Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

Jasper, Alabama

Saturday, July 19, 1997

The eighty-third session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Convention met July 19th at Zions Rest Primitive Baptist Church. The class was called to order by Velton Chafin leading song on page 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Charles Kitchens.

It was duly moved and seconded to enter into a business session to elect officers. Officers elected or appointed were: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate; Arranging Committee—Cecil Sanders; Memorial—Brenda Merritt and Cynthia Franklin.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 39b, 35; Gene Wakefield 102, 103; A. C. McGough 30t, 454; A. A. Malone 112, 142; Glenn Keeton 225t, 503; Coy Ivey 56t, 63; J. A. Mosley 45t, 75; Willodean Barton 314, 290; Lena Wakefield 475, 498; Brenda Merritt 499b, 285t; Joshua Keeton 268; Mae Conwill 313t, 300; Patricia Mauldin 146; Cassandra Franklin 130, 162; Madison Jett 87.


The class was reassembled by Velton Chafin leading song on page 57. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 270, 299; Richard Mauldin 143, 36b; John Merritt 336, 294; Cynthia Franklin 410t; Cynthia Franklin and Chistie Allen 398; Ivalene Donaldson 81t, 73t; Thurman Nall 68b, 523; Travis Keeton 400, 37b; Charles Kitchens 205, 122; Margaret Keeton 78; Elmer Conwill 500; Ila Ingle 470, 530; Roma Rice 186, 187.


The class resumed singing with Velton Chafin leading song on page 296. Leaders: Clarence McCool 349, 428; Bradley Allen 546; Jonathan Blakeley 77t, 67; Alice Mosley 127, 282.

At this time the memorial was held. Cynthia Franklin read Ecclesiastes 3:2 and spoke about a time to be born and a time to die. Brenda Merritt led song on page 47b, and Cynthia Franklin led songs on pages 123t and 274 (t? b?) (by request) for the following deceased: Tommy Creel, Hazel Cagle, Ed Latham, Elder Clydus Moon, Dillie Harris, Otis Nall, Merle Etheridge, Tom Harper, Elder Bernard Moon, Buddy Tindal, Lola Myrtle Roberson, Jimmy Causey, Willia Mae Holt, A. L. Beckett, J. T. Conn, J. L. Abrams and Velma Morrow. Charles Kitchens closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Edith Tate 436, 532; Don Clark 123b, 224; Regina Clark 148, 426t; Ada Godsey 34t; Loretta Price 480, 176b; Regina Glass 215, 271 (t? b?); Chistie Allen 377, 475; Mary Gardner 385b; Tommie Spurlock 30b, 565; Bill Farris 82t, 87; Agnes Farris 418, 119; Gladys Bonds 32t, 47b; Cecil Sanders 340.

After announcements were made, the class was dismissed with prayer by Glenn Keeton.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate.