Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Burnham and Brown Memorial

Wesley Foundation Student Center, Jacksonville, Alabama

Sunday, February 1, 2009

The annual singing in memory of Uncle Bob Burnham, Leman Brown, and Ruth Brown was held at the Wesley Foundation Student Center on the campus of Jacksonville State University, Jacksonville, Alabama, on the first Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Pearl Guier leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Johnson. Pearl Guier welcomed everyone and led 40.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 63; Judy Caudle 336; Pam Nunn 186; Bud Oliver 343; Stanley Edwards and Marilyn Bradley 303; S.T. Reed 411; Judy Chambless 565; Tom George 134; Paula Oliver and Arleigh Beard 354b; Nate Green and Norma Green 310; Linda Thomas 131b; Robert Walker 99; Ed Thacker 398 (for Joyce Walton and in memory of Billy Beaty); Jan House 100; B.M. Smith 64; Joel Jenkins 37b; Robert Chambless 77t (in memory of Amanda Denson and Guy Hunt); Lonnie Rogers 141.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Pam Nunn.


The class was brought back together by Jeff Sheppard leading 101t. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 492; Louis Hughes 472; Cheyenne Ivey and Jessica Ivey 128; Betty Wright 97; Myron House 173; Charlene Wallace 371; Evelyn Harris 155; Scot Oliver, Pattie Oliver, Pauline Oliver, Paula Oliver, and Alana Blanks 145b, 405; Carlene Williams 45t; Henry Johnson 69b; Kenneith Calvert 73b; Judy Mincey 468; Daphene Causey 200; Cindy Tanner 299; Sarah Jenkins 418; Denney Rogers 318 (for his uncle); Marty Wootten, Lorrie Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 475; Andrew Farris 503; Natalie Jablonski 335; Elene Stovall 534; Nathan Rees 292; Susan Harcrow 426b; Reba Windom 455 (for Joyce Walton); Dennis George 220; Cassie Allen 419; Jonathan Smith 442; Buell Cobb 138t; Rene Greene 142; David Ivey 502; Jackson Harcrow 47t; Karen Rollins 354t; Joan Aldridge 540. Louis Hughes offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 57. Leaders: Mary Jo Shafer 452; John Plunkett 410b; Ann Simpson 445; Cecil Roberts 480; Jeff Sheppard, David Ivey, and Rodney Ivey 421 (by request); Lonnie Rogers, Denney Rogers, Carlene Williams, and Karen Rollins 225t; Rene Greene and Reba Windom 436; Joel Jenkins, Sarah Jenkins, and Jackson Harcrow 171; Scot Oliver, Pattie Oliver, Arleigh Beard, Alana Blanks, and Paula Oliver 551; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Betty Wright 317; Linda Thomas and Henry Johnson 460; Nathan Rees, Cassie Allen, and Jonathan Smith 89; Marty Wootten, Lorrie Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 164; Josh Bullock 532; Bud Oliver, S.T. Reed, and B.M. Smith 42; Tom George, Paula Oliver, and Mary Jo Shafer 229; Shelbie Sheppard and Pam Nunn 269; Robert Walker and Kenneith Calvert 350; Cindy Tanner, Natalie Jablonski, and Susan Harcrow 430; Ed Thacker, Charlene Wallace, Evelyn Harris, and Ruth Daniel 86; Elene Stovall, Joan Aldridge, and Judy Caudle 222; Myron House, Jan House, Robert Chambless, and Judy Chambless 143; Andrew Farris, Cecil Roberts, and Judy Mincey 399b; Pearl Guier and Louis Hughes 348b.

Pearl Guier and Jeff Sheppard led 46 as the closing song. John Plunkett offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Judy Caudle