Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Auburn Sacred Harp Singing

St. Dunstan’s Episcopal Church, Auburn, Alabama

Saturday, January 14, 2017

The 14th annual Auburn Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in January. The class was called to order by Robert Chambless leading 369. Father John Wells Warren offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Karen Clark 70t; Lisa Bennett 276; Karen Rollins 106; Jim Aaron 47b; Chris Parris 206; Nicholas Thompson 564; Eugene Forbes 434; Brandon Acton 168; Oscar McGuire 485; Lisa Geist 492; Loyd Ivey 47t; Theresa Westmoreland and Carly Westmoreland 39t; Tom George 138t; Rodney Ivey 282 (for Gary Trentham); Alice Sundberg 275t; Michael Panhorst 159; Bea Aaron 456.


Robert Chambless brought the class back to order leading 84. Leaders: Dennis George 498; Taylor Watkins 146; Andy Ditzler 372; Karis Askin 504; Earl Ballinger 200; Jim Carnes 203; April Watkins 101t; Ken Sundberg 298; Stanley Smith 299; Bill Hogan 297.

Karen Rollins conducted the memorial lesson leading 348b in memory of the following deceased: B.M. Smith, Earlis McGraw, and Geneva Prichard—Georgia; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Betty Jo Bennett—South Carolina; Edd Bass, Bernice Harvey, S.T. Reed, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Steve Adams, Kermit Adams, Edna Ruth Phillips, Elsie Moon, Craig Allen Hensarling, and the Core family of Opelika—Alabama. The names of the sick and shut-ins remembered are as follows: Michael Appert, Ed Thacker, Margaret Thacker, Susan Harcrow, William Futral, Virginia Futral, Pauline Oliver, JD Morris, and Betty Culver. Adam Brasich offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Jacob Acton 196; Justin Bowen 192; David Ivey 134; Winfred Kerr 225t (for Rebecca Over); Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten 314; Adam Brasich 125; Reba Windom 546; Isaac Green 426b; Henry Johnson 52b; Chris Ballinger 215; Bobby Watkins 480; Larry Ballinger 551; David Brodeur 336; Hubert Nall 475; Nicholas Holmes 56t; Philip Denney 142; Cheyenne Ivey 371; Jack Nelson and Taylor Kennedy 318. Adam Brasich offered the blessing before lunch.


Karen Clark brought the class back to order leading 32t. Leaders: Daniel Williams 74t; Kathy Williams 234.

The following officers were elected for next year: Chairman—Carly Westmoreland; Vice Chairman—Elizabeth Gentry.

Leaders: David Smead 359; Wendy Anderson 98; Judy Mincey 169; Jenny Acton 340; Elizabeth Gentry, David Ivey, and Karen Clark 76b; Esther Williams 148; Jasmine Anderson and Wendy Anderson 100; Robby Anderson 457 (for William Futral); Justin Bowen 309; Adam Brasich 399b; Jenny Acton, Brandon Acton, and Jacob Acton 212; the Ballinger family 120 (for Uncle Gravis); Nicholas Thompson 392; Ken Sundberg and Alice Sundberg 59; Tom George and Dennis George 455; Stanley Smith and Bill Hogan 349; Andy Ditzler and Judy Mincey 538; Bobby Watkins, April Watkins, and Taylor Watkins 512; the Ivey family 283; Eugene Forbes and Bea Aaron 445; Daniel Williams, Esther Williams, and Kathy Williams 208; David Brodeur, Lisa Bennett and Elizabeth Gentry 110; Henry Johnson, Theresa Westmoreland, and Carly Westmoreland 460; David Smead, Isaac Green, Chris Parris, and Oscar McGuire 69t; Karen Clark and Jim Carnes 474; Jack Nelson, Hubert Nall, and Winfred Kerr 313t; Taylor Kennedy, Wendy Anderson, and Jasmine Anderson 145b.

After announcements, Robert Chambless and Father John Wells Warren led 56t as the closing song. Father John Wells Warren offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Robert Chambless; Vice Chairman—Karen Clark; Secretary—Lisa Bennett