Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New York State Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Mennonite Meetinghouse, Rochester, New York

October 16 -17, 2010

Saturday, October 16

The 22nd New York State Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Mennonite Meetinghouse, Rochester, New York, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Thom Metzger and Eileen Metzger called the class to order leading 34b and 39t.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairpersons—Thom Metzger and Eileen Metzger; Arranging Committee—Laura Densmore and Terry Ryan; Secretaries—GerryAnn Westcott and Sue Hengelsberg.

Leaders: Mitzie Collins 159; Sue Hengelsberg 504; Chris Haller 189; Sue DeVuyst 107; Melody Johnson 475; Anne Weaver 178; B. Cullen 538; Bob Wheeler 171; Lois Hurt 146; Gerry Hoffman 271t; Pleasance Crawford 564; Brian How 143; Jo Schultz 230.


Leaders: Lucy Roberts 105; Ron Bornick 186; Dean Jens 110; Jean Seiler 168; Ginny Huszagh 66; Guy Bankes 352; Rachel Speer 353; Barbara Swetman 365; Eric Bean 198; Margaret Bornick 236; Scott Luscombe 195;

Thom Metzger 163b; Nicoletta Rogers 501; Fred Hemson 84; Dan Hertzler 102; Jerusha Wheeler 245; Steve Rogers 494.


Ian Quinn called the class together leading 72b. Leaders: Mary Skidmore 203; Aldo Ceresa 411; Bethany Towne 205; Dan Hunter 405; Sheila Girling Macadam 142; Ted Mercer 468; Dennis Leipold 200; Edwin Macadam 183; Ian Quinn 280; Thom Metzger 106; Jan May 276; Laura Densmore 419; Terry Ryan 487; Pleasance Crawford 187; Gerry Hoffman 182; Jo Schultz 312t.


Bethany Towne called the class together leading 67. Leaders: Bob Wheeler 299; Eileen Metzger 376; Rachel Speer 377; Lois Hurt 551; Steve Rogers 492; Brian How 313b; Dean Jens 174; Nicoletta Rogers 350; Ron Bornick 334; Guy Bankes 486; Barbara Swetman 542; Dan Hertzler 318; Margaret Bornick 497; Aldo Ceresa 380; Jean Seiler 101t; Edwin Macadam 217; Pat Callahan 412; Ted Mercer 74b.


Scott Luscombe led 148 to call the class to order. Leaders: Sheila Girling Macadam 480; Jerusha Wheeler 269; Kathy Collett 344; Laura Densmore 522; Jan May 99; Eric Bean 335; Dennis Leipold 137; Ian Quinn 145t; Terry Ryan 546; Dan Hunter 322; Aldo Ceresa 167; Melody Johnson 566; Sue Hengelsberg 127.

Thom Metzger led 528 as the closing song.

Sunday, October 17

Sacred Harp singers joined the Mennonite community in their morning worship service, singing a combination of hymns from the Mennonite hymnal and selections from the 1991 Edition of the Sacred Harp.


The Convention was called together again by Terry Ryan leading 198. Leaders: Scott Luscombe 506; Edwin Macadam 466; Lucy Roberts 250; Ginny Huszagh 56b; Mary Skidmore 272; Mitzie Collins 223; Ron Bornick 454; Ian Quinn 224; Bob Wheeler 270; Jan May 49b; Margaret Bornick 273; Pleasance Crawford 28t; Guy Bankes 28b; Sheila Girling Macadam 71; Dan Hertzler 550.

Barbara Swetman conducted the memorial lesson for David Bornick leading 65. Laura Densmore led 146 in memory of George Seiler. We also remembered the following deceased: Nancy Katzen—Pennsylvania; Jeanette McCready—Connecticut; Arthur Payton—Oregon; Jerry Enright—Illinois; Marion Biggs—Sussex, England; George Loft—New York; William Crawford and Victoria Bolles—Massachusetts; Christine Cox—Ohio; Billy Williams—Alabama.

Thom Metzger led 163b for the following sick and shut-ins: Aaron Wootten, Phyllis Bruce, Stephen Murdock, Julie Vea, Brian Collett, Curtis Smith, Nicola Macadam, Lucy Chadwick, Lionel Wollenberg, Bob Meek, and Lonnie Rogers.


Eric Bean called the class together leading 34t. Leaders: Barbara Swetman 298; Jo Shultz 467; Dennis Leipold 532; Gerry Hoffman 362; Thom Metzger 269; Hal Kunkel 415; Chris Haller 267; Brian How 114; Rachel Speer 505; Lois Hurt 358; Dan Hunter 316; Nicoletta Rogers 470; Bethany Towne 397; Jean Seiler 187; Steve Rogers 70t; Eileen Metzger 282; Dean Jens 142; Aldo Ceresa 456; Sue Hengelsberg 191.


Dennis Leipold called the class together leading 145b. Leaders: Ron Bornick 159; Melody Johnson 340; Ian Quinn 507; Edward Macadam 573.

Announcements were made. Leaders: Margaret Bornick 455; Terry Ryan 344; Guy Bankes 549; Sheila Girling Macadam 330 (t? b?); Dan Hertzler 500.


Jean Seiler led 82t to call the class to order. Leaders: Pleasance Crawford 192; Eric Bean 480; Bethany Comegys 178; Laura Densmore 384; Barbara Swetman 383; Jo Schultz 481; Chris Haller 254; Brian How 547; Scott Luscombe 180; Bob Wheeler 268; Jan May 63; Hal Kunkel 475; Dennis Leipold 373; Laura Densmore 74b.

Thom Metzger announced that there were 81 (t? b?) registered attendees from eight states plus Canada and U.K. Dan Hertzler and Ginny Huszagh have attended every NYS Convention. The class sang a total of 136 songs over the two days in our regular sessions.

Thom Metzger and Eileen Metzger led 347 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—Thom Metzger and Eileen Metzger; Secretaries—GerryAnn Westcott and Sue Hengelsberg