Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, Collinsville, Alabama

August 25-26, 2018

Saturday, August 25

The 115th annual session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at Pine Grove Church on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order by Paula Oliver leading 32t. David Hufstetler offered the opening prayer. Scot Oliver led 82t, and Wayne Reed extended a warm welcome to the class.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 42; Judy Caudle 421; Jim Aaron 47b; Henry Johnson 231; Ben Shirley 115; David Ivey 171; David Hufstetler 68b; Mary Wright 328; Ron Harper 203; Jerusha Wheeler 208; Mike Likos 159; Janice Paulk 154; Loyd Ivey 426b; Nate Green and Norma Green 283; Samuel Williams 456; Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger 314.


Scot Oliver led 145b to bring the class back to order. A business session was held and the following officers and committee members were retained to serve: Chairman—Scot Oliver; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Cindy Tanner, Shane Wootten, and David Ivey; Memorial Committee—Linda Thomas and Adrian Eldridge; Finance Committee—Rodney Ivey and Eric Blanks.

Leaders: Buell Cobb 308; J.L. Hopper 534; Winfred Kerr 483; Daniel Lee 474; Pat Temple 373; Jonathon Smith 430; Daniel Williams 36t; Isaac Green 395; Susan Cherones 349; Alex Makris 157; Adrian Eldridge 131t; Paula Oliver 500; Bea Aaron 475; Lisa Bennett 540.


The class was brought back to order by Cindy Tanner leading 155. Leaders: Nathan Rees 205; Beth Branscome 344; Michael Thompson 73t; Reba Windom 192; Jane Cannon 151; Scott DePoy 67; Katherine Eldridge 431; Louis Hughes 448t; Blake Sisemore 290; Shane Wootten 425; Linda Thomas 36b; Jeannette DePoy 375; Elene Stovall 142; Richard Mauldin 446; Brenda Dunlap 34t. Henry Johnson asked a blessing before the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session began with Rodney Ivey leading 345b. Leaders: Ed Thacker 269; David Smead 333; Layla Slaughter 354b; Ryan Nash 340; Alex Forsyth 56t; Tom George and Sarah Trumbore 111b, 411; Hubert Nall 313t; Joyce Whittington and Mary Ruth Stiefel 40, 75; Hayden Arp 103; Calum Woods 460; Phil Summerlin 97; Alanna Blanks, Arleigh Beard, and Sheryl Beard 405; Larry Brasher and Louise Brasher 513; Daniel Bearden 109; Richard Ivey 76b; Chris Ryan and Hannah Underwood 186, 213t; Cheyenne Ivey 176b; Judy Caudle 507 (in memory of Darrell Swarens); Cindy Tanner and Rodney Ivey 270.

Scot Oliver and Rodney Ivey led 45b as the closing song. Shane Wootten dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 26

The Sunday session of the Lookout Mountain Convention began with Rodney Ivey and Scot Oliver leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Loyd Ivey. Scot Oliver welcomed the class, and Scot and Rodney Ivey led 403.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 389; Daniel Lee 101b; David Hufstetler 277; Ed Thacker 291; Nate Green and Norma Green 569t; Winfred Kerr 548; Katherine Eldridge 367; Delone Cobbs 503; Boyd Scott 358; Gail Doss 163b; Mary Wright 477; Eli Hinton 186; Mary Ruth Stiefel and Joyce Whittington 36b; Isaac Green and Scott Ivey 400; Alex Makris and Renae Makris 335; Adrian Eldridge 279; Ben Shirley 175.


Rodney Ivey and Alex Forsyth led 145t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Cheyenne Ivey 222; Ryan Nash and Beth Anne Clay 196, 457; Jonathon Smith 419; Susan Cherones 56b; Pat Temple 33t; Denney Rogers and Karen Rollins 153, 345t; Loretta Whitman 129; Anna Hinton 383; Earl Ballinger 283; Henry Johnson 82b; Jeannette DePoy 385b; Mark Carroll 30b; Paula Oliver 564; Charles Stiefel 47b.


Blake Sisemore led 101t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Scott Ivey and Alex Makris 84; Brenda Dunlap 58.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Linda Thomas spoke and read the following list of names of the deceased: Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Arthur Gilmore, Glenda Hopper, Verlon Stiefel, Sue Wills, Daphene Causey, Mike Jones, Willodean Barton, Wade Higginbotham, Doug Conn, Gene Wootten, and Everett Dailey—Alabama; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Louise Holland, Daniel Evans, and Thomas Sanders—Georgia; Barbara Willard and Rodney Willard—Arizona; Mary Ellen Schrock—New York; Richard Dunlap—Colorado; Aline Summerlin—Tennessee; Ellie Revill, Tina Mingo, and Mel Marshall—Connecticut. Linda and Adrian led 475 in their memory.

Adrian Eldridge spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins. Linda read the following list of names: Tim Gregg, Don Bowen, Mary Guthery, Ruth Daniel, Velton Chafin, Ozella Blackmon, Jewel Wootten, Norma Mincey, Charlene Wallace, Chris Holley, Margaret Thacker, and Eugene Forbes. They led 418 in honor of the sick and shut-ins. Adrian closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 348b (in memory of Verlon Stiefel); Shane Wootten, Leah Angle, and Jasper Angle 59; Matt Hinton 73t; Calum Woods 113; Nathan Rees 89; Larry Ballinger 157; Erica Hinton and Lottie Hinton 187; Jane Cannon and Calum Woods 181.


The afternoon session began with Paula Oliver leading 42. Leaders: Jackie Tanner 172; Loyd Ivey 426t (in memory of Bud Oliver); Betty Shepherd and David Ivey 216; Alex Forsyth 445; Linda Thomas 546 (in memory of Doug Conn); Richard Ivey 217; Elene Stovall 189; Beth Wallace 442; Reba Windom 434 (in memory of Daphene Causey); David Light 436; Alanna Blanks, Eric Blanks, Arleigh Beard, and Bryant Beard 551; Blake Sisemore 567; John Stiefel 76b; David Ivey and Earl Ballinger 345b (in memory of S.T. Reed); Calum Woods 138t; Brenda Dunlap 197; Ben Shirley 300; Pat Temple 473; Adrian Eldridge 285t; Mary Wright 312b; Jane Cannon 382; Katherine Eldridge 351; Alex Makris 119; David Ivey and Cheyenne Ivey 384 (for Coy Ivey); Rodney Ivey 77t (in memory of Jerry Enright).

Announcements were made. Scot Oliver and Rodney Ivey led 146 as the closing song. Blake Sisemore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Scot Oliver; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Judy Caudle