Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day

Seacourt Hall, Botley, Oxford, England

Saturday, June 27, 2009

The 11th Annual Oxford Sacred Harp Singing Day was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in June. Sheila Girling Macadam called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 34b. Rozalja Myszka offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman/Secretary—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Arranging Committee—Steve Fletcher, Nick Hall, and Sofi Mogensen; Chaplains—Ken Baddley and Martin Williams.

Leaders: Edwin Macadam 84; Rachel Jordan 66; Ken Baddley 515; Steve Fletcher 48t; Dave Townsend 341; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 131b; James Percival 49b; Linda Reed 155; Michael Walker 131t; Sofi Mogensen 503; Nick Hall 147t; Mandy Townsend 72b; Ted Brown 303; Steve Welch 49t; Richard Percival 143; Sheila Girling Macadam 142; Edwin Macadam 441; Rachel Jordan 300; Ken Baddley 481; Steve Fletcher 107; Dave Townsend 99; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 314.


Sofi Mogensen called the class back to order leading 228. Leaders: Michael Walker 67; Mandy Townsend 106; James Percival 474; Nick Hall 223; Linda Reed 287; Steve Welch 40; Ted Brown 546; Richard Percival 31t; Adrian Bolge 68b; Tony Singleton 473; Sheila Girling Macadam 442; Rachel Jordan 269; Dave Townsend 198; James Percival 547; Michael Walker 456; Mandy Townsend 318; Steve Welch 501; Edwin Macadam 183; Ted Brown 339; Adrian Bolge 47t; Ken Baddley 127; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 100; Linda Reed 504; Nick Hall 560; Sofi Mogensen 332; Tony Singleton 277. Adrian Bolge offered the prayer before lunch.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Richard Percival leading 159. Leaders: Steve Fletcher 29t; Ken Baddley 45t; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 32t; Sheila Girling Macadam 330b.

For the memorial lessons, both chaplains drew on the writings of German theologian Dietrich Bonhoeffer. Ken Baddley conducted the memorial lesson, leading 163b for the following deceased: Jean Cousins, Rex Cousins, Percy Lewis—U.K; Marie Holloway—Washington; Jack Walne, Denson Hinton—Alabama; Bill Reynolds—Tennessee; John Etheridge—Florida; James Oss—Indiana; Stanley Shaw, Trevor Sanderson, Elsie Lee, Gladys Buchanan, Deirdre Powell, Yvonne Blake, Else Marie Christensen, Rose Adelaide Baker—Massachusetts; and Betty Page.

The sick and housebound were recalled by Martin Williams. Steve Fletcher led 86 for the following: Melita Chynoweth, Kay Choudary, Barbara Osborne, Maureen Gamlin, John Plunkett, Uncle Basil, Tom Hodgkinson, Mabs Pasquire, David George, Tony Smith, David Lee, June Powell, Erik Mogensen, and Helen Brown. The memorial was closed.

The class resumed singing with Adrian Bolge leading 82t. Leaders: Rachel Jordan 538; James Percival 168; Edwin Macadam 236; Sofi Mogensen 299; Nick Hall 455; Linda Reed 361; Ted Brown 176b; Richard Percival 43; Steve Welch 73b; Michael Walker 200; Tony Singleton 117; Sheila Girling Macadam 112; Edwin Macadam 189; Rachel Jordan 528; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 282; Sofi Mogensen 268.


The final session commenced with Tony Singleton leading 128. Leaders: Steve Fletcher 312b; Rachel Jordan 146. Announcements were made and invitations extended to other Sacred Harp singing events around the country. Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam thanked all the officers, committees, and anyone who helped in any way to make this singing possible, and led 347 as the closing song. Mary Bolge offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman/Secretary—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam