Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Day Singing

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, June 7, 2015

The annual Liberty Decoration Day Sacred Harp Singing was held at Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama, on the first Sunday in June. The class was called to order by David Ivey leading 82t. Eddie Mash offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were previously elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey; Arranging Committee—Richard Ivey and Scott Ivey.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 59; Cheyenne Ivey 128; Nate Green and Norma Green 448t; Jackie Tanner 47t; Rex Wilks 480; Loyd Ivey 89; Loretta Smith 348b; Garrett Morton and Josh Collier 268; Margaret Thacker 155; Phil Summerlin 565; Larry Ballinger 276; Hayden Wootten 42; Susan Cherones 460; Paul Figura 154 (in memory of deceased soldiers); Geraldine Sharpton 299; Daniel Lee 225t; Ann Fox 49t; Darrell Swarens 72b; Sarah Wootten 319; Ed Thacker 31b (in memory of Evelyn Harris); Sally House 503; Linton Ballinger 67; Paula Oliver 217; Dennis George 213t; Justin Bowen 146; Deb Morton and Tony Ivey 477; Karen Ivey and Allison Whitener 182; Jamey Wootten 99; Mary Ruth Stiefel 129.

The class gathered at the cemetery. Leaders: Shane Wootten 340, 500 (CB); Tony Ivey, Scott Ivey, and Sylvia Ivey 511b (CB); Rodney Ivey and Loyd Ivey 45t.


David Ivey led 220 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Aaron Wootten 39t; Ann Jett and Cindy Tanner 269; Lomax Ballinger 430; David Ivey and Rodney Ivey 571 (CB) (for Aunt Toby); Angela Myers 421; Marty Wootten and Anna Wootten 475; Alex Makris and Norma Green 222; Isaac Lloyd, Gideon Lloyd, and Ezra Lloyd 476; Shirley Figura 403; Trevor Rundell 479; Lori Graber 548; Lisa Ballinger 228; Barrett Patton 61; Linda Thomas 32t; Jared Wootten 111b; Joseph Dunn 85; Sandy Ivey and Breanna Wells 201; Henry Johnson 398; Susan Harcrow 411; Myra Dalton and Joanna Nicovich 400; Gayle Doss 137 (CB); Shane Wootten and Rodney 358 (by request). Ed Thacker offered the blessing before the meal at the table.


The afternoon session began with Richard Ivey and Malik McCutcheon leading 317. Leaders: Eddie Mash 512; Judy Caudle 192 (for Nicholas Thompson); Mike Richards 426b; Kelly House 542; David Brodeur 442; Linda Shea 328; Betty Shepherd, Garrett Morton, and Josh Collier 216; Kelsey Ivey 500; Drew McGuire 419; Karen Freund 499 (in memory of Jerry Enright); Matthew Small 532; Reba Windom and Shelby Castillo 436 (in memory of Lacy family members); Scott Ivey, Jared Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Hayden Wootten 445 (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Stephanie Fida 498; Tom George 106; Sarah Jenkins 171; Terry Wootten 176t; Elene Stovall 142; Levon Wootten and Marty Wootten 441; Karen Travis and Rex Wilks 29t; Joel Jenkins 496; Eloise Wootten 454; Jackie Tanner, Edward Tanner, and Tammy Jett 73t; Loyd Ivey, Marion Biddle, Will Ivey, Lilly Underwood, Theresa Bethune, Candace Sisemore, Callie Watkins, Adam Biddle, Louise Ivey, and Hallie Sisemore 424; Coy Ivey, Norman Greeson, Rex Wilks, Eloise Wootten, Linda Patton, Norma Green, and Loyd Ivey 465 (CB), 384.

David Ivey led 56t as the closing song. Edward Tanner offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey