Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Missouri State Convention

St. John’s United Church of Christ, Pinckney, Missouri

March 7-8, 2015

Saturday, March 7

The 30th annual session of the Missouri State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. at St. John’s United Church of Christ by Wendy Hofmann leading 148. Presley Barker offered the opening prayer.

The convention officers previously elected or appointed are as follows: Chairman—Wendy Hofmann; Secretary—Dave Ressler; Arranging Committee—Presley Barker and Daniel Gray; Finance Officer—Roberta Strauss; Memorial Committee—Jan Ketelle and Terry Hogg. Song selections were from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition and The Missouri Harmony, 2005.

Leaders: Barbara Uhlemann 66; Dave Ressler 203; Hollie Powell 163t; John Huffman 189; Anne Drexler 87; Karen Isbell 56b; Jo Dell Albi 65; Pattie Doss 344; Tommy Schulz 31t; Carla Bermudez 132 (MH); Stephen Huffman 297; Ted Mercer 71 (MH); Patti Sontag 162 (MH); Aldo Ceresa 472; Barb Patterson 153 (MH); Mort Whitman 143; Evangeline Schultz 383; Nathan Berry 135 (MH); Mark Bruns 475.


Penny Kujawinski called the class to order leading 128. Leaders: Tullaia Powell 300; Mary Huffman “Hearne”; John Seaton 180 (MH); Jedidiah Schultz 284; Jan Ketelle 436; Ryan Hill 84; Cherry Hinderberger 312b; Paul Landskroener 218; Jubal Schultz 67; Donnie Simmet 421; Terry Hogg 147 (MH); Eleanor Haase 352; Jairus Schultz 59; Cory Winters 182; Lori Graber 174 (MH); Bill Caldwell 138 (MH); Tamara Harris 160 (MH); Jonathon Smith 172.


Les Sontag led 178 to call the class together. Leaders: Rhonda Machlan 335; Melody Bringe 24 (MH); Daniel Bearden 77 (MH); Dave Barford 224; Meg Stauffer 49b; Darrell Swarens 222; Janelle Davis 276; James Page 45 (MH); Lisa Grayson 177 (MH); Theophilus Schultz 40. The class sang “Table Hymn” as the blessing before the noon meal.


Pattie Doss called the next session together by leading 76b. Leaders: Marcus Whitman 58; Dick Patterson 144 (MH); Becky Browne 75 (MH); LaMar Schlabach 47b; Paul Figura 127 (MH); Roberta Strauss 269; Nate Zweig 150 (MH); Cindy Burlison 117; John Uhlemann 564; Stephanie Argo 114; Dan Brittain 125 (MH); Jenny Whitman 86; Melanie Hauff 216; Tim Van Englen 503; AnnaLeigh Smith 410b; Charles Derleth 39t; Julie Thompson 163b.


Karen Isbell began this session by leading 270. Leaders: David Lloyd 142; Shirley Figura 187; Elizabeth Schultz 277; Jean Neely 547; William Shetter 133 (MH); Dan Gray 147b; Becca Gibson 268; Ethan Schultz 101t; Presley Barker 505; Jeff Burlison 53; Jaison Ashbaugh 172 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 473; Peter Bringe 229; Wendy Hofmann 159; Dayle Black 146; Mary Huffman 228; Tullaia Powell 209; John Huffman 291; Aldo Ceresa 522; Stephen Huffman 448t.

Announcements were made. John Huffman closed the day with a prayer.

Sunday, March 8

The Sunday session of the Missouri State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order at 9:30 a.m. by Wendy Hofmann leading 159. Becky Browne offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Marcus Whitman 109 (MH); Tullaia Powell 40; Roberta Strauss 440; Presley Barker 131 (MH); Karen Isbell 68 (MH); John Uhlemann 212; Holly Powell 426b; Darrell Swarens 341; Peggy Brayfield 159 (MH); Daniel Bearden 168 (MH); Debbie Barford 479; Mark Bruns 504; AnnaLeigh Smith 545; Mary E. Yeomans 481; Jaison Ashbaugh 180; William Shetter 167 (MH); Lisa Grayson 148 (MH); Bill Caldwell 89 (MH).


Jim Page led 276 to call the class back together. Leaders: Elizabeth Schulz 38b; Tamara Harris 548; David Barford 378b; Dan Brittain 141 (MH); Lori Graber 549; Theophilus Schultz 56b; Jenny Whitman 455; Lou Kujawinski 137; Nate Zweig 134 (MH); Patti Sontag 457; Paul Landskroener 365; Ryan Hill 383; Barbara Uhlemann 299; Donnie Simmet 69t.


Anne Drexler began this session by leading 335. Leaders: Judy Hauff 80 (MH); Wayne Smith 163b.

Jan Ketelle read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Joan Aldridge, Daphene Causey, Beau Caldwell, Karen Hojnacki, Berkley Moore, Amy Devocelle, Bill Beverly, Bill Windom, Loraine Bayer, Jim Herr, Johanna Fabke, Bob Scorgie, and Julia Vea. She described the Sacred Harp singing community as a quilt, every singing slightly different but all bound together in love. Jan led 340 in their honor.

Terry Hogg then read the list of names of the deceased as follows: Bill Aplin, Hobert Ivey, Mike Nunn, Sammie Oliver, Stanly Edwards, and Betty Wright—Alabama; Josephine Denney and Raymond Hamrick—Georgia; Dorothy Amare, Charlie Davidson, John Kaeser, and Bob Sullivan—Illinois; Gale Clifton, Dorothy Glanzer, and David Rust—Indiana; Roy Wyatt—Minnesota; Jimmie Ruth Melvin and Tom Tschettar—Missouri; Jo Ellen Dolan—New Jersey; Joe Fothergill and John C. Landskroener—Ohio; David Wampler—Pennsylvania; Virginia Duke, Gid Fryer, and Leslie Phillips—Tennessee. He described the life of Charlie Davidson as a life of teaching by example, and living each moment fully. Terry led 62 (MH), and Dan Brittain closed the lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Dan Gray 68t; Melanie Hauff 411. The class sang “Table Hymn” as the blessing before the noon meal.


Lou Kujawinski led 523 to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Dave Ressler 214; Jo Dell Albi 84 (MH); Aldo Ceresa 550; Becky Browne 362; Dick Patterson 240; Bill See and Vicky See 108b; Schultz children 178; Pattie Doss 532; Jim Page 139 (MH); Rob Bahler 536; Becca Gibson 106; Charles Derleth 66; LaMar Schlabach 68b; Penny Kujawinski 200; Gary Gronau 419; Janelle Davis 107.


Shirley Figura led 30b. Leaders: Nathan Berry 406; Cory Winters 112; Ted Mercer 145 (MH); Terry Hogg 13 (MH); John Seaton 47t; Barb Patterson 58 (MH); Minnesota singers 426t; Wendy Hofmann 83t; Eleanor Haase 542; Jan Ketelle 113 (MH); Tommy Schultz and Donna Schultz 163t; Julie Thompson 314; Jubal Schultz 29t; Paul Figura 19 (MH); Les Sontag 122; Jaison Ashbaugh 278t.

The arranging committee reported that ninety songs were called on Saturday and seventy-two on Sunday, and that twelve states were represented by singers at this convention.

Announcements were made. Carole Briggs offered the closing prayer. The class sang 347, and was dismissed.

Chairman—Wendy Hofmann; Secretary—Dave Ressler