Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Holly Springs Church

Near Bremen, Georgia, I-20 & U.S. 27 South

June 3-4, 1995

Saturday, June 3

The annual Sacred Harp Singing was held the first Sunday in June and Saturday before at Holly Springs Primitive Baptist Church. The singing was called to order by Charlene Wallace leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was led by Jack Smith. Charlene Wallace then led song on page 453, followed by Carlene Griffin 37b; Hugh McGraw 413; Randy Langley 401; Mary Florence Smith 421; Don Bowen 270; Florice Akin 159; Frances Mary D’Andrea 276; Jeanette DePoy 268; B. M. Smith 204 in memory of Forney Cobb; Sharon Kelem 69 (t? b?); Arie Chandler 384; Myra Tucker 49 (t? b?); Phillip Langley 405; Lee Rogers 538; John Fedderson 163 (t? b?); Jimmie Denney 101 (t? b?); Ruby Phillips 39b; Bud Oliver 345 (t? b?); Daphene Causey 56b; Roy Nelson 303; Lissa Blood 490; Kenneth DeLong 572.


The class resumed singing with Geneva Prichard leading song on page 146 followed by Jerry Sheppard 272. A motion was made and duly seconded to go into the business session. Officers elected or appointed were: Chairman—Charlene Wallace; Vice Chairman—Carlene Griffin; Secretary (Assistant)—Carlene Griffin; Chaplain—Jack Smith; Arranging Committee—Hugh McGraw and Judy Henry; Memorial Committee—Florice Akin, Geneva Prichard, and Mary Florence Smith. Leaders: Liz Bryant 32b; Shelton Williamson 300; Hilda Morrison 35; G. C. Waldrep 112; Joan Durden 114; Charles Whitmer 320; Lynda Hambourger 327; Jack Smith 40; Linda Thomas 472; Kelly Beard 33b; Cassie Franklin 485; Robbie Rivers; Hugh and Lynn McNutt 49b; Lola Cargo 472 Jap Walton 420b; Judy Mincey 50b; Kim Cagle 155; Karen Hojnacki 198; Edith Tate 532; Shelbie Sheppard 269; Buell Cobb 389; Janet Fraembs 480; John Hollingsworth 196; Helen Bryson 547; Elene Stoval 352; Cindy Franklin 362b.


The afternoon session resumed with Carlene Griffin leading song on page 117. Leaders: Elder Marshall Avery 74b; Ernestine Pipkin 107; Nancy Ewel 178; Everette Denney 63; Joyce Walton 167; Kathy Williams 306; Jeff Sheppard 43; S. T. Reid 567; Margie Smith 373; Ted Mercer 328; Susan Roberts 30b; Oscar McGuire 573; Floy Wilder 183; Kathy White 503; Bonnie Flowers 120; Andy Morris 57; Mildred McElroy 218; Felton Denney 299; Al Ginden 203; Mel Kersey 562; Estelle Flowers 371; Otis Hester 195; Teenie Moody 318.


Charlene Wallace called the class together leading song on page 110. The class sang “Happy Birthday” to Mrs. Stella Cofer who was 90 years old. Leaders: Dan Bailey 358; Cary Ginden 565; Kenneth Mize 569b; Elsie Brock 460; Richard DeLong 41; Mildred Patterson 119; Pearl Guier 127; Lou Cotney 189, Mildred Johnson 560, Elder J. J. Aderhold 144; Kaye Martin 267; Polly Hester 46; Josephine Denney 143; Lonnie Rogers 225 (t? b?); John Plunkett 479; Terry Holt 84; Shannon Creel 148. After announcements, Charlene Wallace, Carlene Griffin, Geneva Prichard, Carolyn Huckeba and Judy Henry led song on page 333 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Jack Smith.

Sunday, June 4

The singing was called to order by Charlene Wallace leading song on page 60. The morning prayer was led by Jack Smith. Charlene Wallace then led song on page 205, and the following leaders called were: Danny Griffin 318; Kathy Spanglehour 344; Earlis McGraw 148; Debra Langley 127; Elder Homer Benefield 56 (t? b?); David McGukin 48b; Laura Webb 503; Judy Henry 204; Jan House 151; Revy Williamson 187; Kaye Martin 276; Roy Nelson 569 (t? b?); Sheri Taylor 485; Toney Smith 475; Lissa Blood 122; G. C. Waldrep 347; Jo Dell Albi 385 (t? b?); Katherine Benefield 343; Harvey Austin 405; Judy Mincey 556; Myron House 131 (t? b?).


Robbie Rivers called the class together with song on page 454. Leaders: Phillip Langley 196; Lora Cargo 460; Karen Hojnacki 145 (t? b?); Robert Rivers, III 340; Timothy Haley 46; Alicia Green and Carol Parsons 268; Jack Smith 192; Misty Haley 78; Lynda Hambourger 497; Lori Goode 176b; John Fedderson 236; Diane Avery 300; Ann Ballard 373; Beth Haley 155.


The class was called together by Don Bowen leading song on page 187, followed by Dorothea McCowan 234; Lois Stanson 280; Raymond Hamrick 448 (t? b?). The Memorial Lesson: Richard DeLong led 269 in memory of Lessie Cates, and 39b in memory of Junurs Hudgins; Raymond Hamrick led 549 in memory of Lillie Todd, Maynard Hurston, Carlton Hitchcock, Harry Dumas, Dura Blackmon, Zera Mize, Velma Kelley, Nellie Miles, Levi Patterson, John Hawley, Connell Barrow and James Lambert. David McGukin led 179 in memory of Grady Albright, Forney Cobb, Lois Green, Leon Price, Ted Godsey, Trixie Vandiver, Henry Doc Jackson, David Ingles, Lindsey Crider, Frances Buntyn, Dell Redmon (Texas) and Ivone Moore (Oklahoma). For all the sick and shut-ins, Mildred Patterson led 146, and Teenie Moody led 277. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by Elder Homer Benefield.


The afternoon session was called together by Hugh McGraw leading song on page 294. Leaders: Elder Marshall Avery 271 (t? b?); Helen Bryson 436 for Gertrude Bateman; Kelly Beard 387; Kathy Williams 504; Jeanette DePoy 267; Ted Mercer 182; Rita Haley 63; Shelbie Sheppard 106; Daphene Causey 193; Ernestine Pipkin 283; Janet Fraembs 335; Susan Roberts 217; Jeff Sheppard 142; Geneva Prichard 383; Jerry Sheppard 558; Karen Kelem 38 (t? b?); Wesley Haley 198; Otis Hester 472; Noel Rush 189; Bonnie Flowers 456; Cecil Edwards 430.


The Class was called to order by Charlene Wallace leading song on page 129. Leaders: I. V. McWhorter 349; Alice Edwards 73 (t? b?); Estelle Flowers 76b; Everette Denney 123 (t? b?); Louise Holland 323 (t? b?); Andy Morris 358; Elsie Brock 171; Lief Carter 299; Ruth Brown 535; Elder J. J. Aderhold 59; Pearl Guier 49b; Lovella Kerr 48 (t? b?); Elder Lewis Norton 231. After announcements Charlene Wallace, Carlene Griffin and Elder Homer Benefield led page 62 as the closing song. The convention was dismissed with prayer by Elder Homer Benefield.

Chairman—Charlene Wallace; Vice Chairman—Carlene Griffin.