Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Potomac River Sacred Harp Convention

Great Falls, Virginia

April 5-6, 2014

Saturday, April 5

The 25th annual session of the Potomac River Convention was called to order by John delRe leading 59. Song selections are from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Kelly Macklin offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed during a business session: Chairman—Mary Helen Dupree; Vice Chairman—Nora Miller; Secretaries—Ginny Klein, Jim Glaser, and Norman von Holtzendorff; Treasurer—Lucas Husted.

Mary Helen Dupree led 123t. Leaders: Kelly Macklin 171; Gillie Campbell 40; Nora Miller 176b; Matt Roberts 148; Norman von Holtzendorff 147t; Nick Schliapin 493; Liz Meitzler 29t; Mona Lewandoski 68b; Mary Ann Daly 142; Susan Green 272; Evan Duncan 49b; Alexa Silverman 335; Mary DeNys 477; Richard Green 313b; Lee Schumacher 117.


Sonia Chin led 113 to call the class back to order. Leaders: Josh Barnett 228; Adrian Mariano 296; Clare Chapin 473; Leyland delRe 378t; Graham DeZarn 44; Erin Kelly 206; Tim Slattery 168; Bev Yeager 344; Jim Glaser 438; Ray Milefsky 86; Joni Seidenstein 506; Pat Temple 39t; Emily Owens 72b; Bridget Camden 348t; Mary Wright 328; Lucas Husted 155.


Leyland delRe led 399b to call the class back to order. Leaders: Les Updike 373; Claire Steiner 472; Sonia Chin 573; Becky Wright 279; Leon Pulsinelle 76b; John Alexander 56b; Mary Langley 61; Renel Kennell 390; Nancy Mandel 428; Rachel Hall 433; Guy Bankes 546; Karen Stingle 318; Lamar Matthew 384; Ina Shea 88b; Jean Murphy 504; Daniel Hunter 166.

The memorial lesson was conducted by John delRe. He led 230 for the following sick and shut-ins: Berkley Moore, Ben Hartland, Tricia Twitchell, Ashley Vogel, David Strother, Ramona Carlin, Frank Duncan, Kate Munday, Diane Ober, and Zdzislaw Gryszko.

The following deceased were remembered: Diane Mennella—New York; Evelyn Steinruck—Pennsylvania; C.T. Williams, Jeff Sheppard, and Shelbie Sheppard—Alabama; Jim Rich—Oregon; Helen B. Petty—South Carolina; Peter Majka—Maryland; Art McNeill, Lili Seidler, Ruthanne Lodato, Caroline Stackhouse Weiner, Susan Oswald, Dolores Hoover, Sally Joy Remington, and Rev. Terry Cramer—Virginia; Anthony Ranieri—California; Eva Cocchiaro—Connecticut; Robert Koenig and Zea Ginsber Piver—Pennsylvania; Hal Fleming—New Jersey; B.J. Warren—District of Columbia; Alicia and Chet Kennedy; Somen Goodman—Quebec, Canada; Francis Maryland Haynes, Jr.—Oklahoma. John delRe led 229 in memory of the deceased.

A blessing was offered by Kelly Macklin before the noon meal.


Rachel Hall called the afternoon session to order by leading 128. Leaders: Thomas Ward 375; Kyle 183; Durward Rackleff 163b; Ben Cocchiaro 327; Lucas Husted 236; Becky Wright 170; Claire Steiner 448b; Nancy Mandel 207; Martha Burns 37t; Guy Bankes 352; Karen Stingle 496; Phyllis Gonigam 474; Ina Shea 111t; Jean Murphy 380; Daniel Hunter 125; Rachel Hall 165; Leon Pulsinelle 398.


