Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rivanna River Singing

Charlottesville Friends Meetinghouse, Charlottesville, Virginia

Saturday, September 10, 2011

The 9th annual Rivanna River Singing was called to order at the Charlottesville Friends Meetinghouse at 10:00 a.m. by John Alexander leading 312b. Tom Clay offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Hank Schutz; Vice Chairman—Zachary Bullock; Secretary—Barbarie Hill; Treasurer—Judy Cahill; Arranging Committee—Tom Hill.

Leaders: Hank Schutz 147t, 117; Mary Helen Dupree 523, 145b; Les Updike 49t, 49b; Frances Schutz 547, 112; Zach Bullock 101t, 288; Leyland delRe 486, 96; Myles Dakan 108b, 304; Tom Clay 64, 145t; Maura Burns 284, 335; Liz Meitzler 512, 142; Matt Ference 163t, 384; Jim Strube 348t, 57; Craig Baughan 178; Susan Green 503, 82t; Diane Ober 495, 209; Richard Green 29t, 198; Kathy Manning 440, 196.


The singing resumed with John Alexander leading 159. Leaders: Hank Schutz 86; Mary Helen Dupree 35; Les Updike 373; Frances Schutz 155; Zach Bullock 73t; Leyland delRe 68t; Myles Dakan 69b; Tom Clay 68b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Tom Clay, who led 58 in memory of the deceased and in honor of the sick and shut-ins. The sick and shut-ins remembered were Marlin Beasley, Frank Evans, and Cecelia VandeLoo. The deceased remembered were Marie Ivey, Clarence McCool, and Travis Keeton—Alabama; Bob Meek—Kentucky.

The singing resumed with Maura Burns leading 55. Chaplain Tom Clay offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The singing resumed with Myles Dakan leading 59. Leaders: Liz Meitzler 111b; Matt Ference 186; Jim Strube 354t; Craig Baughan 347; Susan Green 551; Diane Ober 38b; Richard Green 47b; Kathy Manning 220; John Alexander 317; Hank Schutz 313b; Mary Helen Dupree 30t; Frances Schutz 504; Zach Bullock 499; Leyland delRe 134; Myles Dakan 131t; Tom Clay 48b; Maura Burns 203; Liz Meitzler 448t; Matt Ference 133; Jim Strube 236; Craig Baughan 566; Susan Green 99.


The singing resumed with Diane Ober leading 135. Leaders: Richard Green 475; Kathy Manning 556; John Alexander 56b; Hank Schutz 143; Mary Helen Dupree 63; Frances Schutz 122; Zach Bullock 235; Leyland delRe 448b; Myles Dakan 193; Tom Clay 168; Maura Burns 479; Liz Meitzler 77t; Matt Ference 87; Jim Strube 268; Craig Baughan 324; Susan Green 123t; Diane Ober 77b; Richard Green 497; Kathy Manning 500.

After thanks to those who prepared and served for the singing and announcements, Tom Clay offered the closing prayer. John Alexander led 62 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Hank Schutz; Vice Chairman—Zachary Bullock; Secretary—Barbarie Hill