Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Potomac River Sacred Harp Convention

Great Falls Grange, Great Falls, Virginia

April 6-7, 2013

Saturday, April 6

The 24th annual Potomac River Convention was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Beverly Yaeger leading 77b. The opening prayer was offered by Matt Roberts.

A business session was held, and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John delRe; Vice Chairman—Mary Helen Dupree; Secretaries—Thomas Ward and Beverly Yaeger; Treasurer—Liz Meitzler; Arranging Committee—Rachel Hall, Jim Glaser, and Leyland delRe.

Leaders: John delRe 102; Mary Ann Daly 40; Jim Glaser 462; Mary DeNys 72b; Matt Roberts 148; Gillie Campbell 66; Richard Green 163t; Joshua Barnett 504; Susan Green 502; Norman von Holtzendorff 86; Clare Chapin 31t; Joel Miller 29t; Robin Betz 268; Ina Shea 134; Liz Meitzler 105.


Myles Louis Dakan called the class back to order by leading 113. Leaders: Joni Seidenstein 200; Kevin Griffin Moreno 228; Nancy Britton 187; Zachary Bullock 73t; Bill Waddington 474; Lee Schumacher 117; Robert Stoddard 135; Rick Motylinski 49b; Mary Wright 328; Nick Schliapin 70t; Lamar Matthew 312b; Alexa Silverman 128; Harry Scott 260; John Feddersen 163b; Kelly Macklin 218; Pat Temple 415.


Song selections in this session were from The Shenandoah Harmony (ShH). The class was called back together by Kelly Macklin leading 157 (ShH). Leaders: Dan Hunter 369 (ShH); Elizabeth Stoddard 226 (ShH); John delRe 8 (ShH); Nora Miller 87 (ShH); Hal Kunkel 330b (ShH); Rachel Hall 342 (ShH); Les Updike 296 (ShH); Myles Dakan 373 (ShH); Leyland delRe 41 (ShH); Thomas Ward 260t (ShH); Beverly Yaeger 431 (ShH); Robert Stoddard 416 (ShH); Sonia Chin 74 (ShH); John Alexander 326b (ShH); Stuart Jackson 200 (ShH); Ben Cocchario 140b (ShH); Jessica Keyes 76t (ShH); Peter Pate 240 (ShH); Adrian Mariano 364b (ShH). A blessing before lunch was offered by Matt Roberts.


The class was called back to order by Diane Ober leading 33b. Leaders: Gabriel Brady 101t; Kendall Brady 87; The Brady family 294; Joshua Barnett 472; Sonia Chin 283; Zachary Bullock 499; John Feddersen 369; Nancy Britton 456; Kevin Griffin Moreno 558; Reba Windom 192; Rick Motylinski 89; Bill Waddington 362; Myles Dakan 383; Elina Snyder 47t; Elizabeth Stoddard 191; Edward Rice 159.


Hal Kunkel led 333 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Laura Sheahen 551; Randy Gaul 481; Kathy Manning 500; Jessica Keyes 179; Reba Windom 384; Ben Cocchario 112; Joel Miller 573; Liz Meitzler 215; Harry Scott and Lamar Matthew 315; Pat Temple 59; Joni Seidenstein 81t; Mary DeNys 56b; Richard Green and Susan Green 110; Mary Ann Daly 153; Hal Kunkel 184 (ShH); Ina Shea 270 (ShH); Thomas Ward 264b (ShH); Stuart Jackson 160 (ShH); Myles Dakan, John delRe, Leyland delRe, Rachel Hall, Dan Hunter, Kelly Macklin, Nora Miller, and Robert Stoddard 22b (ShH).

John delRe led 309 (ShH) as the closing song. A closing prayer was offered by Matt Roberts.

Sunday, April 7

The Sunday session of the Potomac River Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by John delRe leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Matt Roberts.

