Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Young People’s Sacred Harp Association Singing

Holly Springs Primitive Baptist Church, Bremen, Georgia

Saturday, August 30, 2008

The Young People’s Sacred Harp Association met on Saturday before the first fifth Sunday after the Fourth of July at Holly Springs Primitive Baptist Church in Bremen, Georgia. Drew Smith called the class to order leading 37b. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Drew Smith 101t; Phillip Langley 318; Lela Crowder 32t; Blake Sisemore 142; Caleb Allred 448t; Mary Elizabeth Lee 59; Matt Hinton and Anna Hinton 277; Donna Bell 163b; Robert Kelley 163t; April Dell and Jenny Steuver 155; Macy Crawford and Kendra Strickland 452; Cheyenne Ivey 76b; Bridgett Hill 440; Bill Beverly 547; Jessica Beer 77t; Jeannette DePoy 338; Nate Green and Norma Green 129; Will Allred 196; Bobby Watkins 480; Thom Fahrbach 500.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Phillip Langley; Vice Chairman—Nathan Rees; Secretary—Lela Crowder; Chaplain—Bentley McGuire; Treasurer—Richard Ivey; Arranging Committee—Rachel Allred, Sarah Jenkins, and Jenna Strizak; Finance Committee—Russ Hanson, Ariella Perry, and Allison Schofield; Locating Committee—Cassie Allen, Mary Elizabeth Lee, and Blake Sisemore; Resolutions Committee—Jessica Beer, Matt Hinton, and Matt Wojcik.


Jackson Harcrow called the class back together leading 30t. Leaders: Richard Ivey 187; Jennie Brown 192; Holly Mixon 354b; Ed Thacker 517; Russ Hanson 222; Clarke Lee 565; Ariella Perry 335; David Ivey 168; Rachel Allred 383; John Plunkett 562; Carri Grindon 497; Jenna Strizak 217; Martha Beverly 269; Erin Mills 215; Lonnie Rogers 389; Mike Thompson 342; Riley Lee 551; Micah Roberts 119; Sheldon Finlay 112; Mark Miller 195; Jonathon Smith 434; Matt Wojcik, Rosie Wojcik, and Marian Wojcik 216; Mike Spencer 207; Danny Arms 304; Bentley McGuire 316; Sarah Whites-Koditschek 40; B.M. Smith 384; Stephanie Tingler 373; Jeff Breting 324; Darrell Swarens 350; Amy Finlay 203; Karen Clark 475; Jesse Roberts 333; Susan Allred 329; Louis Hughes 510.


Nathan Rees called the class back to order leading 81t. Leaders: Judy Caudle 345b; Henry Johnson 375; Cassie Allen 504; Kelsey Wessels 278b; Bob Meek 496; Sam Sommers 54; Will Fitzgerald 287; Rodney Ivey 426b; Carol Hanson 68b; Reba Windom 436; Oscar McGuire 485; Sophie Grindon 146; Sandra Wilkinson 182; John Hollingsworth 347; Allison Schofield 542; Morgan Bunch 106; Richard DeLong 411; Charlene Wallace 481; Susan Harcrow 498; Christian Webb 358; Jeff Sheppard 322; Joyce Whittington and Norma Green 72b.


Phillip Langley brought the final session to order leading 460. The class resumed the business session and heard reports from each committee. The Locating Committee announced that next year’s Young People’s Singing will be held in Western Massachusetts. The Resolutions Committee expressed its thanks to everyone who contributed to the fellowship and support of both the Young People’s Singing and Sacred Harp. The new draft of the Young People’s Sacred Harp Association By-Laws was voted on and accepted. Expenses for the singing were met. The business meeting was closed.

Leaders: Sue Bunch 66; Billy Hollingsworth 236; John Holbrook 339; Jenna Frey 401; Karen Swenson 200; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 435.

Announcements were made. Phillip Langley led 46 as the closing song. John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Phillip Langley; Vice Chairman—Nathan Rees; Secretary—Lela Crowder