Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 19, 2008

The 94th session of the Walker County Convention was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. Glenn Keeton called the class to order leading 59 and 73b. The morning prayer was offered by Marlin Beasley.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 177, 30t; Clarence McCool 85; Travis Keeton 317, 441; Anne Chalker 146, 235; Brenda Merritt 426b, 336; Robert Chambless 452, 72b; Judy Chambless 34t, 274t; Elsie Moon 434, 392.


Glenn Keeton brought the class back together leading 89. Leaders: Kathy Robinson 142, 31t, 436 (for Kathleen Robinson); Rachel Allred 377; Bill Stewart 569b, 36b; Josie Hyde 189, 477; Geraldine Sharpton 542, 84; Caleb Allred 32t, 503; Elizabeth Keeton 504; Ken Tate 462, 532; Glenn Keeton 77t (in memory of Amanda Denson); Gary Smith 66, 565.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Richard Mauldin. Rachel Allred led 499 in memory of the deceased. Marlin Beasley led a song in honor of the sick and shut-ins and closed the memorial lesson with prayer.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Velton Chafin leading 202 and 343 (in memory of Furn Kitchens). Leaders: Sarah Smith 75, 43; Juanita Beasley 361, 63; Danny Creel 271t, 432; Amber Davis 564, 440; John Merritt and Robert Chambless 131b, 274b; Susan Allred 76b, 112; Richard Mauldin 358 (in memory of Dick Mauldin), 285t; Ottis Sides 530, 480; John Etheridge 74t; Danny Creel and Harrison Creel 475 (in memory of Flarce Creel), 498; Wayne Jones 30b, 566; Billy Williams 143 (for Charlotte McCarn); Glenn Keeton 45t.

Announcements were made. Glenn Keeton and Velton Chafin led 340 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt