Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Holly Springs Memorial Singing

Holly Springs Primitive Baptist Church, Bremen, Georgia

June 4-5, 2016

Saturday, June 4

The annual memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Holly Springs on the first Sunday and Saturday before in June. The class was called to order by Charlene Wallace leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Jason Stanford.

The following officers were elected: Chairman—Charlene Wallace; Vice Chairmen—Judy Henry and Earlis McGraw; Chaplin—Cecil Roberts; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Charlene Wallace 155; Jason Stanford 504; Judy Chambless 389; Winfred Kerr 314; Robbie Rivers 480. Richard DeLong and Robert Rivers thanked Charlene Wallace for all of her service to Sacred Harp and the Holly Springs singing. Leaders: B.M. Smith 270; Tony Hammock 464; Lela Crowder 82t; Louis Hughes 350; Phillip Langley 546; Jeannette DePoy 39b; Vicki See and Billy See 30b; Richard DeLong 123b; Karen Rollins 153; Hayden Arp 530; Robert Chambless 72b; Reba Windom 411 (in memory of Loyd Redding); Eric Tweedy 58; Alvaro Witt Duarte 272.


Judy Henry brought the class back to order leading 79. Leaders: Michael Thompson 456 (in memory of Elsie Moon); Drew McGuire 181; Lisa Bennett and Christine Peck 505 (in honor of Janelle Davis and Earlis McGraw); Amy Wells 222; Scott DePoy 225t; Henry Johnson 409; Lauren Bock 453; Justin Bowen 183; Ellen Johnson 99; David Brodeur 548; Nathan Stewart 189; Shelbie Castillo and Reba Windom 192; Jim Neal 496; David Smead 471; Andy Ditzler 228; Eddie Huckaby 163b (in memory of Billy Lewis); Mike Richards 316; Faye Hollis 299; Buell Cobb 266; Emma Dean Williams 278b; Eva Grace Horsley and Lilly Kilgore 100; Laura Hodges 172; Jesse Roberts 168; Mary Brownlee 383; Isaac Green 133; Anna Hinton 142; Karis Askin 209; Eli Hinton 65; Oscar McGuire 556; Philip Denney and Gayle Denney 340 (in honor of Charlene Wallace); Pam Nunn 300.


Jesse P. Karlsberg brought the class back to order leading 345t. Leaders: John Plunkett 505; Daniel Williams 34t; Matt Hinton 284; Shane Brown 48t; Judy Mincey 497; Erica Hinton 145t; Diane Avery 145b; Lori Rayburn 472; Tommy McGraw 418; Laura Hodges 328; Jesse P. Karlsberg 440; Nathan Stewart 396; Robert Kelley 61; Karen Edwards, Dan Edwards, and Greta Edwards 77t; Alvaro Witt Duarte 260; Ellen Johnson 282; Isaac Green 85; Mike Richards 475; Justin Bowen 421; Jim Neal 84; Amy Wells 276; Tommy McGraw and Susan McGraw 542; Don Bowen 476; Shane Brown 47b; Hayden Arp and Lauren Bock 294; Judy Henry and Charlene Wallace 353 (in honor of Rebecca Over).

John Plunkett thanked Earlis McGraw for all of the tireless work he had done for Sacred Harp and the Sacred Harp Publishing Company. John said that for many years, Earlis had cut the grass and cared for the museum building, and always unloaded the truck when new books were delivered.

After announcements, Charlene Wallace and Judy Henry led 209 as the closing song. Jason Stanford offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, June 5

The Sunday session of the Holly Springs Memorial Sacred Harp singing was brought to order by Charlene Wallace leading 75. Robert Chambless offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 37b, 527; Robert Chambless 111b, 56t (in honor of Ed and Margaret Thacker); Michael Spencer 420, 370; Glenda Collins and Burt Collins 101t, 340; Lela Crowder 32t, 354t; Samuel Williams 128, 536; Cecil Roberts 399b (in honor of Carolyn Deering and Earlis McGraw), 312b; Helen Bryson 131b, 428; Matt Hinton 36b, 53; Robert Rivers 384, 354b.


Charlene Wallace brought the class back to order leading 155. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 229, 336; Leigh Ann Carter 29t, 67; Debra Langley 532 (in memory of Geneva Prichard), 299; John Kelso 326, 328; Robert Kelley 201, 385t; Malinda Snow 157, 544; Richard DeLong 57; Eddie Huckaby 268 (in memory of Keith Sanders), 56b; Vickie See and Billy See 178, 108b; Michael Thompson 385b, 196; Christian Webb 159; Anna Hinton 63, 209; Robert Rivers 378t (in memory of his mother); Eli Hinton 146.


Jessica Kelso brought the class back to order leading 108t and 175. Leaders: Scott DePoy 277, 448t; Ester Williams 452, 107; Karen Edwards and Greta Edwards 71, 290; Jeannette DePoy 129 (in honor of George Burnett); Jeannette DePoy and Lynn Allen 148 (in honor of Earlis McGraw); Eric Tweedy 270, 220; B.M. Smith 28b (in memory of his mother), 318; Winfred Kerr 68b, 89; Erica Hinton 138t, 389; Shannon Primm 448b (in memory of Carlene and Nick Griffin), 225t (in honor of Earlis McGraw); Lisa Webb 349 (in memory of her grandmother), 269; Fred Eddy 192, 236; Judy Henry 77b, 204; Dick Plunkett 45t; Sheri Taylor and Laura Frey 163b, 358; Jason Stanford, Gary Davis, and Karen Flagg 49t, 284; Laura Akerman 131t, 518; Philip Denney 47t (in memory of Evelyn and B.J. Harris).

After announcements, Charlene Wallace, Judy Henry, and Debra Langley led 46 as the closing song. Jason Stanford offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Charlene Wallace; Vice Chairmen—Judy Henry and Earlis McGraw; Secretary—Judy Chambless