Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Wakefield Memorial
(Ganus, Wilford, Clifford, Gene, and Cecil)

Mt. Vernon (King School House), Natural Bridge, Alabama

Sunday, November 16, 2008

The 38th session of the Wakefield Memorial Sacred Harp singing was called to order by Travis Keeton leading 73t. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer. Travis Keeton led 426t.

The class organized for the day by retaining or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Josie Hyde; Arranging Committee—Faye Donaldson.

Leaders: Travis Keeton 400; Beth O’Dell 208, 546; Richard Mauldin 77t (in memory of Amanda Denson), 312b; Kermit Adams 103, 426b; Carolyn Thompson 376, 74t; Marlin Beasley 75, 349 (for Clarence McCool, who was unable to attend); Anne Chalker 146, 235; Matthew Cook 401, 111b; Henry Guthery 112; Travis Ballinger 410t, 384.


Richard Mauldin called the class back to order leading 64. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 162, 163b; Bridgett Hill 163t, 411; Lisa Geist 217, 304; Joyce Hubbard 317 (in memory of Ganus and Hazel Wakefield), 394; Margaret Keeton and Wayne Horton 319, 388; Sarah Smith 354b, 318; Jayne Fulmer 273, 454; Wayne Wakefield, Wendell Wakefield, Larry Wakefield, Nadine Willis, Clara Stults, Helen Langston, Julie Poston, Faye Donaldson, Betty Baccus, Cathy Buchanan, Jack Wakefield, Debra Hall, Alpha Mobley and daughter Sharon 333, 339, 111t, 358 (in memory of their parents and grandparents).


The afternoon session began with Travis Keeton leading 275b. Leaders: Jack Wakefield and Vonda Barton 46, 565, 45t, 159 (by request of Alpha Mobley and Sharon); Faye Smith 73b, 66; Bunk Beasley 75, 81t; Steve Adams 101t, 309; Velton Chaffin 177, 176b; Debra Hall 566; Josie Hyde 43, 329; Betty Baccus 391; Wendell Wakefield 168, 421; Larry Wakefield 37b, 312t; Carolyn Thompson 82b, 397; Bridgett Hill 396; Henry Guthery 82t; Richard Mauldin and Anne Chalker 378t (in memory of Dick Mauldin); Marlin Beasley 129 (in memory of Wilton and Ivalene Donaldson); Kermit Adams 217; Margaret Keeton and Josie Hyde 398; Matthew Cook 222; Gary Smith 276; Sarah Smith, Bunk Beasley, and Marlin Beasley 274t.

Travis Keeton and Richard Mauldin led 348b as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretary—Josie Hyde