders: Karen Freund 278t; Scott Ivey 186; Hayden Wootten, Jared Wootten and Jamey Wootten 282; Dennis George 349; Eloise Wootten 137; Loyd Ivey 511b (CB) (for John Henry Busby); Chris Green and Pam Green 129; Bud Oliver 170; Charlie Derleth, Linda Biggs, and Sally Suhri 99; Lisa Geist 377; Coy Ivey 384.

The Memorial Committee, Tony Ivey and Reba Windom, presented the memorial lesson. Tony Ivey read from I Corinthians, Chapter 9 and Reba Windom read the names of the deceased: Osee Tanner, Jane Lester, Ruby Wilks, Freeman Wootten, Roie Alexander, Lydia Phillips Baswell, Mary Stiefel, Bonnie Meadows, Lawrence Underwood, Lula Underwood, John Lacy, Bobby Lacy, Nelda Tolbert, Dr. James Howell, Ruth Smith, Jerilyn Schumacher, John Bailey, Lucille Tolbert, Edward Black, Larry Davis, Joanna Collins, Joseph Brooks, Ruby Driskell, Roger Brooks, Barbara Bolles, Paul Funk, Roland Garner, Hubert Anderson. Henry Johnson led song on page 285t.

Reba Windom read the names of the sick and shut-ins on the list: Eldora Moody, Leola Smith, Bill Green, Beufa Green, B.E. Matthews, Richard DeLong, Jap Walton, Joyce Walton, Roy Driskell, Zelma Harcrow, and John Etheridge.

Charlie Derleth gave an inspiring talk and led song on page 348b. Dewayne Wootten closed the memorial with prayer.

Chris Green offered the lunch blessing on the food.


The afternoon session was opened with Rodney Ivey leading song on page 314. Leaders: Elene Stovall 142; Max Berueffy 564; Beth O’Dell 442; Allison Ivey and Richard Ivey 222; Jackie Tanner and Rodney Ivey 208; Susan Harcrow 217; Marty Wootten 546; Larry Ballinger 215; Cassie Franklin 440; Betty Shepherd 299; Karen Ivey 112; Jeffery Wootten 542; Sarah Jenkins 168; Bob Watkins 225t; Chris Ballinger 528; Reba Windom 216; Cindy Tanner 362; Cassie Franklin, Allison Ivey, and Richard Ivey 559 (CB); Tony Ivey and Sandy Ivey 503; Donna Wootten and Anna Wootten 335; Hobert Ivey 426 (t? b?); David Ivey and Rodney Ivey 490 (for Aunt Bob Greeson, the last living child of Jack and Annie Ivey).


Coy Ivey brought the class back together again leading song on page 59. Leaders: J.C. Rutledge 501 (CB); Levon Wootten and Bud Oliver 400; Charles Stiefel 448t; Sam Schofield 324; Wayne Wootten 358; Melvin Stiefel 512; Marian Biddle and Loyd Ivey 147t; Coy Ivey 486t (WB); Bob Meek 484b (CB); Frank Hataway 138t (CB); Bob Watkins 58.

Chairman David Ivey expressed the thanks of the convention to the Arranging Committee, Jackie Tanner and Laura Clawson, for a job well done.

Following announcements, David Ivey and Shane Wootten led song on page 62, and those who wished took the parting hand. The convention was dismissed with prayer by Elder Jeffrey Wootten.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Norma Latham Green.