Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church

Near Fayette, Alabama

June 23, 2002

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held at Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in June. The class was called to order by Linton Ballinger leading song on page 32t. James L. Ballinger led the morning prayer.

The class organized with the following officers being elected or appointed: Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Leon Ballinger; Secretary—Johnny Humber; Arranging Committee—Gravis Ballinger.

Leaders: Larry Ballinger 119; Leon Ballinger 137; Johnny Humber 460; Gravis Ballinger 300; Leslie Brady 101t; Jimmy Ballinger 565; Sherry Stover 155; Emily West 222; Dwayne Ballinger 168; David Ballinger 340; Charles Humber 480; Jerry Jenkins and Jennifer Jenkins 108t; Janet Litton 371; Albert Humber 176b; Amanda Ballinger 454; Will Thompson 111b; Miranda Gilbreath 58; Beverly Nelson 299.


Buddy Ballinger brought the class back to order leading song on page 354b. Leaders: John Merritt 358; Clarence McCool 203; Jill Ballinger, Amber Ballinger, and Tory O’dell 30t; Bill Stewart 186; Cassie Thomas 490; Coy Ivey 282; Earl Ballinger 331; Tim Cook 235; Edwin Ballinger 110; S.T. Reed 177; Randall Smith 76b; Joan Aldridge 198; Wilton Donaldson 348b.


Ronnie Ballinger called the class back to order leading song on page 146. Leaders: Wayne Baines 59; Lavaughn Ballinger and children 45t; David White 405; Jacob Cockrell and Zackery Cockrell 454; Cassie Franklin 402; Teresa Guyton 216; Brenda Robbins and Carol Robbins 100; Velton Chafin 202; Marlon Wootten 33b; Wanda Capps 142; Jackson Harcrow 274t; Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 128; Chris Ballinger 350; Robert Dupree 117.


Larry Ballinger brought the class back to order for the afternoon session leading song on page 145t. Leaders: Clayton Ezell 182; Loyd Ivey 438; Eloise Wootten 373; Bud Oliver 343; Julietta Haynes 269; Harrison Creel 342; Rodney Ivey 212; Max Berueffy 196; Gordon Wilkinson 475; Ozella Blackmon 436; Elene Stovall 189; Nate Green and Norma Green 406; Kenneth Tate 270; Willodean Barton 416; Marlin Beasley 336; Hobert Ivey 426t; Judy Caudle 57; Henry Guthery 304; Shane Wootten 208; Susan Harcrow 192; Beth O’dell, Teresa Ballinger, and Lisa Geist 200; Ricky Harcrow 138t; Jayne Fulmer 273; Bunk Beasley 72b; Ida Lee Starnes 39b; Betty Baccus 396; Lena Keeton 298; Jack Pate 341; Ivalene Donaldson 166; Coy Ivey 284; Lisa Geist and Teresa Ballinger 327; Jackson Harcrow 354b; Shane Wootten and Loyd Ivey 424; Kate Davis 294.

Announcements of future singings were made. Larry Ballinger led song on page 46 as the closing song. Earl Ballinger dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Leon Ballinger; Secretary—Johnny Humber.