Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Clifford Wakefield Memorial Singing

King Schoolhouse, Mt. Vernon Baptist Church,
Natural Bridge, Alabama

Sunday, June 15, 2014

The 106th annual session of the Clifford Wakefield Memorial Sacred Harp singing held at King Schoolhouse on the third Sunday in June was called to order by Don Keeton leading 32t. He offered the opening prayer.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Don Keeton; Vice Chairman—Wayne Horton; Secretary—Debra Hall; Arranging Officer—Faye Donaldson.

Leaders: Don Keeton 30t; Leon Ballinger 460, 222; Amber Davis 276, 187; Earl Ballinger 104, 97; Lisa Geist 151, 546; Gravis Ballinger 74b, 314; Ann Jett 37b, 47t; Ashley Hopkins 45t, 388; Kermit Adams 489, 375; Linton Ballinger 445, 36b; Wanda Capps 145t, 298; Seth Poston 275b, 358.


Wayne Horton led 490 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Mike Hankins 312b, 145b; Sarah Beasley 72b, 274t; Roma Rice 299, 297; Larry Ballinger 206, 207; Loretta Whitman 68b, 176b; Steve Adams and Amber Davis 101t, 378t; Larry Wakefield 317, 569b; Debbie Hall 391, 432; Steve Miles 47b, 124; Wayne Wakefield, Larry Wakefield, Clara Stults, Julia Poston, Faye Donaldson, and Betty Baccus 333 (in memory of deceased family members), 339 (in memory of Hazel Wakefield), 111t (for Alfie Mobley).


The afternoon session was called to order by Don Keeton leading 477. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 268; Amber Davis 142; Earl Ballinger 141; Gravis Ballinger 270; Ann Jett 269; Linton Ballinger 385t; Wanda Capps 216; Lisa Geist 155; Wayne Horton 294; Mike Hankins 282; Steve Adams 401; Roma Rice 348b; Steve Miles 373, 454; Loretta Whitman 108b; Larry Ballinger 571 (CB) (in memory of Nadine Willis); Betty Baccus, Katrina Cook, and Ashley Hopkins 417; Seth Poston 129; Sarah Beasley 312t; Faye Donaldson 491.

Don Keeton led 62 as the closing song. Homer Miles offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Don Keeton; Vice Chairman—Wayne Horton; Secretary—Debra Hall