Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Chicago/Hyde Park Singing

Augustana Lutheran Church, Hyde Park, Chicago, Illinois

Saturday, November 3, 2007

The 9th annual University of Chicago/Hyde Park Singing was brought to order at 9:35 a.m. by Sam Farwell leading 155. Jim Swanson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Rachel Adelstein 36b; Jim Helke 135; Randy Neufeld 171; Carol Munro Mosley 312b; Susan Geil 565; Lisa Cohen 148; Ryan Wheeler 108b; Suzanne Flandreau 278b; Doug Stapleton 474; Karen Swenson 298; Darrell Swarens 335.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairperson—Rachel Adelstein; Secretary—Ginny Landgraf; Arranging Committee—James Page and Megan Dunning; Chaplain—Jim Swanson.

Leaders: Ann Miczulski 30t; Tom Malone 541; Ariel Weinberg 180; Wayne Dell 159; Michael Mosley 128; Martha Beverly 504; Mark Dawson 299; John Seaton 47t.


Megan Dunning brought the class back by leading 84. Leaders: Jim Swanson 488; JoDell Albi 8 (MH), Will Fitzgerald 96; Cathryn Bearov 498; Nick Pasqual 172 (Jeremiah Ingalls’s Christian Harmony edited by Tom Malone), Dave Barford 484; Jeremy York 77t; Francesca Cassara 146; Debbie Barford 313b; Judy Hauff 148 (MH); Nancy Katzen 300; Ginny Landgraf 136 (MH); Marcia Johnson 501; Bill Beverly 19 (MH); Megan Dunning 76b; Sam Farwell 31t; Melanie Hauff 84 (MH); James Page 45 (MH).


Rachel Adelstein brought the class back by leading 178. Leaders: Grace Scrimgeour 547; Ted Mercer 145t; Jeff Breting 324; Suzanne Flandreau 127 (MH); Doug Stapleton 142; Karen Swenson 13 (MH); Ariel Weinberg 203; Wayne Dell 277; Susan Geil 43 (MH).

Ariel Weinberg conducted the memorial lesson, leading 86 for the following sick and shut-ins: Edith Tate, Andrea Nagy, Clare Cardy, Mary Wood, Molly Hansen, Doris Littrell, Kelly Day, Pat Meek, Pauline Childers, Bethalee Harpst, Isabelle Katzen, Rebecca Adams, Dick Dunagan, Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, and Peg Pearson.

She then led 472 for the following deceased: LaRue Allen and Wilton Donaldson—Alabama; Homer Benefield and Gladys McGraw—Georgia; Steve Sinon, Bill Martin (Debbie Barford’s father), and Martin Lakomiak—Illinois; Mirjana (Minja)Lausevic—Minnesota; Paulina Leonard—Missouri; Dennis Dilno—New York; Helen Russell—Pennsylvania. Jim Swanson closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Ann Miczulski 288; Martha Beverly 522; Carol Munro Mosley 4 (MH), Will Fitzgerald 172 (MH); Tom Malone 316; Jim Helke 177 (MH); Randy Neufeld 29t. Jim Swanson offered the blessing for lunch.


Jeremy York brought the class back by leading 82t. Leaders: Ryan Wheeler 139 (MH); Nancy Katzen 106; Bill Beverly 546; Anita Shaperd 114; Ted Johnson 110 (MH); Mary Doyle 100 (MH); Molly Whedbee 12 (MH); Francesca Cassara 122; Randy Neufeld 99; Dave Barford 196; Darrell Swarens 198; John Seaton 64 (MH); Jeremy York 480; Grace Scrimgeour 216; Jeff Breting 168; Debbie Barford 200; Marcia Johnson 368; Michael Mosley 137.


Rachel Adelstein brought the class back by leading 473. Leaders: James Page 98 (MH); Tom Malone “Benediction” (original composition written for Tim Eriksen’s family in memory of Minja Lausevic), Lisa Cohen 485; Rochelle Lodder 344; Ginny Landgraf 88 (MH); Judy Hauff 135 (MH); Nick Pasqual 114 (MH); Cathryn Bearov 143 (MH); Ted Mercer 192; Melanie Hauff 68 (MH).

Rachel Adelstein thanked everyone involved in helping with the singing. She then called for announcements and committee reports.

The Finance committee reported that expenses were met.

The Secretary reported that 87 songs were led by 45 leaders from 6 states.

Rachel Adelstein led 347 as the closing song, while those who wished took the parting hand. Jim Swanson offered the closing prayer.

Chairperson—Rachel Adelstein; Secretary—Ginny Landgraf