Leaders: Tim Slattery 350; Edward Rice 163t; Brenda Dunlap 49b; Norman von Holtzendorff 401; Harry Scott 46; Cheryl Mitchell 154; Lamar Matthew 156; Les Updike 373; Stephen Hoyt 282; Joni Seidenstein 527; Gillie Campbell 40; Barbara Hohenstein 232; Rick Motylinski 47b.


The class was called back together by Leyland delRe leading 284. Leaders: Mary DeNys 107; Matt Roberts 82t; Cathy Tucker 454; Elizabeth Stoddard 213t; Adrian Mariano 411; Bill Waddington 209; Chris Bracken 472.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Susan Green and Richard Green. Susan spoke of Sacred Harp singers as a community. She likened us each to drops in a long Sacred Harp river, and we call the names of the singers as they reach the sea. The following deceased were remembered: Alicia Kennedy, Marjorie Bowman, Ruby Peapples, and George Peapples—Michigan; Dr. Julietta Haynes—Tennessee; Melyssa Bridge—Virginia; Velma Cozzutto—Washington; Nancy Wyllie and Ginny Hazel—Pennsylvania; Aileen Kyle—New York; Jack Kimbraugh (state unlisted); Joan Frankel—Minnesota. Susan led 285t.

Richard Green remembered the sick and shut-ins, naming Loraine Bayer, Sean Hunter, Peter Majka, Becky Peapples, Chris Holley, Bud Oliver, Fern True, Linda Williamson, and Steven Sabol. Richard led 34t. Matt Roberts offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Clare Chapin 184; Ina Shea 80t; Robert Stoddard 85; Mary Ann Daly 351; Richard Green 313b.


Song selections in this session were from The Shenandoah Harmony. The class was called back to order by John delRe leading 45 (ShH). Leaders: Jim Glaser 238 (ShH); John Feddersen 305 (ShH); Rachel Hall 247 (ShH); Myles Dakan 249 (ShH); Liz Meitzler 181 (ShH); Doron Henkin 404t (ShH); Bridget Camden 132 (ShH); Leyland delRe and Ben Hartland 120t (ShH); John Alexander 4t (ShH); Nora Miller 446t (ShH); Dan Hunter 114 (ShH); Kathy Manning 254 (ShH); Kevin Griffin Moreno 382 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 86 (ShH); Hal Kunkel 318 (ShH); Zachary Bullock 260b (ShH); Beverly Yaeger 414b (ShH); Joshua Barnett 7b (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 201 (ShH); John delRe 309 (ShH). A blessing before lunch was offered by Matt Roberts.


The afternoon session began with Myles Louis Dakan leading 33b. Leaders: Barbara Hohenstein 183; Peter Pate 397; Alan Cohen 38b; Kim Collins 480; Denise Kania 500; Erin Kelly 283; John Daniel delRe 191; Jim Pfau 171; Owen Kelley and family 86; Chris Bracken 456; Jessica Keyes 377; Ben Cocchario 327; John delRe 216; Sonia Chin 328; Dan Hunter 562; Mary Helen Dupree 474; Kathy Manning 365.


The class was called back together by Jim Pfau and Denise Kania leading 274t. Leaders: Jim Glaser 569t; Cathy Tucker 385b; Doron Henkin 192; Susan Green 272; Stephen Hoyt 549; Leyland delRe 436; Jane Bloodworth 146; Rachel Hall 422; Tim Slattery 344; Nora Miller 564; Brenda Dunlap 47t; Kelly Macklin 185; Norman von Holtzendorff 28b; Joni Seidenstein 142; Adrian Mariano 203; Liz Meitzler 111b; Elizabeth Stoddard 546; Erin Kelly 353; Robert Stoddard 201; Bill Waddington 99.

Announcements were made. John delRe gave the resolutions report, thanking everyone who helped make the singing a success. John led 62 as the closing song. Matt Roberts offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—John delRe; Vice Chairman—Mary Helen Dupree; Secretaries—Beverly Yaeger and Thomas Ward