Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

St. Giles Presbyterian Church, Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, November 5, 2022

The James River Convention was held on the first Saturday in November in the parish hall of St. Giles Church in Richmond, Virginia. The class was welcomed by Adrienne Robertson leading 39t. The opening prayer was offered by Pat Temple. A business session was held, and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Treasurer—Lois Badey; Secretary—Jordan Albright; Arranging Committee—Matt Ference and Michael Wiebe.

Leaders: Lois Bady 77b; Kristen Haff 146; Matt Ference 70b; Pat Temple 143; Michael Wiebe 368; Jordan Albright 229; Brenda Dunlap 290; Mary Wright 84; Kathy Manning 269; Kelly Macklin 218; Jacob Hamidi 348b; Emily Ross 171; John delRe 144; Susan Green 350.


The class resumed singing with Kathy Manning leading 213 (ShH). Leaders: Richard Green 7 (ShH); Gabe Simerson 113 (ShH); Clare Chapin 80 (ShH); David Shulman 78 (ShH); Robin Betz 101 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 450 (ShH); Kathy Manning 227 (ShH); Mary Wright 226 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 351b (ShH); Jacob Hamidi 226 (ShH); Emily Ross 305 (ShH); Bridget Camden 310 (ShH); Elizabeth King 251 (ShH); John delRe 348 (ShH); Susan Green 338 (ShH).

The memorial lesson was directed by Pat Temple who led 454 for the sick and shut-ins and 373 for those who passed. The following sick and shut-ins were commemorated: Cynthia Wilson, Evan Duncan, Darin Plaiger, Julie Maitland, Ethel Strubbe, Mary Helen Dupree, and Jim Lewis. The following deceased were commemorated: Graham F. DeZarn, Ted Mercer, Edward Hanson, Susan Bingham, Edward Bongiovanni, Cliff Hudgins, Molly Lunsford, Larry Gordon, Coy Ivey, and Les Updike.


The class resumed singing with Richard Green and Susan Green leading 99. Leaders: Gabe Simerson 129; Clare Chapin 532; David Shulman 276; Robin Betz 504; Richard Green 147t; Nick Bruns 284; Molly Hickman 128; Richard Vinson 49b; Adrienne Robertson 198; Pat Temple 59; Michael Wiebe 117; Matt Ference 300; Mary Wright 312t; Brenda Dunlap 456; Kathy Manning 426b; Kelly Macklin 214; Jacob Hamidi 542; Emily Ross 436; John delRe 501.


The class resumed singing with David Shulman 12b (ShH). Leaders: Bridget Camden 364b (ShH); Kristen Haff 48 (ShH); Peter Pate 361b (ShH); Susan Green 307 (ShH); Clare Chapin 418 (ShH); David Shulman 254 (ShH); Robin Betz 380 (ShH); Richard Green 424b (ShH); Richard Vinson 141 (ShH); Adrienne Robertson 404 (ShH); Pat Temple 17 (ShH); Michael Weibe 15 (ShH); Matt Ference 169 (ShH); Mary Wright 438 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 249 (ShH); Kathy Manning 211 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 431 (ShH); Jacob Hamidi 104 (ShH).


The class resumed singing with Brenda Dunlap leading 105. Leaders: Molly Hickman 142; Elizabeth Betz 354b; Peter Pate 269; Richard Vinson 32b; Gabe Simerson 178; Nick Bruns 347; Emily Ross 417; John delRe 397b (ShH); Susan Green 474; Clare Chapin 235 (ShH); David Shulman 34t; Robin Betz 242 (ShH). Adrienne Robertson thanked all who had a part in putting on the convention, and all those who participated. The James River Convention will meet next year on the first Saturday in November (November 4, 2023).

Adrienne Robertson led 207 as the closing song. A prayer of dismissal was offered by Pat Temple, which concluded the convention.

Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Treasurer—Lois Badey; Secretary—Jordan Albright