Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oak Hill and Calhoun County Convention

Oak Hill Baptist Church, Oxford, Alabama

Sunday, November 11, 2018

The annual Oak Hill and Calhoun County Convention was held on the second Sunday in November at the Oak Hill Baptist Church, Oxford, Alabama. Cecil Roberts called the class to order leading 81t. The morning prayer was offered by Daniel Williams.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 403 (in memory of Stanly Edwards); Judy Chambless 29t, 37b; David Brodeur 393, 401; Winfred Kerr 414, 89; David Smead 487, 285b; Daniel Williams 170, 38b; Jack Nelson 560, 145b (in honor of Virginia Futral); Erin Fulton 385t, 400; Oscar McGuire 155 (in memory of Evelyn Harris), 229 (in honor of Cecil Roberts); Lisa Bennett 465, 530.


David Brodeur brought the class back to order leading 420. Leaders: Samuel Williams 173, 107; Karen Rollins 222 (in memory of her parents), 220.

A business meeting was held electing the same officers as follows: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—David Brodeur; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless. The class had a discussion about the Boiling Springs Convention needing a home since Mt. Zion would no longer be able to host the singing. It was voted to add the Boiling Springs Convention to the Oak Hill/Calhoun County Convention until the Boiling Springs Convention could find a new home. The name was changed to the Calhoun County Convention/Boiling Springs Convention at Oak Hill Baptist Church.

Leaders: Robert Chambless 503 (in memory of B.J. Harris, 72b (in memory of B.M. Smith); Jack Nelson “The National Anthem”; Keillor Mose 117, 76b; Richard DeLong 432, 422; Ann Simpson 388, 335; Andy Ditzler 451, 551; Erin Fulton 109, 83t; Karen Rollins and Keillor Mose 365; Samuel Williams 260; Lisa Bennett 566, 556; Oscar McGuire 350, 163b; Richard DeLong 214, 116; Andy Ditzler 52b, 73b.


David Brodeur brought the class back to order leading 354b. Leaders: David Smead 464, 421; Jack Nelson 408, 228; Winfred Kerr 549 (for Rebecca Over), 521; Keillor Mose 39b, 318; Ann Simpson 47t (in memory of Evelyn Harris), 445; Robert Chambless 494, 49b; Daniel Williams 211, 302.

After announcements, David Brodeur led 323t as the closing song. Daniel Williams offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—David Brodeur; Secretary—Judy Chambless