Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Michiana Singing

Fairview Grange, Goshen, Indiana

Saturday, July 14, 2018

The 31st annual Michiana Singing was called to order by Matthew Lind leading 34b. John David Thacker offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were appointed: Chairman—Matthew Lind; Treasurer—James Nelson Gingerich; Arranging Officer—Will Fitzgerald; Secretary—Samuel Sommers; Chaplain: John David Thacker.

Leaders: John David Thacker 122; James Nelson Gingerich 481; Samuel Sommers 411; John Seaton 147t; Karen Bahler 472; Peter Trumbore 350; Beth Todd 52t; Brian How 107; Cecelia Kramer 148; Jan May 228; Jan Katelle 430; David Barford 224; Rochelle Lodder 344; Bill Beverly 191; Christine Guth 145t; Holly Austin and Ananias Austin 68b; Ginny Landgraf 269; Lori Graber 170.


James Nelson Gingerich called the class to order leading 159. Leaders: Steve Warner 171; Shannon Tibbs 86; Calum Woods 72b; Karen Swenson 84; David Wright 556; Barb VanderJagt 40; Eileen Ferguson 36b; Brad Bahler 192; Linda Selph 480; Tom George 289; Claudia Dean 370; Ann Miczulski 282; Jim Helke 368; Erin Fulton 213t; Nathan Zweig 456; Marian Mitchell 216; Rob Bahler 201; Catherine Brown 66.

Samuel Sommers and Tom George conducted the memorial lesson. Tom George read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Tina Mingo, Melanie Hauff, Michael Appert, Dorothy Hall, Paul Nelson, David Shipe, and Johanna Fabke. Tom led 340 for them.

Samuel Sommers read the following list of names of the deceased: Caleb Allred, Daphene Causey, Johnnie Chafin, Susie Denson, Art Gilmore, Glenda Hopper, J.A. Mosley, Vernon Stiefel, Floy Wilder, and Eloise Wootten—Alabama; Barbara Willard—Arizona; Mel Marshall—Connecticut; Florice Akin and Louise Holland—Georgia; Berkley Moore and Ann Sleeva—Illinois; Elizabeth Rechenberg and Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Charles Wells—Minnesota; Mary Ellen Schrock—New York; Donna Schleifer—North Carolina; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Dawn Ruth Nelson and Carol Sanders—Pennsylvania; Amy Dennison, Peter Nichols, and Edith Owen—Texas; Ray Gingerich—Virginia; and Julie Vea—Wisconsin. Sam led 123t in their memory, and closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Hauff 542; Brooks Chupp 101t; Suzanne Flandreau and Karin Thompson 85.


Will Fitzgerald called the class to order leading 312t. Leaders: Anne Heider 198; Henry Schuman 426b; Sarah Trumbore 112; Martha Beverly 348t; Gerry Hoffman 399b; Len VanderJagt 448t; Debbie Barford 528; Anne Missavage 362; Matthew Lind 145b; David Wright 270; Gerald Shoultz 401; Karen Swenson 299; Sarah Trumbore and Tom George 208; Calum Woods 322; Linda Selph and Will Fitzgerald 135; Beth Todd 436; Barb VanderJagt and Len VanderJagt 209; Judy Hauff and Sasha Maslanka 157; Erin Fulton 564; Claudia Dean 130; Brian How and Gerry Hoffman 547; Shannon Tibbs 277; Jan May 276; Jan Katelle 212; Suzanne Flandreau 400; Lori Graber 142; Eileen Ferguson 503; Brad Bahler, Karen Bahler, and Rob Bahler 168; Catherine Brown 535; Cecelia Kramer, Marian Mitchell, Bob Borcherding, and Anne Missavage 71; Nathan Zweig 544; Rochelle Lodder 313b; Kate Lind 56b; Ginny Landgraf and John Seaton 47b; David Barford, Debbie Barford, and Jim Helke 260; Peter Trumbore and Sarah Trumbore 312b; Anne Heider and Steve Warner 532.

Announcements were made. Matthew Lind led 62 as the closing song. John David Thatcher dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Matthew Lind; Secretary—Samuel Sommers