Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Young People’s Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Fuller Cemetery, Ider, Alabama

Saturday, July 28, 2007

The Young People’s Sacred Harp singing met on Saturday before the first fifth Sunday after the Fourth of July at Fuller Cemetery, Ider, Alabama. The class was called to order by Jennifer Allred leading 32t. Blake Sisemore offered the morning prayer. Jennifer Allred extended a warm welcome to everyone.

Leaders: Jennifer Allred 99; Lela Crowder 371; Rachel Allred 391; Drew Smith 270; Joyce Walton 434; Loyd Ivey 283; Karen Clark 446; Ed Thacker 209; Phillip Langley 522; Sarah Jenkins 274t (for Jackson Harcrow); Amy Smith 82t; John Plunkett 517 (for Elijah Brown Hinton); Susan Allred and Zach Allred 183; Joan Aldridge 546; Louis Hughes 472; Pat Temple 473; Henry Johnson 111t; Bobby Watkins 111b; Michael Thompson 179; Judy Caudle 370; Robert Kelley 131b.


Blake Sisemore and Jennifer Allred brought the class back together leading 142.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Drew Smith; Vice Chairman—Phillip Langley; Secretary—Lela Crowder; Chaplain—Blake Sisemore.

Leaders: Velma Adkins 72b; Beth Branscome 474; Robert Walker 480; Nate Green and Norma Green 89; Cassie Allen 432; Nathan Rees 298; Mary Wright 173; Leyland delRe 32b; David Ivey 481; Seth Allred 433; Betty Wright 84; Lauren Hall and Rachel Ivey 424; Roberta Strauss 350; Gordon Rees 181; Cheri Hardy 178; Elene Stovall 216 (for Amanda Denson); Reba Windom 168; Aaron Wootten 30b; Caleb Allred 47b; Loretta Smith 46; Trevor East 86; Will Allred 192 (for Marie Guthrie); Ariella Perry, Melissa Troyer, and Jessica Lange 335, 186; Riley Lee 160b; Daphene Causey 140; Phil Summerlin 148.


Drew Smith called the afternoon session together leading 101t. Leaders: Bentley McGuire 67; Mary Elizabeth Lee 217; Barrett Patton 378t; Cheyenne Ivey, Jessica Ivey, and April Watkins 76b; Blake Sisemore and Drew Smith 361; Jessica Findley 448t; Scott Ivey 276; LaRue Allen 299; Susan Harcrow 426b (for Lynne DeBenedette and for everyone in Western Massachusetts); Rodney Ivey 362; Betty Shepherd 196; Harrison Creel 512; Sharon DuPriest 318; Bud Oliver 345t; Wanda Capps 203; Marlon Wootten 31t; Julie Lee 87; Don Clark, David Ivey, Rodney Ivey, and Susan Harcrow 436; Eloise Wootten 222; Clarke Lee 81t; Nathan Rees 380; Robert Kelley 542.


The final session was brought back together by Mary Elizabeth Lee leading 182. Leaders: Cassie Allen and Jennifer Allred 348b (in memory of Minja Lausevic); Bentley McGuire, Riley Lee, Trevor East 349; Leyland delRe 444; Barrett Patton 445; Mark Eirich 117; Ariella Perry, Melissa Troyer, and Jessica Lange 163t; Gordon Rees 180; Mary Ruth Stiefel 294.

The Locating Committee announced that next year’s singing will be held at Holly Springs Primitive Baptist Church in Bremen, Georgia.

Following announcements, Drew Smith led 146 as the closing song. Aaron Wootten dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Drew Smith; Vice Chairman—Phillip Langley; Secretary—Lela Crowder