Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pioneer Valley All-Day Singing

First Congregational Church, Sunderland, Massachusetts

Saturday, July 3, 2010

The 10th session of the Pioneer Valley Singing was held at the First Congregational Church in Sunderland, Massachusetts, on Saturday before the first Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Sheila Kelley leading 33b. The opening prayer was offered by Amy Finlay.

Leaders: Kelsey Wessels 47t; Caitlin Caulfield 63; Laura Timmerman 111t; Amy Finlay 112; Linda Shea 371; Peter Irvine 58; Sally Langendorf 32t; Paul Butler 432; Jer Galvagni 441; Cheri Hardy 282; Ed Smith 200; Pat Callahan 84; Christine Andrews 101t; Rick Johnson 205; Jenny Wright 504; Jennie Brown 505; Terry Ryan 137; Mary Skidmore 111b; Martha Rogers 146; Larry Bingham 178; Elizabeth Stoddard 124; Carole Dempsey 168; Liz Cantrell 113.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sheila Kelley; Vice Chairman—Kelsey Wessels; Secretary—Caitlin Caulfield.


Molly Merrett called the class to order leading 76b. Leaders: Matthew Wojcik 179; Magdalena Eriksen 186; Michael Nord 162; Ines Lüttgen 506; Charles Taylor 271t; Ian Quinn 38b; Glen Wright 474; Oona Coy 448b; Lynne deBenedette 77t; Paul Butler 319; Willis McCumber 210; Susan Mampre 479; Bob Ladwig 47b; Mary Gowins 212; Barbara Swetman 567; Sheldon Finlay 110; Peter Golden 42.


Deidra Montgomery called the class to order leading 39t. Leaders: Allison Steel 411; Anna Maria Irvine 499; Chris Holley 283; Michael Kaye 340; Ruth Hooke 198; Anayis Wright 35; Diane Menella 377; Jean Seiler 142; Eric Morgan 430; Paula Picton 300; Philippa Stoddard 269; George Sigut 480; Nora Dunn 445.

Kshama Ananthapura opened the memorial lesson, leading 72b for the following sick and shut-ins: Bob Meek, Phyllis Bruce, Voula Zervakis, Brian Collett, Liz Celebucki, David Groeb, Charlie Depuw, James Altimari, Beverly Gallup, Karen Keller, and Don Herold.

Cheri Hardy gave a meditation and read the following list of deceased: Bob Armstrong, Eleanor Strong, Victoria Bolles, George McGray, Betty Williams, Richard Hooke, Tim Young, Douglas Stiles, Sandra Goss—Massachusetts; Kay Martyn—Canada; Abby Yandell—New Hampshire; Jerry Enright—Illinois; George Loft, Flora Rosenberg, Karen Radzewicz, Randall Castleman—New York; Mary Wowk—Connecticut; Ann Kucera—Maine; The President of Poland and other Polish officials. She led 267 in their memory. George Seiler closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Dan Hertzler 354t; George Pomfret 549.


Ben Vincent called the class to order leading 82t. Leaders: Laura Clawson 362; Tim Eriksen 236; Mary Andrews 542; George Seiler 159; Eric Morgan 379; Cassie Lang 472; Jan-Erik Steel 89; Paul Setford 273; Nora Dunn 500; Lydia Vernon-Jones 299; Anne Kazlauskas 151; Lynne deBenedette 442; Matthew Wojcik 383; Paula Picton 573; Rosie Wojcik 429; Carole Dempsey 313b; Sheldon Finlay 419; Chris Holley 201; Kshama Ananthapura 216; George Sigut 268.


Jer Galvagni called the class to order leading 105. Leaders: Ben Vincent 426b; Jim Desmond 569b; Philippa Stoddard and Jennie Brown 189; Andy Johnson 294; Diane Menella and Peter Golden 318; Paul Setford 415; Barbara Swetman and Elizabeth Stoddard 277; Mary Gowins and Anayis Wright 454; George Pomfret and Dan Hertzler 503.

The business meeting was called to order by Kelsey Wessels. Paul Butler gave the report from the Finance Committee. Secretary Caitlin Caulfield reported 91 songs had been led. The Resolutions Committee thanked all those who contributed to the success of the singing. Sheila Kelley announced that the 2011 Pioneer Valley Singing will be held Saturday before the first Sunday in July. The business meeting was closed.

Following announcements, Jean Seiler and George Sigut led 40. Leaders: All past chairs of the PVADS 27; Cassie Lang 284; Mary Andrews 457; 2010 Camp FaSoLa participants 128; Willis McCumber and Ines Lüttgen 396; Tim Eriksen and Deidra Montgomery 217.

Sheila Kelley, Kelsey Wessels, and Caitlin Caulfield led 62 as the closing song. Eric Morgan offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sheila Kelley; Vice Chairman—Kelsey Wessels; Secretary—Caitlin Caulfield