Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Missouri State Convention

St. John United Church of Christ, Pinckney, Missouri

March 12-13, 2016

Saturday, March 12

The 31st annual session of the Missouri State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. at St. John United Church of Christ by Marcus Whitman. John Huffman offered the opening prayer.

The convention officers were: Chairman—Marcus Whitman; Secretary—Dave Ressler; Arranging Officer—Presley Barker; Finance Committee—Roberta Strauss and Holly Powell; Memorial Committee—Presley Barker and Darrell Swarens. Song selections were from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, and The Missouri Harmony, 2005 Edition.

Leaders: Stephen Huffman 73t; Roberta Strauss 203; Les Sontag 178; Karen Isbell 384; Anne Heider 192; James Page and Carole Briggs 45 (MH); Holly Powell 564; Mary Huffman 34t; Tommy Schultz 497; Bill Rintz 268; Katie Dohman 40; Lori Graber 56 (MH); Shirley Figura 550; Bill Caldwell 240; Pattie Doss 532; Steve Warner 131 (MH); Gary Huffman and Marilyn Huffman 535; Stuart Ivey 328; Peggy Brayfield 39 (MH).


Presley Barker led 276 to bring the class together. Leaders: Jim Herr 377; Paul Wyatt 476; Billy See and Vickie See 163b; Ted Mercer 71 (MH); Matt Schoemaker 112; Cory Winters 13 (MH); Eddie Mash 78 (MH); Jo Dell Albi 109 (MH); Darrell Swarens 145 (MH); Wendy Hoffmann 172 (MH); Anne Drexler 335; Tullaia Powell 504; Dave Ressler 175 (MH); Lisa Bulawsky 385t; Marian Mitchell 267; Aubrey Hemminger 270; Johanna Fabke 472; Anna Dohman 365; Penny Kujawinski 228.


John Huffman led 503 to bring the class together. Leaders: Anne Missavage 127 (MH); John Uhlemann 70 (MH); Janell Draper 315; Matt Ream and Sarah Ream 63; Kevin Bullock 48 (MH); Christine Stevens 496; David Cassenheiser 448t; Clara Herr 300; Cecelia Kramer 464. The class sang 164 (MH) as the blessing for the noon meal.


Barbara Uhlemann led 299 to bring the class together. Leaders: Donnie Simmet 29t; Carla Bermudez 117; Matt Bell 85 (MH); Gail Doss 148; Barbara Chopin 313b; Judy Hauff 148 (MH); Paul Figura “St. Louis”; Reba Windom 142; David Ivey 553; Johanna Sims 455; Nancy Price 396 (for Janelle Davis); Tim Morton 417; Debbie Barford 218; Judy Mincey 75 (MH); Jan Ketelle 216 (for Melanie Hauff); Anna Pfau 269.


Evangeline Schultz led 106 to bring the class together. Leaders: Lou Kujawinski 131t; Logan Green 113 (MH); Caroline Brown 86; David Barford 332; John Seaton 180; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 466; Dalton Green 277; Jenny Whitman 236; Nate Zweig 64 (MH); John Hoerr 186; Tim van Engeln 547; Dale Dryer 138 (MH) (for Mary Owen Grayson); William Price 312t; Patti Sontag 47b; Jonathon Smith 440; Seth Wenger 154; Becky Browne 362; Coy Ivey and family 465 (CB). Announcements were made. John Huffman closed the day with a prayer.

Sunday, March 13

Marcus Whitman opened the day with a prayer. Leaders: Roberta Strauss 124 (MH); Karen Isbell 313t; Lori Graber 2 (MH); Jim Herr 176t (in honor of the children present); Bill Caldwell 135 (MH); Bob Borcherding and Anne Missavage 176b; Nate Zweig 26 (MH); David Ivey 19 (MH); Judy Hauff 68 (MH); Clara Herr 209; Tim Morton 394; Debbie Barford 192; Ted Mercer 74 (MH); Jo Dell Albi 84 (MH); Michele Rain 551; Marian Mitchell 189.


Donnie Simmet led 32t to bring the class together. Leaders: Jan Ketelle 89 (MH); William Price 50t; Cecelia Kramer 127 (MH); John Seaton 47t; Kevin Bullock 373; Eddie Mash 151 (MH); David Cassenheiser 82t; Avery Powell 56t; Dayle Dryer 501; Christine Stevens 195; Aubrey Hemminger 344; Johanna Fabke 505; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 569t; Jim Page 139 (MH); Janell Draper 432; Steve Warner 171; Judy Mincey 177 (MH); Cory Winters 182.


Paul Wyatt led 297 to bring the class together. Leaders: Billy See and Vickie See 308; Gail Doss 573; Anne Heider 147 (MH).

Presley Barker read the names from the list of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Jeannette DePoy, Glenda Walton, Jean Hollingsworth, Dave Hofmann, Julie Vea, Laura Densmore, Margaret Connelly, Janelle Davis, Lila Mitchell, Richard Sublet, Dan Brittain, Berkley Moore, Melanie Hauff, Charlie Derleth, John Ramsey, Lois Lee Ramsey, Susan Harcrow, Dickson Stauffer, Cathy Oss Tyler, Mary Owen Grayson, and Norma Green. He asked that we also remember those among us who either suffer with mental health issues, or care for or have responsibility for family and friends struggling with depression, addiction, cognitive decline, divorce, and all manner of family, work, or financial stress. Presley led 472.

Darrell Swarens read the names from the list of the deceased as follows: Loraine Bayer, Joe Fothergill, Bud Schneider, Bob Scorgie, James Hunter, Leroy “Roy” Wyatt, Jerry Yadamec, George Easley, George Garner, Oliver Kindig-Stokes, Evelyn Harris, Fred Killingsworth, Fran Sontag, and Janice Postman. Darrell spoke of the importance of the idea of home, and how, in this world, being in the hollow square was being home, and how we look forward to our home above, singing with all those from this community who have gone before us. Darrell led 208. Marcus Whitman closed the memorial lesson with a prayer, and led 26 (MH).

Leaders: David Barford 532; Reba Windom 542; Anna Pfau 522.


Tommy Schultz led 89 to bring the class together. Leaders: Nancy Price 498; Johanna Sims 175; Paul Figura “Webster Groves”; Shirley Figura and grandchildren, Matthew and Abigail 299; Peggy Brayfield 178 (MH); Penny Kujawinski 421; Wendy Hoffman 159 (MH); Jubal Schultz 565; John Markovitz 278t; Jedediah Schultz 313b; Dave Ressler 536; Les Sontag 122; Barbara Chopin 327; Anne Drexler 277; Becky Browne 211; John Uhlemann 212; David Lloyd 56b.


Lisa Bulawsky led 441 to bring the class together. Leaders: Presley Barker 481; Patti Sontag 45 (MH); Bill Rintz 276; Tullaia Powell 361; Lou Kujawinski 475; Donna Schultz and Tommy Schultz 49b; Barbara Uhlemann 62 (MH); Holly Powell 560; Ryan Hill 338; Jim Herr and Clara Herr 546; Aubrey Hemminger 503; Anne Heider 155; Peggy Brayfield 22 (MH); Anna Pfau 500; Roberta Strauss and Shirley Figura 68b (for Charlie Derleth); Emerald O’Brien and the Columbia singers 107.

The arranging committee reported that eighty-one songs were led both Saturday and Sunday. There were eighteen states and one province represented. Announcements were made. The class sang 347 as the closing song. Marcus Whitman offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Marcus Whitman; Secretary—Dave Ressler