Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Michiana Singing

New Testament Baptist Church, Goshen, Indiana

Saturday, July 14, 2007

The 20th Michiana Singing was called to order by Matthew Lind leading 34b. Michael Miller offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Matthew Lind; Secretary—Samuel Sommers.

Leaders: Samuel Sommers 217; James Nelson Gingerich 47t; Michael Miller 551; Lori Graber 77t; John Fink 183; David Bahler 99; Mary List 125; Christine Guth 87; Bobbie Watkins, Mercy Watkins, April Watkins, and Taylor Watkins 277; David Rust 52b; Wayne Dell 47b; Henry Schuman 426b; Lincoln Richardson 515; Ann Miczulski 30t; Daryl Chesney 454; Rochelle Lodder 148; Bill Beverly 528; James Eldridge 318.


The singing resumed with Rachel Miller Jacobs and Ben Jacobs leading 68b. Leaders: Molly Williams 112; Anne Steel 179; Ryan Wheeler 178; Michael Moseley 479; Jan Ketelle 212; Keith Nipper 448t; Syble Adams 39t; John Bahler 29t; Gillian Inksetter 49t; Darrell Swarens 335; Charlotte Wolfe 330b; Anita Buswell 496; Adrian Eldridge 455; Tish Shapiro 192; Pleasance Crawford 64; Judy Hauff 313t; Joe Todd 102.


James Nelson Gingerich called the class back together leading 569b. Leaders: Will Fitzgerald 96; Suzanne Flandreau 200; Ted Mercer 468; Steve Rogers 36t; Linda Selph 73t; Jo Schultz 472.

The memorial lesson for the sick and shut-ins was conducted by Syble Adams, who read the following list of names: Kelly Day, Milton Oliver, Andrea Nagy, Nancy Yeager, Clare Cardy, Roger Crabtree, Bethalee Harpst, Karen McCoy, Pauline Childers, Dick Baker, Bob Anderson, Joyce Anderson, and Bob Scorgie. Rachel Miller Jacobs, Syble Adams, and Brad Bahler lead 45t in their honor.

Syble Adams read the names of the deceased: John Hyde and Flarce Creel—Alabama; Greta Lehmann and Ardis Haberichter—Michigan; Dennis Dilno—New York; Sheila Brown—Delaware; Chris Merrill’s mother—Pennsylvania; Mary Ballinger—Texas. Rachel Miller Jacobs led 448t in memory of the deceased. Brad Bahler closed the memorial lesson with prayer.


Matthew Lind re-convened the class leading 84. Leaders: Beth Todd 89; James Page 268; Reba Windom 182; Melanie Hauff 444; Carol Munro Moseley 142; Kent Beck and Sarah Trumbore 117; Peggy Brayfield and Lori Graber 50b; Anne Missavage 480; Cathryn Bearov 208; Cheryl Foreman 546; Joan Aldridge 198; Megan Jennings 203; Karen Bahler and several members of the Explorers’ Group 40; Warren Steel 260; Ginny Landgraf 442; Janet Fraembs 532; Lauren Derstine and Megan Jennings 159; Brian Waidelich 63; Wendy Luitjens 457; Roger Williams 447; Martha Beverly 384.


Samuel Sommers called the class back leading 121. Leaders: Bob Borcherdink 269; Lisa Grayson 222; Julie Vea 436; Brad Bahler and John Bahler 312b; Matt Lehman 220; Pleasance Crawford 151; Anne Steel and Warren Steel 285t; Reba Windom and Joan Aldridge 542; Cheryl Foreman 328; Daryl Chesney and Judy Hauff 504; Anita Burwell 143; Syble Adams and Judy Hauff 547; Beth Hall and Samuel Sommers 358; Idy Kiser 122; Claudine Townsend and Syble Adams 72b.

After announcements, Matthew Lind led 62, and the class took the parting hand.

Chairman—Matthew Lind; Secretary—Samuel Sommers