Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Fort Worth, Texas

January 30, 1999

The fifteenth annual Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas. This is the eighth year that the 1991 revision of The Sacred Harp has been used, and it was an excellent singing with 185 in attendance.

The morning session was called to order at 8:35 a.m. by Dr. David Music leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was led by William J. Reynolds. After a welcome to all singers and opening comments, Dr. David Music recognized Dr. Timothy Studstill as chairman of the Arranging Committee and Michelle Lyons as Secretary.

Leaders: Gaylon Pwell 318; Kelly Beard 122; Reed Coates 358; Leon Ballinger 354b; William J. Reynolds with sons, Tim Reynolds, and Kirk Reynolds 128; Ernestine Pipkin 168; Michele Rogan 178; Kevin Powell 504; Sarah Coates 492; Nathan Morgan 74b; Mary Bachmann 569t; Baron E. Powers 268; Tim Reynolds 551; Myra Palmer 208; Bruce Coates 535; Vivian Rogan 163b; Josh Rogan 454; H.P. O’Mary 335; Owen Ross 200; Esther Huckaby 270; Beverly Coates 29t.

Dr. David Music made announcements regarding books for sale as well as a reminder to register. Dr. Music recognized Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary students in attendance and then called on Dan Brittain to lead a song which he composed. Dan Brittain led song on 313b.


Dr. Timothy Studstill opened the second session by leading song on page 569b. Leaders: Donald Ross 225t; Father Ronald Baker 148; James Moseley 31t; Gaylon Powell and Dave Ferman (special guest from the Fort Worth Star-Telegram) 45t; Olivia Blevins 142; Gary Rogan 384; Susan Hanson 479; Scott Curran 47t; John Morris 199 (?); Catherine Rogan 290; Robert Handel 153; Tom Owen 380; Avon Miller 349; Byron Talbot 159; David Moseley 186; Dan Brittain 377; Larry Wheat 276. Dr. David Music called for announcements of future singings.


At 1:30 p.m. Dr. David Music opened the afternoon session by leading song on page 63. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 46; Mary Bachmann 279; Ernestine Pipkin 218; Reed Coates 49t; Tim Reynolds 198; Kevin Powell 240; Michele Rogan 112; Myra Palmer 436; Sarah Coates 455; Nathan Morgan 29b; Josh Rogan 273; Kelly Beard 229; Diane Ross 532; Baron E. Powers 127; Bruce Coates 47b; Vivian Rogan 282; Father Ronald Baker 84; Owen Ross 344; Beverly Coates 470; Myrl Jones 426b; Donald Ross 475; Gary Rogan 324; James Moseley 34b; Olivia Blevins 171; Susan Hanson 117; Scott Curran 39t; John Morris 163 (t? b?); Robert Handel 179; Tom Owen 280; H.P. O’Mary 341; William J. Reynolds 53; Larry Wheat 61; Avon Miller 242; David Moseley 444; Dan Brittain 387; Gaylon Powell 86. Dr. David Music asked for requests from those not leading and the following songs and leaders were called: Gaylon Powell 460; Bruce Coates 32b; Owen Ross 196; Donald Ross 145t; Leon Ballinger 87; Tim Reynolds 49 (t? b?); John Morris 143; Tom Owen 40; Dan Ross 316. Dr. David Music then dismissed the final session.

Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Michelle R. Lyons.