Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day

Seacourt Hall, Botley, Oxford, United Kingdom

Saturday, June 13, 2015

The 17th annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in June due to a family wedding taking place on the usual day. Sheila Girling Macadam called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 34b. Steve Marini offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Secretary—Mary Welch; Arranging Committee—Samantha Cole and Werner Ullah; Pitchers—Rachel Jordan, Michael Walker and Matthew Parkinson; Treasurer—Jenny Shufflebotham.

Steve Marini, after a short introduction to shape notation, led a singing school on the works of early twentieth-century composers in the Sacred Harp, using 28t, 426t, 318, and 532.

Leaders: Edwin Macadam 472; Rachel Jordan 52t; Steve Welch 147b; Sue Lanfear 40; Colin Monson 26; Wendy Stone 504; Phil Owen 29t; Aaron Khan 448t; Steve Fletcher 53; Edmund Richardson 569t; Leilai Immel 494; Ian West 182; Nick Hall 515; Barry Parsons 116; Teresa Maguire 445; Steve Marini 178; Samantha Cole 73t; Matthew Parkinson 411.


Sheila Girling Macadam brought the class back to order leading 39t. Leaders: Michael Walker 506; Stephen Biggs 276; Duane Nassis 480; Edwin Macadam 550; Rachel Jordan 391; Steve Welch 489; Sue Lanfear 107; Colin Monson 86; Wendy Stone 299; Phil Owen 203; Edmund Richardson 571; Leilai Immel 142; Nick Hall 450; Barry Parsons 432; Ian West 111b; Aaron Khan 455; Teresa Maguire 111t; Matthew Parkinson 74t; Steve Fletcher 216; Stephen Biggs 228; Steve Marini 217; Duane Nassis 172; Julie Russell 122; Michael Walker 230; Julie Russell 33b; Sheila Girling Macadam 377; Rachel Jordan 200; Steve Welch 50b; Sue Lanfear 159; Colin Monson 277; Wendy Stone 82t. Julie Heptinstall offered thanks for the midday meal.


The afternoon session commenced with Phil Owen leading 102. Leaders: Colin Monson 528; Leilai Immel 77t. Michael Walker led ‘Harmony’ by Amariah Hall from the Columbian Harmony.

Rev. David Chantler conducted the memorial lesson, reflecting on the loss of loved ones in our landscapes of memory. We remembered Flo Charles and Evelyn Mary Quine—Wales; Edith May Wiggins—Lewes; Olga Dellaway—St. Thibéry, France; Patricia Price—Sutton; Peter Linwood—Florida, USA; Harold Pigott—Barking; Drew Logan—Belfast, Ireland; Cally Robson—Oxford; Bill Kerridge and Rina Rogers—London; Jean Wyatt—Wendover; Frances Goodwin and Denis Thom—Prestwood; Judith Malina—New York, USA; Barbara Conrod and Eric Conrod—Canada; Jean Ritchie—Kentucky, USA; Alexis Strawn—Nottingham; Danny Arms—North Carolina, USA; Evelyn Harris—Alabama, USA; Marjorie Louise Franks—Chandlers Ford; Geoff Thorp—Maulden; George Reed—Bedford; Richard Povall—Huddersfield; and Christopher Baxtar—Lechlade. Edwin Macadam led 420 in their memory.

In the sick and housebound lesson, Sue Lanfear drew our attention to the benefit of music, particularly for the children with severe learning difficulties whom she taught. The following sick and housebound were remembered: Paula Mogensen, Liz Brooker, Gill Bicknell, Sarah Houseman, Ron Green and Kath Mountstephen. Sue led 77t in their honor. Rev. David Chantler closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Duane Nassis 34t; Teresa Maguire 565; Ian West 101b; Edwin Macadam 444; Matthew Parkinson 400; Steve Fletcher 189; Michael Walker 380; Nick Hall 454; Julie Russell 163b; Steve Marini 254.


The final session commenced with Barry Parsons leading 436. Leaders: Aaron Khan 95; Stephen Biggs and Edwin Macadam 236; Rachel Jordan and Nick Hall 474; Bristol singers 207; London singers 145t; Stephen Biggs, Steve Fletcher, and Steve Welch 155; Sue Lanfear 282; Aaron Khan 547; Wendy Stone 47b; Julie Russell 47t; Steve Marini 198.

The Secretary reported 43 singers had registered from the UK, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Hong Kong, and 83 songs had been led. The Treasurer reported all the day’s expenses had been met. Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam thanked all the officers, committees and anyone else who helped in any way to make this singing a success.

Announcements were made. It was noted that the 18th Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day will take place on Saturday, June 25, 2016, (Saturday before the fourth Sunday in June) reverting to its original day since 1999.

Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam led 347 as the closing song. Martin Williams offered the closing prayer, after which the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Secretary—Mary Welch