Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day

Seacourt Hall, Botley, Oxford

Saturday, June 25, 2011

The 13th annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in June. Sheila Girling Macadam called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 28b. Martin Williams offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman/Secretary—Edwin Macadam; Secretary—Sofi Mogensen; Arranging Committee—Nick Hall and Sheila Girling Macadam; Chaplains—Bernard Collard and Rev. David Chantler.

Leaders: Edwin Macadam 47t; Rachel Jordan 66; Nick Hall 354t; Sofi Mogensen 52t. Steve Marini conducted a singing school on the diversity of the Sacred Harp tradition, using 34b, 300, 310, 377, and his own composition, ‘Beeston’.


Tony Singleton called the class back to order leading 99. Leaders: Rebecca Over 144; Bernard Collard 362; Steve Fletcher and Matthew Ord 68b; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 134; Chris Brown 338; Linda Reed 171; Mandy Townsend 203; Adrian Bolge 370; Dave Townsend 383; Elspeth Hannen 504; Steve Marini 260; Sheila Girling Macadam 550; Rachel Jordan 455; Edwin Macadam 534; Sofi Mogensen 448t; Nick Hall 538; Bernard Collard 454; Chris Brown 269; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 122; Rebecca Over 460; Tony Singleton 86; Linda Reed 210; Steve Fletcher 196; Mandy Townsend 318. Mary Bolge offered the prayer before lunch.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Steve Marini leading 106. Leaders: Elspeth Hannen 146; Ed Long 273; Adrian Bolge 48t; Sheila Girling Macadam 365; Rachel Jordan 457; Edwin Macadam 322.

Bernard Collard conducted the memorial lesson, with Richard Makin reading the names of the following deceased: Alan Cooper—Seaford; Mike Waterson—Robin Hood’s Bay; Glynne Williams—Cardiff; Lisbeth Poulsen—Denmark; Joyce Over—Camberley; Martin Jenkins—Coventry; and Brian Haw—London. Steve Marini led 163b in their memory.

Elspeth Hannen and Ben Hannen spoke for the following sick and housebound: Charmaine Doyle (currently in Intensive Care at the John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford), Maureen Jones, Alan Myers, Finlay Smith, Simon Hewitt, Sylvia Marlow, Mandy Townsend, Jill Kirby, Nicola Macadam, and Lucy Chadwick. Elspeth Hannen led 107, and closed the memorial with prayer.

The class resumed singing with Nick Hall leading 183. Leaders: Sofi Mogensen 148; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 82t; Chris Brown 549; Rebecca Over 339; Tony Singleton 473; Bernard Collard 63; Linda Reed 503.


The final session commenced with Elspeth Hannen and Ben Hannen leading 299. Leaders: Adrian Bolge 49t; Steve Fletcher 229; Steve Marini 228; Ed Long 159; Sheila Girling Macadam 142; Edwin Macadam 236; Rachel Jordan 192; Nick Hall 452; Sofi Mogensen and John Taylor 276; Chris Brown 277; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 282; Bernard Collard 501; Rebecca Over 542; Adrian Bolge 84; Ed Long 209; Linda Reed 448b; Elspeth Hannen 497; Steve Fletcher 481; Tony Singleton 198; Steve Marini 178.

Announcements were made. Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam thanked all the officers, committees, and anyone else who helped in any way to make this singing possible, and led 347 as the closing song. Rev. David Chantler offered the closing prayer, invited the class to join with him in singing Tallis’s Evening Hymn ‘Glory to Thee, My God, This Night’, after which the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Secretary—Sofi Mogensen