Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Poplar Springs Baptist Church Singing

Poplar Springs Baptist Church, Carroll County, Georgia

Sunday, September 25, 2022

The 5th annual Sacred Harp singing was held on the fourth Sunday in September at Poplar Springs Baptist Church, north of Bowdon, Carroll County, Georgia. Daniel Williams brought the class to order leading 60. Oscar McGuire offered the morning prayer. Daniel Williams welcomed the singers and visitors before leading 61 (in honor of Jack Nelson). Leaders: Philip Denney 535, 40; Glenda Collins 288, 472; Isaac Green 295, 420; Esther Williams 224; Nathan Rees 435, 374; Laura Frey 163b, 358; Bert Collins 97, 340; Samuel Williams 498, 30t; Robert Chambless 225t, 480.


Daniel Williams brought the class back to order leading 503. Leaders: Sheri Taylor 74b, 75; Bill Dupre 49b, 276. A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected to serve: Chairman—Daniel Williams; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 229 (in honor of Cecil Roberts), 171; Cheyenne Ivey and April Watkins 101t, 89 (in honor of Loyd Ivey’s family); Winfred Kerr 45t, 36b; April Watkins 445, 53; Daniel Williams 317.

Robert Chambless gave the memorial lesson and led 70t, remembering the following list of sick and shut-ins: Cecil Roberts, Doug Ivey, Virginia Dyer, and Jack Nelson, and the following list of the deceased—J.L. Hopper, Matthew Wilson, Pat W. Kierbow, Janet Stogner, James Driver, Johnny Daniel, and Tom Hanson. Philip Denney closed the memorial lesson with prayer.


Philip Denney brought the class back to order by leading 84. Leaders: Karen Rollins 204, 203; Winfred Kerr 282; Cheyenne Ivey, April Watkins, and Taylor Watkins 283; Fred Eady 142; Nathan Rees 205; Laura Frey 162; Bill Dupre 154; Samuel Williams 117; April Watkins 383; Oscar McGuire 441; Sheri Taylor 440; Isaac Green 453; Emma Dean Williams and Oscar McGuire 496; Daniel Williams 457; Bert Collins 300; Robert Chambless 303; Glenda Collins 63; Karen Rollins 540; Tom Williams 350. After announcements, Daniel Williams led 146 as the closing song, and led the closing prayer.

Chairman—Daniel Williams; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Judy Chambless