Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The United Sacred Harp Musical Association

Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church, near Douglas, Alabama

September 11-12, 2010

Saturday, September 11

The 107th session of the United Sacred Harp Musical Association met at Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church near Douglas, Alabama, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in September. The class was called to order by Shane Wootten leading 32t. Louis Hughes offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Louis Hughes 350; Darrell Swarens 186; Eddie Mash 434; David Ivey 96; Bridgett Hill 302; Lauren Bock 83t; Michael Thompson 385b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 385t; Matt Hinton 432; Ricky Harcrow 142; Cindy Tanner 182; Nate Green and Norma Green 492; Jackson Harcrow 39t; Eugene Forbes 192; Matt Bell 217; Angela Myers 84.

The class was welcomed to Zion Hill Church by the pastor, Elder Stoney Dorning. Mayor Paula Phillips welcomed everyone to the Douglas area and told of various points of interest in the surrounding communities.


The class was brought back together by Ricky Harcrow leading 74b. Jonathon Smith led 440.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Nora Parker; Chaplain—Richard Mauldin; Arranging Committee—Cindy Tanner; Memorial Committee—Karen Rollins and John Plunkett; Resolutions Committee—Richard Ivey and Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg; Locating Committee—David Ivey and Susan Harcrow; Finance Committee—Rodney Ivey.

Leaders: Jim Aaron 503; Graham Pritchett 276; Ed Thacker 474; Sarah Jenkins 107; Harrison Creel 342; Karen Freund 278t; Jeff Sheppard 556; Karen Rollins 297; Gabrielle Fulmer 106; Caleb Dillehay 454; Richard Mauldin 551; Doug Conn 546; Grace Gilmore 208; Robert Walker 171; Jennifer Lee 564; Susan Harcrow and Maci Gouvitsa 45t.


The class resumed singing with Eddie Mash leading 111b. Leaders: Ken Tate 147t; Paula Oliver 300; Lance Phillips 373; Nathan Rees 225b; Julietta Haynes 222; Danny Creel 456; Rebekah Gilmore 442; Hannah Tate 346; Jim Carnes 209; John Plunkett 459; Tom George 110; Beth Branscome 565; B.M. Smith 544; Blake Sisemore 498; Kelsey Sunderland 530; Robert Chambless 163b; Richard Ivey 399b; Mary Wright 184; Carolyn Thompson 505; Warren Steel 32b; Judy Caudle 301. Elder Ricky Harcrow offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Henry Johnson leading 108t. Leaders: Ross Brand 269; Pam Nunn 528; Rodney Ivey 365; Emily Burleson 383; Rachel Rudi 318; Jackie Tanner 112; Sharon DuPriest 216; Judy Chambless 321; Dennis George 224; Pat Temple 48t; Xaris Martinez 386; Daphene Causey 242; Shelbie Sheppard 372; Tim Reynolds 547; Sarah West 80t; Mary Amelia Taylor 472; Lynne deBenedette 542; Bea Carnathan 568; Reba Windom 168; Kay Huener 344; Vella Dailey and Ross Pope 452; Mary Ruth Stiefel 406; Eloise Wootten 426b; Scot Oliver and Paula Oliver 143; Marlon Wootten 441; Linda Thomas 391; Jonathon Smith 77t; Julietta Haynes 218; Caleb Dillehay 313t; Nathan Rees 317; Susan Harcrow 500; Matt Bell 240; Buell Cobb and Taft Bailey 436.

Henry Johnson led 521 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, September 12

The Sunday session of the United Sacred Harp Musical Association singing was called to order by Henry Johnson leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

Leaders: Eddie Mash 47t; Richard Mauldin 66; Karen Rollins 327; John Plunkett 173; Rodney Ivey 220; Richard Ivey 138t; Susan Harcrow 430; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 291; David Ivey 185; Cindy Tanner 368; Warren Steel 411; Molly Ellis 163t; Judy Caudle 292; Ross Brand 56b; Linda Sides 328; Pam Nunn 189; David Light 200; Dennis George 211; Pat Keating 538.


