Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Higher Ground Singing

Centenary United Methodist Church, Terre Haute, Indiana

Saturday, March 27, 2010

The 15th annual Higher Ground Singing was called to order by Terry Hogg and Darrell Swarens leading 34b. Don Bardsley offered the morning prayer. Terry Hogg led 86.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairpersons—Peggy Brayfield and Adrian Eldridge; Arranging Committee—Stephanie Fida and Rebecca Eldridge; Finance Committee—Wayne Dell; Secretary—Rebecca Eldridge.

Leaders: Peggy Brayfield and Adrian Eldridge 46; Don Bardsley 503; William Shetter “Higher Ground”; Janet Fraembs 475 (in memory Larry Devocelle); James Eldridge 318; Debra Reed 268; Wayne Dell and John Bayer 392 (CB); 445; Nate Zweig 38t; Virginia Eldridge 319; Peggy Mistak 496; Bob Sullivan 235; Loraine Bayer 225t; Myles Alexander 128.


The class was called back to order by Adrian Eldridge leading 108t. Leaders: Katherine Eldridge 124; Randy Webber “Easter Motet”; Carol Munro Mosley 362; Presley Barker 472; Ray Rechenberg 480; Jackson Pietrzak 196; Cathryn Bearov 216; Michele Cull and Annaliza Cull 82t; Jubal Bayer 504; Thomas Smith 209; Vic Whisman 84; Becky Browne 36b; Roger Crabtree 312b; Michael Mosley 101t; John Bayer 159; Don Keeton 390; Greg Howard 448t; Brenda Waters 515; Hans Bayer 203.

Lori Graber spoke for the following sick and shut-ins, and led 72b in their honor: Bob Meek, Jim Page, Johanna Fabke, Clare Cardy, Julie Vea, Joanne Bowman, Edith Swindle, David Rust, and Marlen Rust.

Janet Fraembs conducted the memorial lesson, and led 285t for the following deceased: Victoria Bolles—Massachusetts; Larry Devocelle—Illinois; Thurman Nall—Alabama; Mary White, James Carmichael—Kentucky; William Reynolds—Tennessee; Bill Ellason—Missouri.

Leaders: Darrell Swarens and Steve Ingram 282; Joan Aldridge 270; Rebecca Eldridge 349; Terre Hogg 481. Ray Rechenberg offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Peggy Brayfield brought the class together by leading146. Leaders: Stephanie Fida and Barb Lund 384; Don Bardsley 547; Bob Cull 569b; William Shetter 551; Janet Fraembs 546; James Eldridge 171; Wayne Dell 277; Lori Graber 352; Nate Zweig 47t; Virginia Eldridge 137; Peggy Mistak 148; Bob Sullivan 49b; Loraine Bayer 569t; Myles Alexander 328; Katherine Eldridge 274t; Randy Webber 269; Carol Munro Mosley 463 (CB); Presley Barker 313b; Ray Rechenberg 68b; Jackson Pietrzak 117; Cathryn Bearov 114; Annaliza Cull 163b; Michele Cull 236; Jubal Bayer 440.


Peggy Brayfield led 40 to call the class back to order. Leaders: Becky Browne 29t; Roger Crabtree 47b; Vic Whisman 106; John Bayer 300; Peggy Brayfield, Adrian Eldridge, and the “Kitchen Committee” 45t; Michael Mosley 426b; Don Keeton 112; Greg Howard 65; Hans Bayer 240.

After announcements were made, Adrian Eldridge and Peggy Brayfield led 347 as the closing song. Roger Crabtree offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—Adrian Eldridge and Peggy Brayfield; Secretary—Rebecca Eldridge