Kelly Macklin led 32t to call the class back to order. Leaders: Bev Yaeger 192; Robin Betz 178; Sonia Chin 189; Cheryl Mitchell 38t; Pat Temple 33t; Emily Owens 141; Bridget Camden 210; Mary Wright 446; Renel Kennell 180; Les Updike 503; Lamar Matthew 156; Jimmy Brady and Grace Brady 77t; Ben Cocchiaro 84; John Alexander 29b; John delRe 445; Erin Kelly 569t; Leyland delRe 74b; Josh Barnett 274t; Mary Helen Dupree 347.

Kelly Macklin dismissed the class with a prayer.

Sunday, April 6

The Sunday session of the Potomac River Convention was brought to order by Mary Helen Dupree leading 1b (ShH). Kelly Macklin offered the morning prayer.

Song selections are from The Shenandoah Harmony. Leaders: Matt Roberts 364b (ShH); Renel Kennell 344b (ShH); Jim Glaser 264b (ShH); Alexa Silverman 242 (ShH); Mary Ann Daly 318 (ShH); Norman von Holtzendorff 298t (ShH); Claire Steiner 307 (ShH); Lucas Husted 260t (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 22b (ShH); Adrian Mariano 132 (ShH); Thomas Ward 65b (ShH); Clare Chapin 397 (ShH); Stephen Sabol 48 (ShH); Joni Seidenstein 140b (ShH); Bev Yaeger 431 (ShH); Emily Owens 411 (ShH).


Daniel Hunter called the class back to order by leading 83b (ShH). Leaders: Les Updike 332 (ShH); Nora Miller 39 (ShH); Bridget Camden 118 (ShH); Graham DeZarn 178 (ShH); John Alexander 241t (ShH); Jim Glaser 127 (ShH); Kathy Manning 180 (ShH); Peter Pate 240 (ShH); Josh Barnett 205 (ShH); Sonia Chin 160 (ShH); Joel Miller 26 (ShH); Ina Shea 82 (ShH); Ben Cocchiaro 14 (ShH); Richard Green 157 (ShH); Rachel Hall 304 (ShH); Tim Slattery 81 (ShH); Becky Wright 133 (ShH); Liz Meitzler 120t (ShH); Leyland delRe 362 (ShH); John delRe 93 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 412 (ShH). Kelly Macklin offered a blessing before the noon meal.


Matt Roberts called the afternoon session to order by leading 422 (ShH). Leaders: Lucas Husted 12b (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 94 (ShH); Daniel Hunter 147 (ShH); Ina Shea 44 (ShH); Joel Miller 297 (ShH); Nora Miller 426 (ShH); John Daniel delRe 260b (ShH); Kathy Manning 96b (ShH); Claire Steiner 158 (ShH); Liz Meitzler 181 (ShH); Graham DeZarn 236t (ShH); Rachel Hall 184 (ShH); Josh Barnett 338 (ShH); Becky Wright 380 (ShH); Bev Yaeger 424b (ShH); Renel Kennell 204 (ShH); Stephen Sabol 146 (ShH).


Jim Strube led 152 (ShH) to call the class back to order. Leaders: Josh Barnett 363b (ShH); Alexa Silverman 108 (ShH); Bridget Camden 169 (ShH); Mary Ann Daly 414t (ShH); Les Updike 296 (ShH); Emily Owens 37 (ShH); Norman von Holtzendorff 4b (ShH); John Alexander 434t (ShH); Tim Slattery 87 (ShH); Richard Green 413 (ShH); Joni Seidenstein 51 (ShH); Daniel Hunter 285 (ShH); Matt Roberts 287 (ShH); Leyland delRe 15 (ShH); Peter Pate 288b (ShH); John delRe 17 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 233 (ShH); Thomas Ward 218t (ShH); Adrian Mariano 326b (ShH).

Committee reports were given and accepted, and announcements were made. Mary Helen Dupree led 309 (ShH) as the closing song, and the singers took the parting hand. Kelly Macklin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Mary Helen Dupree; Vice Chairman—Nora Miller; Secretaries—Ginny Klein, Jim Glaser, and Norman von Holtzendorff