Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Los Angeles Regional Singing

Angels Gate Cultural Center, San Pedro, California

Saturday, May 16, 2009

The 17th annual Los Angeles Regional Sacred Harp Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by David Olson leading 448t. Steve Lazicki offered the opening prayer.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected: Chairman—Bruce Hayes; Vice Chairman—Mary Rose O’Leary; Treasurer—Duncan MacLeod; Secretary—Larry Arnstein.

Leaders: Bruce Hayes 532; Duncan MacLeod 56 (t? b?); Larry Arnstein 273; Steve Lazicki 74b; Donald Nollar 312b; Karen Huss 236; Jennifer Obeidin 112; John Marr 162; Mary Rose O’Leary 217; Pat Keating 315; Laura Boyd Russell 270; Natalie Hall 200; Ron Huss 174; Betty Herman 542; Xaris Martínez 432; Marjorie Neal 434; Rick Russell 99.


Mary Rose O’Leary called the singing back to order by leading 89. Leaders: Jerry Schreiber 368; Carroll Lunsford 294; Linda Booth 198; Betty Marvin 314; Marilyn Murata 506; Carla Smith 419; Tom Ostwald 504; John Rand 385t; Duncan MacLeod 216; Jennifer Obeidin 476; Larry Arnstein 492; David Olson 196; Bruce Hayes 189; Faustino Cruz 117; Rena Cifra 288.


Mary Rose O’Leary called the class back to order by leading 70b.

David Olson conducted the memorial lesson. Marilyn Murata led 448b for the following sick and shut-ins: Josephine Tison, Mrs. G. Lewis, Jane Lions, Alma (NLN), Armando (NLN), Darius (NLN), Shisue Sugimoto, Fumie Murata, Paula Ogren, Grandma Joan, and John Plunkett.

David Olson led 285t for the following deceased: Bill MaCollock, Edward Demarree, Maria Trudeau, Bud Ogren, Cecil Piantadosi, Don McNamee, Brian Dall’Armi, Billie Loye, Kathleen (NLN), LaRue Muhammad, Jean Olson, Ray Booth, Donna Booth, and Fern Lazicki—California; Richard Steil—Texas.

Leaders: Laura Boyd Russell 101t; Carol Maas 34b; Sophia Park 45t. Steve Lazicki offered grace for the noon meal.


Mary Rose O’Leary called the afternoon session to order leading 274t. Leaders: Linda Booth 569b; Jerry Schreiber 528; Xaris Martínez 436; Michelle Packman 72b; Carla Smith 101b; Betty Marvin 228; Marjorie Neal 222; Carroll Lunsford 556; Tom Ostwald 268; Mary Rose O’Leary 411; Marilyn Murata 277; Pat Keating 492; Ron Huss 473; Steve Lazicki 133; John Marr 373.


Stephen O’Leary called the class together leading 27. Leaders: Karen Huss 454; Tison Lacy 503; Bruce Hayes 254; Duncan MacLeod 475; David Olson 192; Rena Cifra 535; Natalie Hall 269; John Rand 278 (t? b?); Carol Maas 159; Polly Henninger 391; Stephen O’Leary 512; Sophia Park 335; Larry Arnstein 299; Michelle Packman 456; Richard Russell 48t.


The class was brought to order by Pat Keating leading 47t. Leaders: Ray Towne 446; Linda Booth 250; Jennifer Obeidin (no number given); Rodney Willard 49b.

Final reports were heard. The Finance Committee reported that expenses were met. The Secretary reported that 81 songs were led by 36 leaders. There were an additional 35 people in attendance who signed cards, but did not lead. The Resolutions Committee offered thanks to everyone who helped make the singing a success.

Bruce Hayes led 276 as the closing song. Steve Lazicki offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bruce Hayes; Vice Chairman—Mary Rose O’Leary; Secretary—Larry Arnstein