Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt on the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 5, 2012

The 27th annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Old Country Church on the grounds of Burritt on the Mountain. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Richard Ivey leading 31b and 217. Sam Sommers offered the morning prayer.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Richard Ivey; Vice Chairman—Buddy Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger.

Leaders: Buddy Ballinger 108b; Amanda Hardiman 454; Lomax Ballinger 277; Linton Ballinger and Sherry Stover 144; Cheyenne Ivey 176b; Ron Harper 228; Charles McCravy 145t; Pam Wilkerson and friends 49b; Gary Leopold 159; Teresa Hope 384; Danny Creel 269; Judy Chambless 142; David Light 200; Lauren Allen 45t; Loyd Ivey 283; Nate Green and Norma Green 314; Ken Robinson 72b; Lisa Geist 472; David Killingsworth 56b; Christopher Mann 77t; Karen Bahler 32t; Scott Ivey 428; Judy Caudle 540; Ken Tate 217; Jimmy Ballinger 565.


The class resumed singing with Richard Ivey leading 56t. Leaders: Vella Dailey 29t; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 108t (for Bud Oliver); Bea Carnathan 568; B.M. Smith 475; Milford Cobbs 127; Michael Thompson 385b; Christie Allen 270; Earl Ballinger 203; Kelsey Sunderland 349; Mike Hinton 456; Mary Whitehurst 448t; Phil Summerlin 112; Sandra Spradlin 276; Delone Cobbs 111b.


The class was brought back to order by David Ivey leading 272. Leaders: Henry Johnson 96; Catelyn Bahler 282; Everett Blackwood 30b; Mary Amelia Taylor 505; Gravis Ballinger 215; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 37b; Richard Mauldin 146; Max Berueffy 155; Daniel Bearden and Julie Heeren 198; Joan Aldridge 546; Gaston White 66; Laurens Blankers 312b; Anne Drexler 335; Andrew Farris 408; Roy Turrentine 186. Elder J.L. Hopper offered the noon blessing.


The afternoon session was called to order by Rodney Ivey leading 337. Leaders: Mark Carroll 480; Amos Smith 317; Susan Cherones 107; Brad Bahler 550; Margie Smith 225t; Nathan Rees 227; Larry Ballinger 151; Carolyn Thompson 442; Jim Aaron 503; Roberta Strauss 218; Sam Sommers 386; Russ Pope 117; Syble Adams and Pam Wilkerson 47b; J.L. Hopper 158; Daphene Causey 196; David Carlton 189; Linda Thomas 430; Bob Simmons 569b; Sharon DuPriest 137; Allison Whitener and Karen Ivey 411, 440; Scott Kennedy 162; Rachel Satterwhite 42; Geraldine Sharpton 318; Jonathon Smith 110; Daniel Lee 34b; Joseph Bearden 49t; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 274t; Karin Covi 178; Joyce Lambert 141.

Following announcements, Richard Ivey and Buddy Ballinger led 46 as the closing song. Ron Harper offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard Ivey; Vice Chairman—Buddy Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman