Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church

Fayette County, Alabama

Sunday, June 25, 2017

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in June was called to order by Larry Ballinger leading 31b. Earl Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

After welcoming comments, the class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope; Arranging Committee—Buddy Ballinger and David Ballinger.

Leaders: Larry Ballinger 120 (in memory of Gravis Ballinger); Teresa Hope 384; Amanda Hardiman 68b; Linton Ballinger and Sherry Stover 299; Edwin Ballinger 300; Leslie Brady, Patrick Brady, and Ciara Brady 124; Janet Litton 172; Nicholas Holmes 37b; Loyd Ivey 454; Darrell Swarens 208; Linda Sides 215; Jimmy Ballinger 84; Ken Tate 148; Beverly Coates 421; Judy Whiting 521; Earl Ballinger and Amelia O’dell 100; Don Jones 276; Ann Jett 119 (by request for Velton and Johnnie Chafin); Jerry Kitchens 108t; Arlon Gardner 285t (in memory of his parents); Amber Davis and Paula Springfield 380, 112 (in memory of Gravis Ballinger); Mike Hankins 168; Beth Wallace 442; Rodney Ivey 440; Lauren Allen 323b; Buddy Ballinger, Jill Porter, Ella Porter, Eady Porter, Sam West, and Aiden West 45t.


Chris Ballinger, Katie Ballinger, and Lauren Ballinger led 31t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Don Keeton 491; David Brodeur 182; Tory Colvin and Anna Eashman 155; David White 405; Chris Nicholson 477 (in memory of his Uncle Claude); Albert Humber 565; Lilly Underwood and Loyd Ivey 426t; Phillip Ballinger 373; Isabella Keeton 282; Charles Humber 480; Bruce Coates 503; David Killingsworth 455; Dorothea Maynard 349 (for Marlin Beasley); Danny Creel 485; Chris Brown 392.


David Ballinger led 110 (in memory of Gravis Ballinger) to bring the class back together. Leaders: Joanna Bennett 532; Miranda Steed 186; Matthew Keeton 235; Andy Ditzler 218; Adrian Eldridge and David Ivey 292; Betty Baccus and Lily Beth 145b; Justin Bowen 298; Max Berueffy 546; Glenn Keeton 475 (for his mom); Elene Stovall 382 (in memory of Roston White); Tom Booth 489; Linda Thomas 430; Nathan Stewart 304; Reba Windom 542.


The afternoon session began with Lomax Ballinger leading 144. Leaders: Judy Caudle 418; Leon Ballinger 313b; Mary Blake Thompson 302; Philip Denney 143; Ainslie Allen 196; Richard Mauldin 43; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 377; Jack Pate 569b; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 411; Winfred Kerr 516; Nate Green and Norma Green 322; Wayne Baines 34b (in memory of Gravis Ballinger); Nicholas Thompson 192; Christy Allen 428; Eugene Forbes 189; Darlene Reynolds 145t; Cheyenne Ivey 142; Mark Davis 474; Bentley Rose 354b; Henry McGuire 556; Cassie Allen 234; Faye Donaldson 78; David Ivey 444 (in memory of Toney and Lavoy Smith); Lisa Geist 528; Chris Ballinger 499; Rickey Beasley 30b; Chuck Howell 32t; John Beasley 335; David Ivey and Rodney Ivey 222 (for Coy Ivey); Larry Ballinger 551 (for Johnnie Ballinger).

Announcements were made. Larry Ballinger led 323t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Buddy Ballinger, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Chris Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope