Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Bob Burnham Memorial Singing

Jacksonville, Alabama

February 3, 2002

The thirty-fifth session of the Bob Burnham Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held on the first Sunday in February and was called to order by Chairman Ruth Brown leading songs on pages 59 and 63. Louis Hughes offered the morning prayer. Pearl Guier led songs on pages 49t and 127; Margie Smith 101t, 313t; Shelbie Sheppard 142, 186.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ruth Brown; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Secretary—Shelbie Sheppard.

Leaders: Pam Nunn 222, 269; Judy Mincey 510, 475; Mel Kersey 47b, 565; Karen Ivey 217, 208; B.M. Smith 273, 284; Jewel Wootten 171 (in memory of Freeman Wootten), 317 (in memory of Roie Alexander); Louis Hughes 408; Nate Green and Norma Green 105, 207.


Pam Nunn reassembled the class with song on page 480. Leaders: Terry Hullett 37b, 48t; Sarah Harcrow 99, 350; Lamar Smith and Randall Smith 36b, 76b; Karen Freund 421, 56b; Richard DeLong 173, 472; Jeannette DePoy 55 (for David Slade and John Slade); Jimmy Cates 112, 137; Teenie Moody 384, 192; Milton Oliver 403; Willie Mae Moon 283, 385t; David Ivey 380; Amber Springfield 318, 454; Lonnie Rogers 389, 45t; Aaron Wootten 270, 282; Daphene Causey 426b, 436; Jerry Enright 383, 77t; Harvey Austin 566 (in memory of Oakie Austin); Evelyn Harris 47t; Tommy McGraw 138t, 477. Felton Denney asked the blessing on the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Ruth Brown and Pam Nunn leading song on page 303 for Jeff Sheppard. Leaders: Bud Oliver 42; Hayden Wootten, Jared Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 128; Alex Makris 166; Stuart Ivey 189; Jackson Harcrow 290; Donna Wootten 274t; Richard Ivey 182; Charlene Wallace 218 (for Carlene Griffin); S.T. Reed 545; Eunice Webb 392; Dennis George 542; Elene Stovall 430; Earlis McGraw 213t (for firemen and policemen who lost their lives on 9-11-2001); Mattie Townsel 68b; Philip Denney 442; Allison Ivey 448t; Shane Wootten 29t; Susan Harcrow 300; Joel Jenkins 82t; Laura Clawson 362; Scott DePoy 277; Lela Crowder 215; Max Berueffy 87 (for his son, Coleman); LaRue Allen 220; Bobby Jackson 568; Amanda Denson 160b; John Plunkett 286; Lou Cotney and Rodney Ivey 196; Felton Denney 385b; Louise Holland 35; Jimmie Denney 111t; Buell Cobb 330t; Sherrell Cleino 335; Henry Johnson 88t; B.J. Harris 225t; Rodney Ivey 358; Homer Benefield 56t; Eugene Forbes 460.

Announcements were made. Ruth Brown, Pearl Guier, Floy Driskill, and Gene Burnham led song on page 46 as the closing song. Louis Hughes dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Ruth Brown; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Shelbie Sheppard.