Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of West Georgia

Carrollton, Georgia

Sunday, February 18, 2018

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at the University of West Georgia, Food Services Building (Z-6), on the third Sunday in February was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Nathan Rees, who welcomed everyone. Nathan Rees led 448b (in memory of B.M. Smith). Philip Denney offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Nathan Rees 374; Philip Denney 535, 448t; Philip Langley 48t, 89; David Brodeur 274b, 229; Winfred Kerr 516 (in memory of Hugh McGraw) 36b; Jan House 142, 143 (in honor of Myron’s and Jan’s 30th wedding anniversary); Judy Chambless 517 (in memory of Hugh McGraw) 549; Ray Rechenberg 277, 203; Myron House 227, 113; Lisa Webb 47b, 222; Karen Rollins 446, 445; Nathan Rees and seven university students 128.


The class was called back together by Philip Langley, who led 37b. A business session was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Nathan Rees; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—David Brodeur.

Leaders: David Smead 378b, 426t; Donna Duke 276, 300; Oscar McGuire 336, 441; John Plunkett 524; Henry Johnson 88t, 289; Fynn Titford-Mock 73t, 150; Richard DeLong 129, 74t; Laura Frye 178, 358.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Nicholas Thompson. He noted that in the short time he has been singing, he has begun to notice that people he knows and cares about are being added to the memorial lists (of note, Hugh McGraw attended this singing last year, and the class even sang Happy Birthday for him—Sec’y). Nicholas read the lists names of the sick and shut-ins and the deceased. He led 213t. Philip Denney offered a prayer of dedication for the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Andy Ditzler 98, 465; Lisa Bennett 404, 406. Henry Johnson offered grace before the meal.


The class was called back to order by Philip Denney leading 120. Leaders: Judy Mincey 464; Glenda Collins and Barbara Brooks 35; Lisa Bennett and Sue Tarshis 299; Cheri Taylor 224; Nicholas Thompson 217; Fynn Titford-Mock 280; Cecil Roberts 285t; Jenna Frye 408; Robert Chambless 49t; Ray Rechenberg 29t; Malinda Snow 468; Gene Duke 282; Daniel Williams 545, 556; Judy Mincey 213b; Henry Johnson 82b; Myron House and Jan House 155; Jenna Frye, Cheri Taylor, Laura Frye, and Lisa Webb 159; Andy Ditzler 268; Nicholas Thompson 269. Announcements were made.

Nathan Rees, Philip Denney, and David Brodeur led 77b as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Nathan Rees; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—David Brodeur