Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 7-8, 2018

Saturday, July 7

The 126th annual Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Cullman County Courthouse on the second Sunday and Saturday before in July. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Henry Guthery leading 59. Christopher Mann offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 49t; Tom Booth 480; Wanda Capps 142; Carolyn Thompson 542; Hazel Heinze 347; Laura Ann Russell 290; Sarah Beasley 129; Michael Darby 291; Charlotte Ehrman 486; Delone Cobbs 63; Buell Cobb 125; Amber Davis 422; Charles McCravy 143; Rebecca Over 397; Anna Grace Sipe 38b; Earl Ballinger 97; Cindy Mann 159; Sonya Sipe 36b; Daniel Bearden 346; Stephen Huffman 371; Mary Ruth Stiefel 100; Danny Creel 170.


Henry Guthery called the class back together by leading 182. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 224; Butch White 535; David Carlton 228. A business session was held and it was decided all existing officers would remain in their current capacity. The officers are as follows: Chairman—Henry Guthery, Sr.; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Chaplains—Jim Aaron and Butch White; Finance Committee—Bea Aaron; Arranging Committee—Carolyn Thompson; Secretary—Nicholas Thompson.

Leaders: Jada Seymour and Charles McCravy 87; Brenda Chafin 276; Buell Cobb 127 (in memory of Roscoe Knight); Ron Cotton and “Smiley” Randy Robbins 47b, 448t; Christopher Mann 282; Becky Briggs 335; Craig Holmes 178; Nancy Phillips 333.


Richard Mauldin brought the class back together leading 72b and 446. Leaders: Marlin Beasley and Juanita Beasley 460, 461; Richard Jesse 159; Jeannie Guthery 68b; Mary Huffman 327; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 31t, 31b (by request). Christopher Mann asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Henry Guthery led 240 to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Joyce Morton 313t; Glenn Keeton 349; Tom Booth 441; Wanda Capps and Brenda Chafin 203, 271t; Carolyn Thompson 455; Hazel Heinze 496; Laura Ann Russell 318; Sarah Beasley 354b; Michael Darby 123t; Charlotte Ehrman 157; Delone Cobbs 354t; Amber Davis 192; Charles McCravy 428; Rebecca Over 39t; Anna Grace Sipe, Delone Cobbs, Christopher Mann, and Sonya Sipe 32t; Daniel Bearden 483; Stephen Huffman 500; Mary Ruth Stiefel 373; Danny Creel and Linda Booth 269; Larry Ballinger 158; Butch White 278t; David Carlton 278b; Christopher Mann 358; Brenda Chafin 426t; Craig Holmes 323b; Nancy Phillips 117; Jeannie Guthery 452. Following announcements, Christopher Mann offered the closing prayer. Henry Guthery and Richard Mauldin led 499 (in memory of Minnie Pittman Crofton and at the request of Donna Pittman).

Sunday, July 8

The Sunday session of the Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Henry Guthery leading 32t. Richard Mauldin offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Henry Guthery 112; Richard Mauldin 43; Nicholas Thompson 138t; Carolyn Thompson 53; Lisa Geist 269; Karen Clark 70t; Charlotte Ehrman 479, 340; Ann Jett 512, 498; Aldo Ceresa 475, 472; Theresa Westmoreland 200; Nancy Phillips 277, 312b; Chris Ballinger 44, 344; Linda Sides 106, 215.


Larry Ballinger brought the class back to order by leading 276 and 528. Leaders: Harden Arp 166, 331; Hazel Heinze 99, 147t; Susan Cherones 566, 349; Don Clark 41; Rebecca Over and Dick Nail 155, 436 (for Lucy Heidorn); Linda Booth 196, 489 (in memory of Caleb Allred); Katlin Bailey 480, 167; David Jackson 37b, 39b; Amber Davis 395, 391; Marlin Beasley 406, 336; Loretta Whitman 335, 288; Daniel Lee 410t, 28t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Nicholas Thompson reading the list of names of the sick and shut-ins. He led 81t. Carolyn Thompson read the list of names of the deceased and led 481. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Butch White.

Leaders: Joyce Morton 47t; Beth Ann Clay 378t, 121; Buell Cobb 128, 82b. Butch White offered thanks for our meal.


Henry Guthery brought the class back together by leading 548. Leaders: Tom Booth 143, 523; Sarah Beasley, Marlin Beasley, and Becky Briggs 146, 318 (in memory of Emma Keeton Beasley); Alex Forsyth 285b, 365; Elene Stovall 411, 430; Blake Sisemore 208, 550; Butch White 86, 547; Shelby Castillo 67, 228; Chuck Howell 127, 373; Dick Nail 421, 314; Craig Holmes 66, 369; Sister Magdelena, Sister Elizabeth, and Freddie Briggs 388, 45t; Jeannie Guthery 452, 63; Seth Holloway 236, 274t; Christopher Mann 114, 68b; Carolyn Thompson and Nicholas Thompson 507 (in memory of Josie Hyde and Darrell Swarens); Sonya Sipe and Anna Grace Sipe 49b, 40; Jennifer Cogle, Brandon Cogle, and Matthew Cogle 39t, 159; Henry Guthery, Paul Cox, Linda Cox, and Stone Cox 72b. After announcements were made, Henry Guthery and Richard Mauldin led 120 as the closing song. Butch White offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Henry Guthery, Sr.; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Nicholas Thompson