Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

Zion’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church, Jasper, Alabama

Saturday, July 17, 1999

The eighty-fifth session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Convention met on Saturday before the third Sunday in July at Zion’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church. The class was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading song on page 59. A.C. McGough offered the morning prayer. Glenn Keeton led song on page 45t.

The class organized for the day by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate; Arranging Committee—Cynthia Franklin; Memorial Committee—Brenda Merritt.

Leaders: Travis Keeton 155; John Hyde 314; A.C. McGough 410b, 410t; Lois Bonnell 30t, 63; J.A. Mosley 282, 365; Ottis Sides 568, 75; Pernie Pelfrey 371; Odie V. Horton 192, 200; Joshua Keeton 358, 189; Jetty Lawson 460; John Merritt 321b.


Travis Keeton brought the class to order leading song on page 142. Leaders: John Morris 137, 448t; Kelly Macklin 125, 32t; Aubrey Barfield 480, 551; Mattie Townsel 317; Amanda Denson 198, 373; Willodean Barton 82 (t? b?); Josie Hyde 507 (for Harrison Creel and Wanda Capps).


Glenn Keeton brought the class to order leading song on page 34b. Leaders: Leyland delRe 127, 213 (t? b?); Charles Kitchens 326, 205; Flarce Creel 389, 270; Tressie Atkins 87, 108t; Nate Green and Norma Green 69t, 73t, 426t; Janet Jones 68b; John delRe 74b, 165; Linda Sides 148, 475.


The afternoon of singing began with Glenn Keeton leading song on page 503. Leaders: Coy Ivey 405, 222; Lena Keeton 297, 454; Ashley Keeton 186, 196; Bob Bonnell 57, 285 (t? b?); Stanley Smith 482, 455; Jackie Tanner 138 (t? b?), 56 (t? b?); Gene Wakefield 168, 284; Cassandra Franklin 250.

The memorial lesson was held with Tommie Spurlock leading song on page 565 for the following deceased: Vester Jones, Flossie Jones, Ada Godsey, Buddy Godsey, Annie Sanders, Ralph Heath, Essie Calvert, Cecil Gilliland, and B.B. Mattox. The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Thurman Nall, Virgil Phillips, Ruby Phillips, Garnsey McGough, Ethel McGough, and Elsie Beasley. The memorial was closed with prayer led by Philip Gilmore. Brenda Merritt led song on page 426b.


Harrison Creel brought the class to order leading song on page 111b. Leaders: Jimmie Gilmore “Cleansing Fountain” (for her parents); Velton Chafin 172; Pam Keeton 316; Roma Rice 34t, 477; Bill Farris 401, 111t; Philip Gilmore 138b, 396; Toney Smith 130, 458; Arthur Gilmore “Jesus Died For Me”; Agnes Farris 418, 345t; Paula Gilmore 29t, 31t; Tommie Spurlock 273; Terry Sides and wife 48t; Cynthia Franklin 335.

Announcements were made. The words of the song on page 62 were sung for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by John Merritt.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate.