Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

May 21, 2000

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church was held on the third Sunday in May. The class was called to order by B.M. Smith leading song on page 59. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer. B.M. Smith led song on page 123 (t? b?); Jeff Sheppard 75, 61; Pearl Guier 40, 49b; Ruth Brown 63, 225t; and Margie Smith 313t, 101t.

The class organized and voted to retain the following officers: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Secretary—Hester Edwards; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Ruth Brown.

Leaders: Jarrod George 300, 186; Nancy Allen 87; Roy Nelson 179, 128; Inez Chandler 290, 457; Henry Johnson 138b, 111b; Sylvia Holland 348b, 45t.


B.M. Smith brought the class to order leading song on page 270. Leaders: C.W. Garner 172, 454; Lou Cotney 189, 384; Milton Oliver 222, 314; Eunice Webb 406, 503; Bud Oliver 145b, 39b; Evelyn Harris 47t, 155; Howard McGuire 354b, 192; Reba Norton 282, 373; Everette Denney 276, 277; Sylvia Holland 47b (for her mother, Arvie Norton).

Ruth Brown gave the memorial, reading from Ecclesiastes. The names of the deceased remembered were: Kathleen Austin Perdue, Eunice Rosalee Darnell, Ruby Cole Webb, Lillie Austin Owen, Eloise Tolleson Edward, Faye Nell Norton Polland, Marjorie Barker, Erskin Norton, Reese Bailey, Lawson Burgess, Carlos White, Allene Stanford, Lucille Foreman, Virgil Phillips, J.D. Muse, and Lillie Bell Ayers. Felton Denney led song on page 347 for J.D. Muse and others. Jeff Sheppard led song on page 45t especially for Lawson “Bud” Burgess and 410 (t? b?) for Erskin Norton.

Louise Holland led song on page 340 for the sick and shut-ins which included: Jerry Warren, Myrtle Warren, Mozelle Sheppard, and many others. Roy Nelson closed the memorial with prayer.

Charles Norton gave a report on the cemetery. B.M. Smith led song on page 176t.


B.M. Smith called the afternoon session to order leading song on page 175. Leaders: Mary Lee Smith 358, 294; Earlis McGraw 445, 448b; Eloise Watkins 426b, 34b; Dennis George 274t, 224; Karen Reaves 148, 159; George Garner 480; Sonja Randall 335, 145t; B.J. Harris 303, 452; Betty Wright 323b, 108t; Lewis Norton 76b, 208; Shelbie Sheppard 28b (for Myrtle Smith), 142; Cecil Edwards 430, 490; Sherrell Durand 127, 491; Ora Martin 349, 168; Lois Owen 332, 61; Ann Simpson 143, 99; Ginnie Prater 119, 212; Corene Laminack and Ruth Daniels 378 (t? b?), 146; Felton Denney 489; Louise Holland 37b; Louise Owen and Hester Edwards 73b, 104 (for their sister, Alice Edwards); Mandy Cummings, Jeff Sheppard, and B.M. Smith 176t, 36b.

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith led song on page 46 as the closing song. Felton Denney dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Secretary—Hester Edwards.