Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jack Smith Memorial Singing

Oakhurst Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Monday, May 25, 2015

The 15th annual Jack Smith Memorial Singing was held on Memorial Day at Oakhurst Baptist Church in Decatur, Georgia. After commending Jack Smith’s valuable work in promoting Sacred Harp singing, John Plunkett led 59. Jim Neal offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: John Plunkett 32t; Malinda Snow 66, 146 (in memory of Thomas Snow); Andy Morse 472, 47t (in memory of Hale Hall); Jim Neal 145t, 339 (for Betty Fincher); Ann Gray 440, 142; Debora Grosse 312b, 203; Susan Firestone 178 (for Capers Limehouse), 475 (for those killed, injured, or displaced in Burundi’s civil war); George Burnette 129 (in memory of Mamie Burnette), 101t; Carol Duvall 48t, 207 (for Lee J. Miley).


Singing resumed with John Plunkett leading 31b. Leaders: Kathy Smith 155, 300; Jason Stanford 318, 225t; Matt Bell 379, 165; Walker Kleinfelter and Susan Kleinfelter 192 (in memory of David Buchanan), 147t; David Smead 86, 110; Janet Wuichet 45t, 63; Nathan Holmes 324, 284; Martin Hardin 452, 99; Lisa Bennett 344 (in honor of Ireland), 357 (?) (in honor of the United States); J.P. Phillips and Elise Phillips 128 (for Erin Mills, in the Middle East working with refugees, and with thanks to Oakhurst Baptist Church for use of its space). John Kelso asked the blessing before the noon meal.


John Plunkett called the class to order leading 107. Leaders: Helen Bryson 27 (in memory of Wendy Keller), 299; Guy Bankes 182, 384; Jessica Kelso 326; Jessica Kelso, John Kelso, and Harlan Kelso 457; Henry Slack 117, 181 (in memory of Kathy Short); Carol Buche 77t, 547 (in memory of Wilma Armstrong); Jesse Karlsberg 32b (for Roni Karlsberg), 240; Laura Densmore 311, 522; Erica Hinton 37b, 349; Martha Ann Stegar 84, 85; Olivia Thomas, Doc Lawrence, and John Plunkett 81t.


Malinda Snow led 374. Leaders: Bob Goodman 479, 145b; Laura Akerman 549 (for Susan Pinkard), 543; Matt Hinton 227, 228; Ellen Culpepper 112, 30t; Lauren Bock 312b, 126; Guy Bankes 504; Laura Densmore 315 (for Susan Bingham); Carol Buche 335; Matt Bell 304; Carol Duvall and Lauren Bock 523. By consensus, the class agreed to keep the same officers.

After announcements, Andy Morse offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Joan Durdin; Secretary—Malinda Snow