The class was brought back together by Henry Johnson leading 418. Leaders: Lynne deBenedette 282; Hubert Nall 176b; Bea Carnathan 80b; Amelia Dorning, Lucas Dorning, Jacob Dorning, and Alexis Graben 36b; Kay Huener 350; Cheyenne Ivey 56t; Aaron Wootten 30b; Wanda Capps 203; Stoney Dorning and Stephanie Dorning 96; Reba Windom 280; Jeffrey Wootten 542; Jane Spencer 478; Karen Ivey 349; Bud Oliver 421 (for Lonnie Rogers); Xaris Martinez 304.


Henry Johnson led 138b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Darrell Swarens and Cindy Tanner 198 (for Ann Jett and Earnie Jett); Sharon Brown and Gail Jenkins 49b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Rollins and John Plunkett. Karen read the following names of the deceased: Charlotte McCarn, Billy Williams, Willie Mae Moon, Arley Harper, Corene White, and Reba Norton—Alabama; Eugene Swarens—Indiana; Jerry Enright—Illinois; Lillian Huener—Ohio; George Seiler—New York; Ray Tate—Arkansas; Myra Palmer—Texas. Karen talked about the changes in the memorial lesson over the years and what the memorial lesson means to us as we remember loved ones and friends. She led 87.

John read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Earnie Jett, Lonnie Rogers, Bob Meek, Sandie Scott, Marlin Beasley, Cecil Sanders, Sammie Oliver, Phyllis Bruce, Clarence McCool, and Leona Haynes. John encouraged everyone to remember the sick, shut-ins, and caregivers by sending cards, emails, or making a phone call. He led 409. Richard Mauldin offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Blake Sisemore and Rachel Rudi 290; Bruce Hayes 486; Shannon Primm 201; Mary Amelia Taylor and Angelia Mele 270; Mary Wright 412.


Eddie Mash brought the afternoon session to order by leading 213t. Leaders: Jackie Tanner 172; Louis Hughes 166; Kelsey Sunderland 272; Harrison Creel 111b; Delone Cobbs 73t; Elene Stovall 298; Judy Mincey 468; Christopher Mann 312b; Shane Wootten 129; S.T. Reed 35; Max Berueffy and Karin Covi 168; John Kelso 330b; Tom George 88t; Coy Ivey 384; Dewayne Wootten and Marlon Wootten 460; Karen Freund 95; Pat Temple 33t; Jared Wootten 217; Lauren Bock 362; Shelbie Sheppard 102; Jamey Wootten 313t; B.M. Smith 475; Tim Reynolds 413; Marty Wootten 472.


The class was called back to order by Henry Johnson leading 82t. Leaders: Bridgett Hill 377; Sarah West 370; Rachel Rudi 425; Verlon Stiefel and Mary Ruth Stiefel 97; Loyd Ivey 89; Carolyn Thompson 271t; Sharon DuPriest 212; Nate Green 124; Eloise Wootten and Lorie Wootten 299.

A business session was held for the purpose of hearing committee reports. Nora Parker gave the finance report, stating that donations were sufficient to cover expenses and the balance would be carried forward for future use.

The Resolutions Committee submitted the following report: We, the Resolutions Committee of the 107th session of the United Sacred Harp Musical Association, resolve to thank the following: the town of Douglas, Alabama, and Mayor Paula Phillips for their gracious hospitality and warm welcome; State Representatives Todd Greeson and Elwyn Thomas for their generous donations and support; Elder Stoney Dorning and the congregation of Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church for kindly hosting this convention, and all others who worked to make this convention a success; the officers and committee members who work behind the scenes to make the singing run smoothly. We further resolve to meet again next year for the 108th session of this association.

The Locating Committee recommended that the 108th session of the United Sacred Harp Musical Association will meet in Nashville, Tennessee, in September, 2011. All reports were approved, and the business session was closed.

Announcements were made. Henry Johnson led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Nora Parker