Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alabama Sacred Harp Musical Convention

Jefferson State Community College, Birmingham, Alabama

November 26-27, 2011

Saturday, November 26

The 112th session of the Alabama State Sacred Harp Musical Convention met at Jefferson State Community College on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in November. Richard Mauldin called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. leading 34b. The morning prayer was offered by Blake Sisemore.

Leaders: Dennis George 155; Elene Stovall 186; Judy Caudle 540; Blake Sisemore 564; Richard Ivey 65; Rodney Ivey 275b; Darrell Swarens 208; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 212; Danny Creel 498; B.M. Smith 475; Sarah Beasley 340; Jim Aaron 503; Steve Cackley 483; Robert Chambless 225t; Gail Doss 137; John Wright 230; Louis Hughes 472; Emily Burleson 318; Steve Adams and Emily Creel 378t; Jack Nelson 165; Judy Chambless 146.


The class was brought together by Dennis George leading 145t. Leaders: Marlin Beasley 179; Bill Hogan 434; David Brodeur 178; Wendy Futral 569b (for her mother, Virginia Futral); Anslie Allen 217; Joseph Bearden 117; Gavin Blakeley 189; Arlon Gardner 277; Hubert Nall 47t; Kathy Williams 220; Kermit Adams 99; Leigh Cooper 168; Floy Wilder 142; Erica Hinton 432; Daniel Bearden 304; David Carlton 385b; Scott Kennedy 162; Gary Smith 66.


Richard Ivey brought the class back together leading 345t. Leaders: Karen Rollins 445; Michael Walker 426 (t? b?); Mark Godfrey 203.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Dennis George; Vice Chairman—Richard Ivey; Chaplain—Hubert Nall; Arranging Committee—Cindy Tanner and Blake Sisemore; Resolutions Committee—Joan Aldridge and Linda Sides; Location Committee—Linda Thomas and David Ivey; Finance Committee—Rodney Ivey and Larry Ballinger; Memorial Committee—Bea Carnathan and Joyce Walton; Secretaries—Linda Thomas and Elene Stovall. After committees were appointed, the business session was closed.

Leaders: Eddie Mash 140; Louise Holland 192; Karen Ivey 36b; Joyce Walton and Michael Thompson 456; David Ivey 329; Henry Johnson 55; Linton Ballinger 421 (for Bud Oliver); Jonathan Smith 77t; Jackie Tanner 477; Bea Carnathan 568; Michael Thompson 102; Sandie Scott 29t (for Marilyn Burchett); Cassie Allen and Eddie Mash 444 (for Toney Smith); Tom George 141; Jeannette DePoy 392; Jeff Sheppard 325; Kelsey Sunderland 530; Judy Mincey 180; Linda Sides 82b; Rachael Rudi 406; Ian Quinn 177. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Hubert Nall.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Blake Sisemore leading 106. Leaders: Cindy Tanner, Wanda Capps, and Danny Creel 512 (for Harrison Creel); Sharon DuPriest 460; Reba Windom 216; Nathan Rees 172; Pam Nunn 200; Matt Hinton 542; Shelbie Sheppard 556; Eugene Forbes 551; Larry Ballinger 528; Daphene Causey 306; Nate Green and Norma Green 270; Steve Cackley 461; Kathy Williams 506; Michael Walker 225b; David Carlton 504; Ian Quinn 447.

Announcements were made. Hubert Nall offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, November 27

The Sunday morning session of the Alabama Sacred Harp Musical Convention began at 9:30 a.m. with Dennis George leading 82t. Blake Sisemore offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Richard Ivey 204; Linda Thomas and Elene Stovall 73t (for Bud Oliver); David Ivey 94; Joan Aldridge 166; Rodney Ivey 39b; Bea Carnathan 80b; Larry Ballinger 389; Joyce Walton 67; Cassie Allen 419; Blake Sisemore 411; Phil Summerlin 30t; Susan Cherones 481; Lomax Ballinger 277; Jerry Creason 163b (in memory of Marie Ivey); Judy Mincey 492; Eddie Mash 301; Louis Hughes 448t; Ann Webb 384; Tom George 476; Karen Rollins 297; David Brodeur 112; Mary Ruth Stiefel, Verlon Stiefel, and Joyce Whittington 47t.


The class was brought together by Dennis George and Elene Stovall leading 192 (for Dr. Julietta Haynes). Leaders: Scott Kennedy 229; Marlin Beasley 380; Linton Ballinger 224.

Bea Carnathan and Joyce Walton conducted the memorial lesson. Bea Carnathan spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins, and read the names as follows: Dr. Julietta Haynes, Willodean Barton, Josie Hyde, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Leona Haynes, Lonnie Rogers, Terry Hullett, Violet Thomason, Harrison Creel, Odie Horton, Marilyn Burchett, Dale Bruner, Bill Tanner, and Calvin Speer. She led 119 in their honor.

Joyce Walton spoke for the deceased. She led 403 in their memory. Bea Carnathan read the names as follows: Clarence McCool, Travis Keeton, Marie Ivey, Cecil Sanders, Myrtle Wootten, Ruby Brothers, Wayne Morgan, Corine Lacy, Ernestine Pipkin, Leonard Smith, Helen Langston, Christine Gandy, and Marshal Smith—Alabama; Bob Meek—Kentucky; Junie McNeil—Mississippi; Joanne Bowman—Massachusetts; Marvin McElroy—Georgia. Blake Sisemore closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 495; Nate Green and Norma Green 570; Charles Woods 283. David Ivey recognized Congressman Robert Aderholt and his family. Congressman Aderholt addressed the class, and they led 47b.

Leaders: Leigh Cooper 42; Carol Duvall 154; Carly Westmoreland and Theresa Westmoreland 142; John Plunkett 409; Gravis Ballinger 430; Tori Gundlach and Karen Ivey 63; Judy Chambless 81b; Henry Johnson 88b; Gail Doss 501; B.M. Smith 284; Richard Mauldin 43; Sarah Beasley and Michael Walker 134; Theresa Westmoreland 220; Robert Chambless 84; Gary Smith 171; Erica Hinton 111b.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Richard Ivey and Blake Sisemore leading 56t. Leaders: Bridgett Hill Kennedy 377; Ken Tate 147b; Kelsey Sunderland 454; Michael Thompson 89; Jewell Wootten and Rodney Ivey 129; Emily Burleson 532; Jeannette DePoy 328; Jonathan Smith 214; Reba Windom 436; Nathan Rees 442; Judy Caudle 500; Michael Walker 396; Drew Smith 183; Ian Quinn 518; Rachael Rudi 138t; Buell Cobb 92; Matt Hinton 422; Dillon Feezell 435; Darrell Swarens 507 (for Josie Hyde); Mark Godfrey 196; Beth Branscome 467; Seth Holloway 236 (for Josie Hyde); Steve Cackley 331; Hubert Nall 313t.

A business session was held for the purpose of hearing reports. The Resolutions Committee thanked everyone who helped make the convention a success. The Finance Committee reported that expenses were met, and thanked everyone who contributed. The Secretary’s report was given, stating that a total of 173 leaders from 11 states and United Kingdom attended. Announcements were made.

Dennis George and Richard Ivey led 46 as the closing song. Hubert Nall offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dennis George; Vice Chairman—Richard Ivey; Secretaries—Linda Thomas and Elene Stovall