Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Fayette County Convention

Bevill State Community College, Fayette, Alabama

August 5, 2001

The one hundred-second session of the annual Fayette County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at Bevill State Community College on the first Sunday in August.

Gravis Ballinger called the class to order leading song on page 34b. Buddy Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

Following welcoming comments, the class organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Gravis Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Johnny Humber; Secretary—Amanda Ballinger; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger.

The class concurred in dedicating this session of the convention to the memory of Elmer Conwill, a lifelong supporter of Sacred Harp singing and this convention.

Leaders: Gravis Ballinger 99; Johnny Humber 200; Amanda Ballinger 454; Lomax Ballinger 49b; Linton Ballinger 410t; Jimmy Ballinger 37b; Jill Ballinger 186; Leon Ballinger 299; Ashley Keeton 300; Stuart Ivey 171; Chris Ballinger 44; Willodean Barton 82t; Wilton Donaldson 565; Lena Keeton and Glenn Keeton 85; Emily West 318; John Hyde 313t; Edwin Ballinger 110.


Buddy Ballinger called the class to order leading song on page 354b. Leaders: Richard Ivey 436; John Merritt 358; Amber Springfield 142; A.A. Malone 183; Donna Wootten 74b; Velton Chafin 338; Amber Ballinger 155; Rick Russell 276; Laura Clawson 362; Bickett Howton 290; Laura Russell 42; Kermit Adams 79; Sarah Smith 288; Jackie Tanner 475; Wanda Capps 546.


The class was called to order by Leon Ballinger leading song on page 490. Leaders: Glenn Keeton 278t; Betty Shepherd 216; Duncan McLeod 168; Rachel Richards 317; Josie Hyde 507; Winell Sanders 569b; Gary Smith 31t; Clarissa Springfield 445; Cecil Wakefield 268; Ivalene Donaldson 77t; Chuck Beasley 61; Allison Ivey 542; Larry Ballinger 72b; Paula Springfield 373; Travis Keeton 129; Joyce Hubbard 212; Lavaughn Ballinger and Will Thompson 111b.


Earl Ballinger brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 528. Leaders: Lisa Geist 304; Bud Oliver and Richard Ivey 270; Susan Harcrow 182; Rodney Ivey 430; Cassie Franklin 112; Dennis George 442; Karen Ivey 532; Clarence McCool 349; Jayne Fulmer 273; Shane Wootten 383; Cindy Tanner 501; David Ivey 384 (in memory of D.T. White); Ida Lee Starnes 448b; Toney Smith 444; Julietta Haynes 172; Harrison Creel 498; Faye Donaldson 40; Edith Tate 389; Beth O’dell 269; Bill Stewart 145b; Glenn Keeton 133; Shane Wootten 424; Rodney Ivey 222; Cassie Franklin 39b; Laura Russell 74t; Duncan McLeod 89; Betty Shepherd 137; Harrison Creel 342; Laura Clawson 335; Rick Russell 503; Susan Harcrow 192; Beth O’dell 560; John Merritt 179; Travis Keeton 379.

Announcements were made. Gravis Ballinger led song on page 46 as the closing song. Earl Ballinger offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Gravis Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Johnny Humber; Secretary—Amanda Ballinger.